Microsoft Quarantine places undesirable messages, such as potential spam, viruses and deceptive messages (phishing), into a secure, personal quarantine where you can review the message, then release it to your inbox or block the sender.
Known malicious addresses are blocked automatically. Messages held in quarantine include messages that have an extremely high probability of being spam or phishing.
Have you ever noticed a message at the start of an email saying, “You don't often get email from [firstname.lastname@example.org]. Learn why this is important”?
This helpful alert is provided by Microsoft to make you aware of emails from new senders. It's a safety feature to keep you on your toes about potential spam or phishing attempts. If you know and trust the sender, feel free to ignore this message.
Please note that this safety feature cannot be turned off. However, if you want to stop seeing this alert for emails from certain senders, simply add them to your 'Safe Senders' list or your contacts in Outlook.
If Microsoft does not block or find any spam messages for your Inbox, you will not receive a quarantine email notification.
Messages in quarantine are automatically removed after the expiration date.
If you attempt to open the link, you will receive a notification that the website was classified as malicious. Exit the page in order to stay safe.
Microsoft Quarantine ensures that high confidence spam is put in quarantine: UB’s email system looks at what comes into the university and how it’s treated (i.e. is the message usually opened or deleted?)