Share Panopto Recordings

Recordings and folders can be shared in many ways. It is important to know who can view your content, who can edit it, and how to change those permissions.

Operating System: All

Applies To: UB faculty, staff and students

Last Updated: May 11, 2022

On this page:

Instructions

Viewer permission levels

There are five viewer permission levels with increasing levels of visibility:

  • Restricted: Only specific people and groups. Limit visibility to people and groups that you name. Links you share or post will only work for people named.
  • Your Organization (unlisted): Anyone at your organization who has the link. Limit access to people who can log into the UB Panopto site. People will need a to be given the link or find it on a website or course site.
  • Your Organization: Anyone at your organization can find and access. Limit access to people who can log into the UB Panopto site. People can search for the video on UB Panopto and it will appear in the Everything folder. 
  • Public (unlisted): Anyone wo has the link. Anyone with whom you've shared the link can access the video. No sign in required. People will need a to be given the link or find it on a website or course site.
  • Public: Anyone can find and access. Anyone on the Internet can find and access the video. No sign-in required.

Check and change who can see videos

You can edit Share settings at the folder or individual recording level.

Click the Share icon for a recording or folder to open its Settings > Share page.

The share icon appears in different places on different screens, but is always shaped like a less than symbol and will be labeled “Share” if you hover over it.  

To change the viewer permission level:

  1. Select Change from under Who can access this video
  2. A pop-up list will appear with your choices. 

Inheritance

By default, Panopto recordings “inherit” — or have the same Share settings — as the folder in which they are stored. If a recording or folder inherits permissions from a folder above it, you may need to disable the inheritance to adjust the viewer permissions or add collaborators.

  1. Click Change and
  2. Uncheck Inherit member and permissions from
  3. Choose a permission level
  4. Check Keep N member as an added user {checked by default}
  5. Click Save

Add specific people or groups

Under People and groups, start typing the name (or UBIT name) of the person, course, or group with whom you want to share the video. A list of suggested users containing that name or word will appear, select the correct person or group from this list.

  • If a person has never logged into Panopto their name will be highlighted in yellow or red. Ask this person to go to the Panopto portal and log in, this creates their account and enables you to share recordings with them.
  • Course groups come in two flavors, Viewers and Creators. People are added to a group based on their role in a UB Learns course. Students enrolled in the course go into Viewers; instructors and teaching assistants in the course go into Creators.  Those group names look like:
    2211_12209: MGE602LECWED:Global Economics:221112209::Creator
    2211_12209: MGE602LECWED:Global Economics:221112209::Viewer
  • If you can't find the user group for a UB Learns course, make sure you've connected that course to Panopto.

Share previous recordings with current students

You can share recordings saved in a course folder from a previous semester with students this semester. Under People and groups add the viewer group for the current semester.

[Pro tip!] Give yourself creator rights to Panopto course folders

After you connect a UB Learns course to Panopto we recommend adding yourself as a creator in the course folder in Panopto. This keeps you from losing access to the folder when the UB Learns course is archived.

Remove access for people or groups

You can remove someone’s access to view or edit a recording or folder.

  1. Under People and groups click the x to the far right of the group or person’s name.
  2. Click Save.

Give creator rights to someone else

Creator access allows someone to create, delete, or edit the recordings in a folder.

Creator permissions cannot be assigned at the individual recording level, they can only be assigned at the folder level. Therefore, grant a user Creator access to the folder in which the shared video is saved.  

Request a shared folder for departmental recordings

If your department hosts events, trainings or other recordings to which several people should have creator access, UBIT is happy to create a folder for you. Once a folder is in Panopto, anyone with creator permissions can add other people as needed.  

Create your own user groups

Still need help?

Contact the UBIT Help Center.