Experts by Expertise: Science and Technology

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

8/31/17

Diana Aga

Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: industrial pollution; Great Lakes pollution; emerging contaminants including pharmaceuticals, nanomaterials and flame retardants; wastewater treatment; antibiotic resistance

Phone: 716-645-4220

Email: dianaaga@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Victor Albert

Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: evolutionary biology, genomics, plant genomics, flowers, junk DNA

Phone: 716-645-4983

Email: vaalbert@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Praveen Arany

Assistant Professor of Oral Biology

Expertise: therapeutic uses of lasers and light, particularly in wound healing and tooth regeneration

Phone: 716-829-3479

Email: prarany@buffalo.edu

7/16/18

Ekin Atilla-Gokcumen

J. Solo Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: chemical biology, lipids; cellular aging and senescence; cell death (apoptosis and necroptosis); omics approaches to research

Phone: 716-645-4130

Email: ekinatil@buffalo.edu

7/2/18

Javid Bayandor

Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: Mid-air collisions; crashes involving drones (unmanned aircraft systems); space exploration and missions; crashworthiness; ballistics; advanced aerospace design

Phone: 716-645-1422

Email: bayandor@buffalo.edu

11/22/17

Jason Benedict

Associate Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: chemistry, chemical reactions, chemical crystallography, photochemistry, nanomaterials, synchrotron light sources

Phone: 716-645-4276

Email: jbb6@buffalo.edu

5/23/18

Matthew Bolton

Assistant Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Expertise: medical alarm masking

Phone: 716-645-8405

Email: mbolton@buffalo.edu

3/27/18

Jason Briner

Professor of Geology

Expertise: climate change, Arctic glaciers and ice sheets, response of glaciers and ice sheets to climate change

Phone: 716-645-4326

Email: jbriner@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

John Cerne

Professor of Physics

Expertise: physics in everyday life, condensed matter physics, high-temperature superconductors, graphene, optics

Phone: 716-645-2542

Email: jcerne@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Timothy Cook

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: molecular self-assembly, photochemistry, fluorescence, phosphorescence, batteries, alternative energy

Phone: 716-645-4327

Email: trcook@buffalo.edu

6/19/18

John L. Crassidis

Samuel P. Capen Professor

Expertise: space debris, space junk

Phone: 716-645-1426

Email: johnc@buffalo.edu

6/11/18

Beata Csatho

Professor of Geology

Expertise: climate change, sea level rise, Greenland Ice Sheet, Antarctic ice loss, glaciers, remote sensing, using satellite data and laser altimetry to measure the Earth

Phone: 716-645-4325

Email: bcsatho@buffalo.edu

5/1/17

Ning Dai

Assistant Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental

Expertise: wastewater recycling for potable use, disinfection byproducts

Phone: 716-645-4015

Email: ningdai@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Helen Domske

Associate Director of the Great Lakes Program

Expertise: Great Lakes, water pollution, invasive species, Asian carp, zebra mussels, quagga mussels

Phone: 716-645-3610

Email: hmd4@cornell.edu

4/20/18

Liesl Folks

Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Expertise: STEM education, especially concerning women and underrepresented minorities; nanotechnology; magnetism

Phone: 716-645-2771

Email: lfolks@buffalo.edu

8/8/18

Joseph A. Gardella Jr.

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: industrial pollution; hazardous waste; microbeads; surface chemistry of plastics; controlled release of pharmaceuticals; wound healing; tissue engineering; STEM education

Phone: 716-645-1499

Email: gardella@buffalo.edu

4/17/18

Omer Gokcumen

Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: human and primate evolution, ancient humans (including Neanderthals and Denisovans), anthropological genomics

Phone: 716-645-4937

Email: omergokc@buffalo.edu

10/24/17

Tracy K. P. Gregg

Associate Professor of Geology

Expertise: volcanology, volcanoes on Mars and Venus, the search for water on Mars, volcanism on the moon, deep-sea eruptions, basaltic lava flows

Phone: 716-645-4328

Email: tgregg@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Richard M. Gronostajski

Professor of Biochemistry

Expertise: stem cell research and therapies; genetic engineering, testing and disease; genome editing; personalized or precision medicine; congenital developmental disorders

Phone: 716-829-3471

Email: rgron@buffalo.edu

12/29/16

Shermali Gunawardena

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: neurons, axonal transport, biology of neurodegenerative diseases

Phone: 716-645-4915

Email: sg99@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Marc Halfon

Professor of Biochemistry

Expertise: genetics; gene expression; gene drive; genome editing; mosquito genome; cell growth, differentiation and development

Phone: 716-829-3126

Email: mshalfon@buffalo.edu

12/21/16

John F. Hall

Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: Wind energy; design, analysis and optimization of wind farms

Phone: 716-645-5946

Email: johnhall@buffalo.edu

11/5/18

Yingjie Hu

Assistant Professor of Geography

Expertise: GIScience, spatial analysis, natural language processing, artificial intelligence, machine learning, data mining, big data

Phone: 716-645-1820

Email: yhu42@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Ia Iashvili

Associate Professor of Physics

Expertise: Higgs boson search, particle detectors, search for supersymmetric particles

Phone: 716-645-6611

Email: iashvili@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Josep Jornet

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering

Expertise: terahertz-band communication networks, Internet of Nano-Things, brain-computer interfaces

Phone: 716-645-1607

Email: jmjornet@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Avto Kharchilava

Associate Professor of Physics

Expertise: Higgs boson search, particle detectors, phenomena beyond the Standard Model

Phone: 716-645-6251

Email: avto@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Will Kinney

Professor of Physics

Expertise: astronomy, cosmic inflation, accelerating universe, dark matter/dark energy, solar storms, cosmic microwave background physics, public outreach in science

Phone: 716-645-5360

Email: whkinney@buffalo.edu

5/8/18

Tevfik Kosar

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: big data, cloud computing, distributed systems, high-performance computing, green computing, energy-efficient systems

Phone: 716-645-2323

Email: tkosar@buffalo.edu

11/14/18

Trevor Krabbenhoft

Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: fish ecology (especially in rivers and lakes), genomics, evolutionary biology, invasive species, climate change, Great Lakes

Phone: 716-645-4934

Email: tkrabben@buffalo.edu

2/6/18

Richard L. Lamb

Associate Professor and Director of the Neurocognition Science Laboratory

Expertise: educational technology, virtual reality/augmented reality, cognition and learning

Phone: 716-645-4057

Email: rllamb@buffalo.edu

2/22/18

Charlotte Lindqvist

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: evolutionary biology, evolution of polar bears, hybridization of polar bears and brown bears, genomics

Phone: 716-645-4986

Email: cl243@buffalo.edu

10/30/17

Ciprian N. Ionita

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Expertise: 3-D medical imaging, 3-D printing in medicine, neuroimaging, cardiovascular imaging, endovascular disease

Phone: 716-829-5413

Email: cnionita@buffalo.edu

10/23/18

John D. Atkinson

Assistant Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: sustainability, greenhouse gas emissions, air and water pollution control, materials science and engineering, adsorption, life-cycle assessment

Phone: 716-645-4001

Email: atkjdw@buffalo.edu

3/1/18

Xiufeng Liu

Professor of Learning and Instruction

Expertise: STEM education, including student achievement, assessment and evaluation, and STEM teaching in colleges and universities; science and the public

Phone: 716-645-4050

Email: xliu5@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kathryn Medler

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Expertise: taste, taste cells, senses, peripheral nervous system, neuronal signaling

Phone: 716-645-4947

Email: kmedler@buffalo.edu

1/4/17

Sarah Muldoon

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Expertise: brain activity, brain networks, network neuroscience

Phone: 716-645-6284

Email: smuldoon@buffalo.edu

2/6/18

Kristin Poinar

Assistant Professor of Geology

Expertise: climate change, Greenland Ice Sheet, ice sheet modeling, sea level rise, Antarctica, Great Lakes ice cover

Phone: 716-645-4286

Email: kpoinar@buffalo.edu

4/18/18

Chunming Qiao

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: Self-driving and connected cars, specifically the computing systems for these technologies

Phone: 716-645-4751

Email: qiao@computer.org

12/26/17

Nicholas Rajkovich

Assistant Professor of Architecture

Expertise: climate change and cities, adaptation to climate change, building resiliency, energy efficiency, renewable energy

Phone: 716-829-6910

Email: rajkovic@buffalo.edu

 

9/19/18

Bina Ramamurthy

Teaching Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: Blockchain technology; data-intensive computing; big data platforms, such as Hadoop and Spark

Phone: 716-645-3182

Email: bina@buffalo.edu

1/4/17

Salvatore Rappoccio

Assistant Professor of Physics

Expertise: particle physics, particle detectors

Phone: 716-645-6250

Email: srrappoc@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kenneth W. Regan

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: cheating in chess

Phone: 716-645-4738

Email: regan@buffalo.edu

9/5/17

Chris S. Renschler

Associate Professor of Geography

Expertise: flooding, soil erosion, watersheds, hurricanes, radioactive fallout, disaster preparedness and response, natural resources management, GIS

Phone: 716-645-0480

Email: rensch@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Adel Sadek

Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: traffic, applying information technology to crash risk, border-crossings, environmental effects, infrastructure and land-use design, traffic in bad weather

Phone: 716-645-4367

Email: asadek@buffalo.edu

9/19/17

Surajit Sen

Professor of Physics

Expertise: wave behavior, granular systems, quasi-equilibrium, nonequilibrium and chaotic phenomena, collisions, shock mitigation, sociophysics

Phone: 716-645-6151, 716-907-4961

Email: sen@buffalo.edu

11/26/18

Kevin Smiley

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Expertise: urban issues, social inequality, environmental justice, climate change, disaster resilience, bicycling, immigration

Phone: 716-845-8465

Email: ktsmiley@buffalo.edu

7/30/18

Monica Stephens

Assistant Professor of Geography

Expertise: social media, social media and politics, digital divides, misinformation (fake news), mapping social phenomena, volunteered geographic information (VGI), Big Data, gender and the Internet

Phone: 716-645-0499

Email: mgstephe@buffalo.edu

8/21/18

Mark Swihart

UB Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

Expertise: nanotechnology, materials science, chemistry of materials, aerosol science

Phone: 716-645-1181

Email: swihart@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Panayotis (Peter) K. Thanos

Senior Research Scientist at the Research Institute on Addictions

Expertise: addiction; reward pathways in the brain; addictive disorders including drug abuse, alcoholism and obesity 

Phone: 716-881-7520

Email: pthanos@ria.buffalo.edu

3/1/18

Elizabeth K. Thomas

Assistant Professor of Geology

Expertise: climate change, Arctic ice sheets, precipitation, lake effect snow, sea level rise, monsoons

Phone: 716-645-4329

Email: ekthomas@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Albert H. Titus

Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering

Expertise: biomedical engineering, wearable technology, biosensors, smart sensors

Phone: 716-645-1019

Email: ahtitus@buffalo.edu

12/12/16

Jack Tseng

Assistant Professor of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences

Expertise: mammalian evolution; evolution of carnivores (including dogs, cats, bears, hyenas and relatives); sabre-toothed and other big cats

Phone: 716-829-2752

Email: jacktsen@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Shambhu Upadhyaya

Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: cybersecurity, hacking, encryption, cyberattacks, protecting infrastructure from cyber threats

Phone: 716-645-3183

Email: shambhu@buffalo.edu

7/16/18

Greg A. Valentine

Director of the Center for Geohazards Studies

Expertise: volcanoes, volcanic eruptions, disaster preparedness, supervolcanoes

Phone: 716-645-4295

Email: gav4@buffalo.edu

9/24/18

Hao Zeng

Professor of Physics

Expertise: magnetism, spintronics, nanomaterials, materials science, materials for solar energy harvesting

Phone: 716-645-5749

Email: haozeng@buffalo.edu

3/19/18

Eva Zurek

Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: superconductors, high-pressure chemistry, crystals, materials science, materials discovery, computational chemistry

Phone: 716-645-4332

Email: ezurek@buffalo.edu