University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Official UB news and information for the media

Experts by Expertise: Sports

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

1/10/17

Susan K. Cahn

Professor of History

Expertise: transgender athletes, gender and sexuality in sports, homophobia in sports, women’s history, feminist theory, history of chronic illness, history of mental illness

Phone: 716-645-8418

Email: cahn@buffalo.edu

10/31/17

Catherine Cook-Cottone

Professor of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology

Expertise: yoga, mindfulness, embodied self-regulation, eating disorders, anxiety-based disorders

Phone: 716-645-1128

Email: cpcook@buffalo.edu  

12/8/16

Helen A. “Nellie” Drew

Adjunct Faculty in Law

Expertise: sports law, discipline of professional athletes, drug testing in sports, collective bargaining, NCAA compliance, Title IX

Phone: 716-645-2071

Email: hdrew@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Mark H. Karwan

Praxair Professor of Operations Research

Expertise: sports scheduling, especially in the NFL

Phone: 716-645-2422

Email: mkarwan@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

John J. Leddy

Director of the Concussion Management Clinic

Expertise: concussions, post-concussion syndrome, sports medicine

Phone: 716-829-5501

Email: leddy@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Jeffrey Miecznikowski

Associate Professor of Biostatistics

Expertise: statistical analysis

Phone: 716-881-8953

Email: jcm38@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Wendy Quinton

Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychology

Expertise: prejudice, stigma, social identity, Native American mascots

Phone: 716-645-0230

Email: wquinton@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kenneth W. Regan

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: cheating in chess

Phone: 716-645-4738

Email: regan@buffalo.edu