Experts by Expertise: Sports

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

3/16/20

Kate Bezrukova

Associate Professor of Organization and Human Resources

Expertise: team chemistry in business and sports; managing a diverse workforce; unconscious bias at work; negotiations and gender; work-life balance; conflict management; artificial intelligence in teams

Contact: Kate Bezrukova can be reached most quickly through Jackie Ghosen in the School of Management Communications Office at 716-645-2833 or mgt-pr@buffalo.edu.

5/28/19

Susan K. Cahn

Professor of History

Expertise: gender and sexuality in sports, homophobia in sports, women’s history, feminist theory, history of chronic illness, history of mental illness

Phone: 716-645-8418

Email: cahn@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

Catherine Cook-Cottone

Professor of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology

Expertise: yoga, mindfulness, embodied self-regulation, eating disorders, anxiety-based disorders

Phone: 716-645-1128

Email: cpcook@buffalo.edu  

5/19/20

Helen A. “Nellie” Drew

Director of the Center for the Advancement of Sport

Expertise: sports law, discipline of professional athletes, drug testing in sports, collective bargaining, NCAA compliance, Title IX

Phone: 716-645-2071

Email: hdrew@buffalo.edu

5/20/19

Erin Hatton

Associate Professor of Sociology

Expertise: labor movements, gig economy, job security, coerced labor, pay for college athletes, minimum wage, workfare

Phone: 716-645-8476

Email: eehatton@buffalo.edu

4/10/19

Mark H. Karwan

Praxair Professor of Operations Research

Expertise: sports scheduling, especially in the NFL

Phone: 716-645-2422

Email: mkarwan@buffalo.edu

12/20/18

John J. Leddy

Director of the Concussion Management Clinic

Expertise: concussions, post-concussion syndrome, sports medicine

Phone: 716-829-5501

Email: leddy@buffalo.edu

3/16/20

Timothy Maynes

Associate Professor of Organization and Human Resources

Expertise: employee-driven innovation and change; employee productivity, engagement and performance; effective team functioning (especially in sports)

Contact: Timothy Maynes can be reached most quickly through Jackie Ghosen in the School of Management Communications Office at 716-645-2833 or mgt-pr@buffalo.edu.

12/6/16

Jeffrey Miecznikowski

Associate Professor of Biostatistics

Expertise: statistical analysis

Phone: 716-881-8953

Email: jcm38@buffalo.edu

8/28/18

Wendy Quinton

Clinical Associate Professor of Psychology

Expertise: prejudice, discrimination, stigma, social identity, student adjustment and success, international students

Phone: 716-645-0230

Email: wquinton@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Kenneth W. Regan

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Expertise: cheating in chess

Phone: 716-645-4738

Email: regan@buffalo.edu