Experts by Expertise: Buffalo/Western New York

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

6/22/20

John D. Atkinson

Associate Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: sustainability, greenhouse gas emissions, air and water pollution control, materials science and engineering, adsorption, life-cycle assessment

Phone: 716-645-4001

Email: atkjdw@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

Joseph Atkinson

Director of the Great Lakes Program

Expertise: Great Lakes water levels, flooding and water pollution

Phone: 716-645-2220

Email: atkinson@buffalo.edu

6/22/20

Elizabeth Bowen

Associate Professor of Social Work

Expertise: homelessness, homeless youth and young adults, health issues affecting homeless populations

Phone: 716-645-1258

Email: eabowen@buffalo.edu

10/31/19

Ian Bradley

Assistant Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering 

Expertise: wastewater treatment, algae, algal blooms in the Great Lakes and elsewhere

Phone: 716-645-4004

Email: ianbradl@buffalo.edu

6/16/20

Tildabeth Doscher

Clinical Assistant Professor of Family Medicine

Expertise: addiction medicine, substance use treatment, opioid epidemic, methadone

Phone: 716-829-6775. Doscher can also be reached through Ellen Goldbaum in University Communications at 716-645-4605 or goldbaum@buffalo.edu, or Douglas Sitler in University Communications at 716-645-9069 or drsitler@buffalo.edu.

Email: tildabet@buffalo.edu

5/16/19

Stuart M. Evans

Assistant Professor of Geography

Expertise: climate change, dust and dust storms, weather, atmospheric science, precipitation, monsoons, lake effect snow

Phone: 716-645-0491

Email: stuartev@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

Daniel B. Hess

Chair of Urban and Regional Planning 

Expertise: transit systems, urban transportation, urban revitalization

Phone: 716-829-5326

Email: dbhess@buffalo.edu

4/3/20

Heather Orom

Associate Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: Health disparities, illness risk perception

Phone: 716-829- 6682

Email: horom@buffalo.edu

6/24/20

Kelly Patterson

Associate Professor of Social Work

Expertise: social welfare policy; residential segregation; fair housing; gentrification; homelessness; poverty and economic inequality; race and class

Phone: 716-645-1248

Email: klp27@buffalo.edu

2/6/18

Kristin Poinar

Assistant Professor of Geology

Expertise: climate change, Greenland Ice Sheet, ice sheet modeling, sea level rise, Antarctica, Great Lakes ice cover

Phone: 716-645-4286

Email: kpoinar@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Samina Raja

Professor of Urban and Regional Planning 

Expertise: food access, food systems planning, food and urban planning, local government food policy

Phone: 716-829-5881

Email: sraja@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Robert G. Shibley

Dean of the School of Architecture and Planning

Expertise: urban design and planning, urban revitalization, postindustrial cities, Buffalo and Western New York, the Rust Belt

Phone: 716-829-3981

Email: rshibley@buffalo.edu

Contact: Shibley can also be reached through David Hill in UB Media Relations (716-645-4651, davidhil@buffalo.edu) or Rachel Teaman in the School of Architecture and Planning (716-829-3794, rmansour@buffalo.edu).

12/26/18

Robert Silverman

Professor of Urban and Regional Planning

Expertise: shrinking cities, fair housing, affordable housing, gentrification, community development, nonprofit organizations, community-based organizations in urban neighborhoods

Phone: 716-829-5882

Email: rms35@buffalo.edu

6/3/20

Henry Louis Taylor Jr.

Director of the Center for Urban Studies

Expertise: urban development, housing, gentrification, underdeveloped neighborhoods, shrinking cities, race and class, U.S.-Cuba relations

Phone: 716-829-5458

Email: htaylor@buffalo.edu

3/1/18

Elizabeth K. Thomas

Assistant Professor of Geology

Expertise: climate change, Arctic ice sheets, precipitation, lake effect snow, sea level rise, monsoons

Phone: 716-645-4329

Email: ekthomas@buffalo.edu

8/11/20

Lillian S. Williams

Associate Professor of Transnational Studies

Expertise: U.S. social and urban history; African American history in the U.S. and Western New York; women’s history

Phone: 716-645-0798

Email: lsw4@buffalo.edu