University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Official UB news and information for the media

Experts by Expertise: Buffalo/Western New York

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact Rachel Stern in UB Media Relations at rstern2@buffalo.edu or 716-645-9069 for assistance.

2/14/17

Joseph Atkinson

Director of the Great Lakes Program

Expertise: Great Lakes water levels, flooding and water pollution

Phone: 716-645-2220

Email: atkinson@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Elizabeth Bowen

Assistant Professor of Social Work

Expertise: homelessness, homeless youth and young adults, health issues affecting homeless populations

Phone: 716-645-1258

Email: eabowen@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Helen Domske

Associate Director of the Great Lakes Program

Expertise: Great Lakes, water pollution, invasive species, Asian carp, zebra mussels, quagga mussels

Phone: 716-645-3610

Email: hmd4@cornell.edu

12/6/16

Daniel B. Hess

Associate Professor of Urban and Regional Planning 

Expertise: transit systems, urban transportation, urban revitalization

Phone: 716-829-5326

Email: dbhess@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Samina Raja

Associate Professor of Urban and Regional Planning 

Expertise: food access, food systems planning, food and urban planning, local government food policy

Phone: 716-829-5881

Email: sraja@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Robert G. Shibley

Dean of the School of Architecture and Planning

Expertise: urban design and planning, urban revitalization, postindustrial cities, Buffalo and Western New York, the Rust Belt

Phone: 716-829-3981

Email: rshibley@buffalo.edu

Contact: Shibley can also be reached through David Hill in UB Media Relations (716-645-4651, davidhil@buffalo.edu) or Rachel Teaman in the School of Architecture and Planning (716-829-3794, rmansour@buffalo.edu).

12/6/16

Robert Silverman

Professor and PhD Program Director of Urban and Regional Planning

Expertise: shrinking cities, fair housing, affordable housing, gentrification, community development, nonprofit organizations, community-based organizations in urban neighborhoods

Phone: 716-829-5882

Email: rms35@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Henry Louis Taylor Jr.

Director of the Center for Urban Studies

Expertise: urban development, housing, gentrification, distressed neighborhoods, shrinking cities, race and class, U.S.-Cuba relations

Phone: 716-829-5458

Email: htaylor@buffalo.edu