University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Official UB news and information for the media

Experts by Expertise: Race and Racial Discrimination

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact Rachel Stern in UB Media Relations at rstern2@buffalo.edu or 716-645-9069 for assistance.

12/8/16

Nathan J. Daun-Barnett

Associate Professor of Higher Education Administration

Expertise: college access, financial aid policy, college transition

Phone: 716-645-1096

Email: nbarnett@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Carole Emberton

Associate Professor of History

Expertise: Civil War era, Confederate Flag, history of race, slavery, Southern history, racial violence

Phone: 716-645-8405

Email: emberton@buffalo.edu

2/14/17

Liesl Folks

Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Expertise: STEM education, especially concerning women and underrepresented minorities; nanotechnology; magnetism

Phone: 716-645-2771

Email: lfolks@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Teresa A. Miller

Professor of Law

Expertise: prisoners’ rights, immigration laws and their impact on sentencing, the Attica prison riots, video technology in law school classrooms

Phone: 716-645-2391

Email: tmiller@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Margaret Moss

Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion in the School of Nursing

Expertise: American Indian health and wellness, disparities in health care, health policy, aging

Phone: 716-829-4347

Email: mpmoss@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Wendy Quinton

Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychology

Expertise: prejudice, stigma, social identity, Native American mascots

Phone: 716-645-0230

Email: wquinton@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Amy Reynolds

Associate Professor, Department of Counseling

Expertise: multicultural issues, college student mental health

Phone: 716-645-1112

Email: alr24@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Henry Louis Taylor Jr.

Director of the Center for Urban Studies

Expertise: urban development, housing, gentrification, distressed neighborhoods, shrinking cities, race and class, U.S.-Cuba relations

Phone: 716-829-5458

Email: htaylor@buffalo.edu

6/26/17

Kari J. Winter

Executive Director of UB's Humanities Institute

Expertise: gender, feminism, race, class, slavery, politics of food, literature

Phone: 716-645-0827

Email: kwinter2@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Victoria Wolcott

Professor of History

Expertise: civil rights, African American history, race and cities, urban history, gender, sexuality

Phone: 716-645-8411

Email: vwwolcot@buffalo.edu