Experts by Expertise: Race and Racial Discrimination

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

5/13/19

Robert Adelman

Chair and Associate Professor of Sociology

Expertise: urban sociology, segregation, race, immigration, U.S. Census

Phone: 716-645-8478

Email: adelman4@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

Nathan J. Daun-Barnett

Associate Professor of Higher Education Administration

Expertise: college access, financial aid policy, college transition

Phone: 716-645-1096

Email: nbarnett@buffalo.edu

6/23/20

Carole Emberton

Associate Professor of History

Expertise: Civil War era, Confederate flag and monuments, history of race, slavery, Southern history, racial violence

Phone: 716-645-8405

Email: emberton@buffalo.edu

10/22/19

Cecil Foster

Professor of Transnational Studies

Expertise: Canadian studies; multiculturalism, politics, race, ethnicity and immigration in Canada

Phone: 716-645-0786

Email: cecilfos@buffalo.edu

7/1/20

Oscar G. Gómez-Duarte

Chief of the Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases in the Department of Pediatrics

Expertise: pediatric infectious diseases, vaccines, childhood diarrhea, health disparities, COVID-19 community interventions

Phone: 716-323-0150. Gómez-Duarte can also be reached through Ellen Goldbaum in University Communications at 716-645-4605 or goldbaum@buffalo.edu, or Douglas Sitler in University Communications at 716-645-9069 or drsitler@buffalo.edu

Email: oscargom@buffalo.edu

4/15/20

Sameer Honwad

Assistant Professor of Learning and Instruction

Expertise: access, equity and diversity in education; cultural studies; international education; science and environmental education

Phone: 716-645-2455

Email: sameerho@buffalo.edu

2/20/18

Jaekyung Lee

Professor of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology

Expertise: educational policy, student testing, school accountability, international and comparative education, achievement gaps, educational inequalities

Phone: 716-645-1132

Email: jl224@buffalo.edu

6/22/20

Ndubueze L. Mbah

Associate Professor of History

Expertise: African history; the Atlantic World; colonialism; gender in West Africa; history of slavery and emancipation; Boko Haram

Phone: 716-645-8415

Email: ndubueze@buffalo.edu

8/20/18

Ryan Muldoon

Associate Professor of Philosophy

Expertise: social and political philosophy, diversity, international development policy, social norms, behavior change, ethics

Phone: 716-645-0140

Email: rmuldoon@buffalo.edu

7/10/20

Athena D. Mutua

Professor of Law and Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

Expertise: civil rights law; constitutional law (Fourteenth Amendment); critical race and feminist legal theory; law and political economy; race and the legal justice system

Phone: 716-645-2873. Athena D. Mutua can sometimes be contacted more quickly through the UB Media Relations team at ub-news@buffalo.edu.

Email: admutua@buffalo.edu

4/3/20

Heather Orom

Associate Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior

Expertise: Health disparities, illness risk perception

Phone: 716-829- 6682

Email: horom@buffalo.edu

6/24/20

Kelly Patterson

Associate Professor of Social Work

Expertise: social welfare policy; residential segregation; fair housing; gentrification; homelessness; poverty and economic inequality; race and class

Phone: 716-645-1248

Email: klp27@buffalo.edu

6/30/20

Raechele L. Pope

Associate Dean for Faculty and Student Affairs and Chief Diversity Officer in the Graduate School of Education

Expertise: multicultural education; equity, diversity and inclusion in higher education; campus climate; campus unrest; race, racism and race relations

Phone: 716-645-1098

Email: rlpope@buffalo.edu

8/28/18

Wendy Quinton

Clinical Associate Professor of Psychology

Expertise: prejudice, discrimination, stigma, social identity, student adjustment and success, international students

Phone: 716-645-0230

Email: wquinton@buffalo.edu

2/6/18

Amy Reynolds

Associate Professor, Department of Counseling

Expertise: multicultural issues, college student mental health

Phone: 716-645-1112

Email: alr24@buffalo.edu

5/27/20

Darryl Somayaji

Assistant Professor of Nursing

Expertise: cancer care and health disparities in underserved communities

Phone: 716-829-2178

Email: darrylso@buffalo.edu

6/3/20

Henry Louis Taylor Jr.

Director of the Center for Urban Studies

Expertise: urban development, housing, gentrification, underdeveloped neighborhoods, shrinking cities, race and class, U.S.-Cuba relations

Phone: 716-829-5458

Email: htaylor@buffalo.edu

6/30/20

Letitia Thomas

Assistant Dean for Diversity in the University at Buffalo School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Expertise: STEM education and pipelines; women and students of color in STEM; sociology of education; social justice; social networks; microaggressions

Phone: 716-645-3071

Email: lthomas@buffalo.edu

7/2/20

Hilary Weaver

Professor of Social Work

Expertise: Multicultural social work; historical and contemporary issues affecting Indigenous Peoples, including Native Americans; refugee health and well-being; trauma and resilience

Phone: 716-645-1226

Email: hweaver@buffalo.edu

7/3/20

Lillian S. Williams

Associate Professor of Transnational Studies

Expertise: U.S. social and urban history; African American history in the U.S. and Western New York; women’s history

Phone: 716-645-0798

Email: lsw4@buffalo.edu

12/27/18

Kari J. Winter

Professor of American Studies

Expertise: gender, feminism, race, class, slavery, politics of food, literature

Phone: 716-645-0827

Email: kwinter2@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Victoria Wolcott

Professor of History

Expertise: civil rights, African American history, race and cities, urban history, gender, sexuality

Phone: 716-645-8411

Email: vwwolcot@buffalo.edu

12/13/18

Randy Yerrick

Professor of Learning and Instruction

Expertise: STEM education; science and technology literacy; teacher education; equity and diversity in education

Phone: 716-645-4047

Email: ryerrick@buffalo.edu