University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Official UB news and information for the media

Experts by Expertise: Materials Science

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

8/31/17

Diana Aga

Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: industrial pollution; Great Lakes pollution; emerging contaminants including pharmaceuticals, nanomaterials and flame retardants; wastewater treatment; antibiotic resistance

Phone: 716-645-4220

Email: dianaaga@buffalo.edu

9/13/17

Sara Behdad

Assistant Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering, and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: electronic waste, sustainable design, right to repair  

Phone: 716-645-2593; 716-645-2328

Email: sarabehd@buffalo.edu

11/22/17

Jason Benedict

Associate Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: chemistry, chemical reactions, chemical crystallography, photochemistry, nanomaterials, synchrotron light sources

Phone: 716-645-4276

Email: jbb6@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

John Cerne

Professor of Physics

Expertise: physics in everyday life, condensed matter physics, high-temperature superconductors, graphene, optics

Phone: 716-645-2542

Email: jcerne@buffalo.edu

12/5/16

Timothy Cook

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: molecular self-assembly, photochemistry, fluorescence, phosphorescence, batteries, alternative energy

Phone: 716-645-4327

Email: trcook@buffalo.edu

2/14/17

Liesl Folks

Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Expertise: STEM education, especially concerning women and underrepresented minorities; nanotechnology; magnetism

Phone: 716-645-2771

Email: lfolks@buffalo.edu

12/8/16

Joseph A. Gardella Jr.

SUNY Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: industrial pollution; hazardous waste; microbeads; surface chemistry of plastics; controlled release of pharmaceuticals; wound healing; tissue engineering; STEM education

Phone: 716-645-1499

Email: gardella@buffalo.edu

2/14/17

Amit Goyal

Director of UB RENEW Institute

Expertise: renewable energy; environmental and water issues; high-temperature superconductivity; materials science

Phone: 716-645-5920

Email: agoyal@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Josep Jornet

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering

Expertise: terahertz-band communication networks, Internet of Nano-Things, brain-computer interfaces

Phone: 716-645-1607

Email: jmjornet@buffalo.edu

7/25/17

Richard L. Lamb

Associate Professor and Director of the Neurocognition Science Laboratory

Expertise: educational technology, virtual reality/augmented reality, cognition and learning

Phone: 716-645-4057

Email: rllamb@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Kemper E. Lewis

Professor and Chair of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Expertise: advanced manufacturing, mass customization, engineering design

Phone: 716-645-2682

Email: kelewis@buffalo.edu

10/30/17

Ciprian N. Ionita

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Expertise: 3-D medical imaging, 3-D printing in medicine, neuroimaging, cardiovascular imaging, endovascular disease

Phone: 716-829-5413

Email: cnionita@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Mark Swihart

Executive Director of UB's New York State Center of Excellence in Materials Informatics

Expertise: nanotechnology, materials science, chemistry of materials, aerosol science

Phone: 716-645-1181

Email: swihart@buffalo.edu

12/6/16

Albert H. Titus

Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering

Expertise: biomedical engineering, wearable technology, biosensors, smart sensors

Phone: 716-645-1019

Email: ahtitus@buffalo.edu

12/7/16

Eva Zurek

Associate Professor of Chemistry

Expertise: superconductors, high-pressure chemistry, crystals, materials science, materials discovery, computational chemistry

Phone: 716-645-4332

Email: ezurek@buffalo.edu