Experts by Expertise: Immigration and Refugees

For help reaching an expert on deadline, please contact UB's media relations team at 716-645-6969 or ub-news@buffalo.edu.

5/13/19

Robert Adelman

Chair and Associate Professor of Sociology

Expertise: urban sociology, segregation, race, immigration, U.S. Census

Phone: 716-645-8478

Email: adelman4@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

Abigail Cooke

Assistant Professor of Geography

Expertise: economic impact of immigration; economic impact of international trade; urban economies; international trade

Phone: 716-645-0486

Email: amcooke@buffalo.edu

12/27/18

Kim Griswold, MD

Professor of Family Medicine and Psychiatry

Expertise: health care for refugees and immigrants; trauma; survivors of torture; cultural competency in medicine; patient-centered medical homes; integrated medical and behavioral health care

Phone: 716-816-7248

Email: griswol@buffalo.edu

8/7/19

Nicole Hallett

Assistant Clinical Professor of Law

Expertise: immigration law, asylum, workers’ rights, civil rights, housing law

Phone: 716-645-3193

Email: nicole@buffalo.edu

12/19/18

Adrian Juarez

Assistant Professor of Nursing

Expertise: LGBT health, HIV prevention, migrant health

Phone: 716-829-3218

Email: juarezad@buffalo.edu

11/26/18

Kevin Smiley

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Expertise: urban issues, social inequality, environmental justice, climate change, disaster resilience, bicycling, immigration

Phone: 716-845-8465

Email: ktsmiley@buffalo.edu

11/6/18

Korydon Smith

Professor and Chair of Architecture

Expertise: diversity and social justice in planning and design; inclusive design; refugee housing and settlement planning

Phone: 716-829-5908

Email: khsmith@buffalo.edu

12/26/18

Hilary Weaver

Professor of Social Work

Expertise: Indigenous populations, Native Americans, refugees, cultural competence in the helping professions

Phone: 716-645-1226

Email: hweaver@buffalo.edu