Teams is a helpful collaboration tool for faculty, staff, and students. At this time, UB has only MS add-in applications enabled.
Contact your IT support for assistance.
Use the Files tab to easily share and work on the same documents simultaneously.
Conduct virtual meetings with faculty, staff, students as well as guests from outside the university. Note: Dial-in numbers are not available.
Easily share your screen with co-workers during meetings or calls.
Download the mobile app to chat, meet and collaborate on the go.
Installing the Teams desktop client adds the Teams Outlook Add-in button to the tool bar in Outlook.
At this time you will not be able to view or access your Calendar from within Teams the application. This feature will be available in the future.
The Meeting Options can be adjusted after the meeting invite is sent out.
A chat is a conversation between two or more people. Messages and files shared in a chat are not accessible to anyone outside of the chat, similar to how emails are only sent to the recipients entered in the To field. Use chat to message your co-workers, boss, students, or friends around campus. Start a group chat for quick conversations or questions.
Standard channels are visible to all members of the team. Private channels, indicated by a lock, are only visible to specific people within the team.
Microsoft Teams chats are stored for a limited time, unless they are part of a Teams group, in which case they are stored for seven years. These chats are stored online, in the Microsoft 365 cloud.
One-on-one chats are stored for 30 days.
PINs are needed if you are the meeting organizer and are dialing into the meeting yourself. You do not need a PIN if you are using a Teams mobile app, web browser or desktop client.
In the meeting invite, as the Meeting Organizer, click the Reset PIN link under the Phone Conference ID number.
For more in-depth information, please visit Microsoft Teams help & learning
Yes, you may record Microsoft Teams meetings to OneDrive. See Play and share a meeting recording
No, right now there are no plans to retire any of those services.
They do not need a subscription, but they need to have at least a Microsoft 365 guest account.
The expiration is 365 days. A Team owner receives a notification for Team renewal 30 days, 15 days and 1 day before the Team's expiration date. On receiving the notification, a Team owner can click Renew now in team settings to renew the Team.
To prevent accidental deletion, auto-renewal is automatically enabled for teams at UB. When the group expiration policy is set up, any team that has at least one channel visit from any Team member before its expiration date is automatically renewed without any manual intervention from the Team owner.
In your Outlook client, go to Settings > Options and uncheck Add online meeting to all meetings.