Our Students

  • 1/22/21
    The UB Department of Mathematics is pleased to announce that Jeremy Kazimer, a junior majoring in Applied Mathematics and Computational Physics, is the winner of the 2020 Math Summer Scholarship. Jeremy is studying network models for complex systems and high-dimensional data under the guidance his faculty mentor, Dr. Dane Taylor.  Specifically, the 2020 scholarship supported Jeremy's interest in extending information-theoretic techniques to quantify the structural complexity of social networks and biological systems.
  • 2/18/21
    Four years. You’ve strived, sweated and succeeded. You’ve made friends and memories to last a lifetime. You’ve come so far. To recognize this achievement, we present the name of each graduate in the Class of 2020.
  • 3/23/20

    Mousa Sunnoqrot is a senior at the State University of New York at Buffalo in Amherst, New York, where he is majoring in Mathematics and minoring in Economics and Statistics, with a concentration on Actuarial Science. Mousa is the professional chair for University at Buffalo’s student-run Society of Future Actuaries, and he interned this past summer at Healthfirst in New York City. Mousa is featured in a Q&A by AdvisorSmith, a provider of comprehensive research and advanced tools to better understand insurance for business professionals.

  • 8/22/20
    The University at Buffalo Department of Mathematics is pleased to announce that Destiny Diaz has won the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Award. The prestigious award is one of the most competitive and respected scientific fellowships in the U.S.  Diaz is completing a BS in mathematics with a minor in Spanish. Recently, Diaz received 2019 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence. A Buffalo native, she is a member of the University Honors College and a Prosperity Fellow. In Fall 2019, the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship will support her pursuit of graduate study in biostatistics at UB. The award provides three years of financial support within a five-year fellowship period, which amounts to a $34,000 annual stipend and $12,000 cost-of-education allowance to the graduate institution.