Faculty Directory

Rachel Ablow

Rachel Ablow

Professor and Chair, Department of English ; Humanities Director, College of Arts and Sciences

Victorian literature and culture, the novel, gender and sexuality studies

320 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2577

Email: rablow@buffalo.edu

Assistant Professor of English David Alff

David Alff, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies;

Eighteenth-century British literature

441 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0695

Email: dalff@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Dimitri Anastasopoulos

Dimitri Anastasopoulos

Associate Professor, Director of Creative Writing

Fiction writing, avant-garde fiction, postmodern metafiction, contemporary American fiction

429 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0689

Email: danastas@buffalo.edu

Barbara Bono

Barbara Bono

Associate Professor

Renaissance, Shakespeare and his cultural surroundings

545 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0713

Email: bbono@buffalo.edu

Carrie Bramen

Carrie Tirado Bramen

Professor; Director of the Gender Institute

American literature, Latino/a literature

537 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0707

Email: bramen@buffalo.edu

Diane Christian

Diane Christian

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor

Blake, the Bible, mythology, documentary film

615 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3626

Email: engdc@buffalo.edu

Joseph Conte

Joseph Conte

Professor

Twentieth-century poetry and poetics, postmodern fiction, postmodernism

501 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0696

Email: jconte@buffalo.edu

Kenneth Dauber

Professor

Nineteenth-century American literature

633 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0717

Email: dauber@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Susan Eilenberg

Susan Eilenberg

Associate Professor

Romanticism, Milton

531 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0704

Email: sre@buffalo.edu

Jerold Frakes

Jerold Frakes

SUNY Distinguished Professor

medieval literature

535 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0706

Email: jcfrakes@buffalo.edu

Judith Goldman

Judith Goldman

Associate Professor, Director Poetics Program

Contemporary North American and British poetry and poetics

406 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0695

Email: judithgo@buffalo.edu

Walter Hakala

Walter Hakala

Associate Professor

Urdu and Indo-Persian literature, lexicography, and language history

315 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3419

Email: walterha@buffalo.edu

Graham Hammill

Graham Hammill

Professor; Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Dean of the Graduate School

Early modern British literature, critical theory

Nicholas Hoffman

Nicholas Hoffman

Clinical Assistant Professor

Technical and Professional Writing, Social Justice Pedagogies, Information Technology, Early Modern Literature

540 Clemens

Phone: (716) 645-3422

Email: ndh4@buffalo.edu

Professor of English James Holstun

James Holstun

Professor

World literature, Marxism, early modern literature

319 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0672

Email: jamesholstun@hotmail.com

Associate Professor of English Stacy Hubbard

Stacy Hubbard

Associate Professor

American literature, modernism, feminism, poetry

507 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0699

Email: sch1@buffalo.edu

Bruce Jackson

Bruce Jackson

SUNY Distinguished Professor; James Agee Professor of American Culture

Narrative theory and performance, film, folklore, Faulkner, documentary photography

610 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0714

Email: bjackson@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Damien Keane

Damien Keane

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

Irish writing, modernism, sound

405 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0681

Email: dkeane@buffalo.edu

Myung Mi Kim

Myung Mi Kim

Professor, James H. McNulty Chair of English

Twentieth-century American poetry and poetics

404 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0698

Email: mmkim@buffalo.edu

Jody Kleinberg Biehl

Jody Kleinberg Biehl

Clinical Associate Professor

ethics of journalism, student media, international reporting, science journalism, literary journalism and news literacy.

311 Clemens

Phone: (716) 645-0669

Email: jkbiehl@buffalo.edu

Chad Lavin

Chad Lavin

Associate Professor, Associate Chair

Political Theory

411 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0685

Email: clavin@buffalo.edu

J. Lim

Jeehyun Lim

Assistant Professor

439 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0703

Email: jeehyunl@buffalo.edu

Arabella Lyon

Arabella Lyon

Professor, Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Global Gender and Sexuality Studies

Rhetorical theory, comparative rhetoric, human rights representation

323 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0677

Email: alyon@buffalo.edu

Ming-Qian Ma

Associate Professor

American literature, poetry and poetics

503 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0697

Email: mma3@acsu.buffalo.edu

Ruth Mack

Ruth Mack

Associate Professor

Eighteenth-century British literature

403 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0680

Email: ruthmack@buffalo.edu

Carine Mardorossian

Carine M. Mardorossian

Professor

Postcolonial studies, Caribbean literature, feminist criticism

541 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0711

Email: cmardoro@buffalo.edu

Maxwell

Jason Maxwell

Clinical Assistant Professor

Rhetoric & Composition, Critical Theory, Critical University Studies

540 Clemens

Phone: 716 645-2558

Email: jasonmax@buffalo.edu

Carla Mazzio

Carla Mazzio

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Admissions

Late sixteenth and seventeenth-century literature with an emphasis on drama and prose

302B Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3784

Email: cjmazzio@buffalo.edu

Dr. Mazzolini

Elizabeth Mazzolini

Associate Professor, Director of the Academic and Professional Writing Program and Teaching Fellows; Science Studies, Environmental Humanities

515 Clemens

Phone: (716) 645-0691

Email: mazz@buffalo.edu

Professor of English Steve McCaffery

Steve McCaffery

Professor; David Gray Chair of Poetry and Letters

Contemporary poetry, poetics, and critical theory

432 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3810

Email: stevemcc@buffalo.edu

Professor of English Cristanne Miller

Cristanne Miller

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Edward H. Butler Chair in English

Poetry, American literature, American Civil War

402 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0694

Email: ccmiller@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Steven Miller

Steven Miller

Associate Professor, Director of the Center for the Study of Psychoanalysis & Culture

Psychoanalysis, critical theory, drama

415 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0687

Email: slm26@buffalo.edu

Christina Milletti

Christina Milletti

Associate Professor

Fiction writing, twentieth-century novel, experimental fiction, gender studies

533 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0705

Email: milletti@buffalo.edu

Kristen Moore

Kristen Moore

Associate Professor, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

321 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0684

Email: krmoore@buffalo.edu

Eric Pritchard

Eric Darnell Pritchard

Associate Professor

Literacy; rhetoric; composition; fashion; popular culture; Black feminism; African American Studies; Queer Studies; performance; qualitative research methods.

509 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0700

Email: ericprit@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Alex Reid

Alexander Reid

Associate Professor;

Digital media studies, rhetoric and composition, professional writing, game studies

325 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0678

Email: areid@buffalo.edu

Randy Schiff

Randy Schiff

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Placement

Medieval British literature, literary history, nationalism, ecocriticism

427 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0688

Email: rpschiff@buffalo.edu

David Schmid

David Schmid

Associate Professor

Twentieth-century British and American fiction, popular culture, cultural studies

401 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0679

Email: schmid@buffalo.edu

Tanya Shilina-Conte

Tanya Shilina-Conte

Assistant Professor; Global/transnational cinema, film-philosophy, Deleuze Studies, remix culture, media archaeology, sensory film and media.

409 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0938

Email: tshilina@buffalo.edu

William Solomon

William Solomon

Professor, Director of the MA Program

Twentieth-century American literature

407 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0682

Email: wsolomon@buffalo.edu

Professor of English Joe Valente

Joseph Valente

UB Distinguished Professor

Modernism, Irish studies, literary & cultural theory, autism studies

437 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0693

Email: jvalente@buffalo.edu

N. Wasmoen

Nikolaus Wasmoen

Visiting Assistant Professor

Spec. Digital Humanities, Modernism, Media Studies

402 Clemens Hall

Email: nlwasmoe@buffalo.edu