Set Your Browser to Log Out Completely from Services that Use UBITName Login

Some browser settings store your UBITName and password and automatically log you back into UBITName Login services such as MyUB or UB Learns when the browser is opened again (regardless who opens it).

Operating System: All

Applies To: UB students, faculty, staff, alumni, retirees and volunteers

Last Updated: September 16, 2015

Use Secure Browser Settings

To help keep your UBITName Login services secure, make sure your Web browsers do not store this information.  Use the following settings:

Don't Save Passwords Unless Using a Passcode

If you saved your password when using MyUB, UBlearns, UBmail, or any other service that uses UBITName Login, anyone using that computer can log in as you to those services.

Don't save your UBITName and password or, if you must, be sure you are the only person using it and that access to your device is protected with a password or passcode.

Learn how to remove a saved password to UBITName Login services and disable the save password settings:

Password Protect If Using Sync Services

Sync services (Firefox, Chrome) sync your browser's bookmarks and passwords to other devices. Either do not use sync or else use a password or passcode to access your devices.

Still need help?

Contact the UBIT Help Center.