Inclusion and Diversity Committee

Committee Charge

We support the University mission by contributing to a welcoming and inclusive University community by educating ourselves about our differences while simultaneously celebrating and respecting our diversity.

We will endeavor to make use of our strengths and empathy as a community of individuals in order to challenge oppressive systems particularly those that perpetuate and encourage hatred, intolerance and bigotry.

Throughout the year, the PSS Inclusion and Diversity Committee:

  • Hosts numerous social and educational programs such as our longstanding Education and Advocacy Series that explore issues of diversity, inclusion and community.  
  • Provide professional development opportunities with a focus on inclusive excellence, positively impacting UB and the larger Buffalo and WNY community. 
  • Organize informal events designed to encourage colleagues to have meaningful interactions that enable people to go beyond stereotypes and build a vibrant learning community in which all perspectives are heard and valued.

Committee Members

Chair: Jessica Coram
Co-Chairs: Mary Clare Fahey and Vivian Jimenez 

Current Members: Kim Behun, Tanya Biscardi, Chris Bragdon, Ivy Colon, Giambattista Davis, Jessica DiPasquale, Rachel DiDomizio, Lynn Emminger, Don Erb, Lauren Galgovich, Heather Hagenbuch, Eileen Hassett, Caitlin Hoekstra, Danielle Johnson, Anyango Kamina, Cindy Konovitz, Larissa Kowalczyk, Susan Mann Dolce, Neil McGillicuddy, Sherene Milizia, Derek Nichols, Jesse O'Reilly, Darren Portis, Ashley Regling, Zaviera Reyes, Suzy Shallowhorn, Aaron Shaw, Laura Silverman, Karyn St. George, Jared Strohl, Meg Syrell, Tim Tryjankowski, Tony Waleszczak, Maria Wilson