Awards Committee

Our Mission

The PSS Awards Committee invites and screens nominations for the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service, Outstanding Service, and Outstanding Service to the Professional Staff Senate awards.  It calls for nominations, communicates the nomination guidelines and reviews the nominations.  It decides which SUNY Chancellor’s Award nominations to recommend to the President’s Office and selects the winners for the two Outstanding Service awards.

The SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service recognizes individuals who have repeatedly sought improvement of themselves, their campuses and ultimately the State University of New York and, in so doing, have transcended the normal definitions of excellence.  The Outstanding Service award recognizes professional excellence and outstanding service of noteworthy scope and depth which is beyond that encompassed by the job description.  The service must focus on the betterment of the community as a whole, but may be associated with university initiatives.  The service may include religious, charitable, scientific, educational, artistic, literary or civil involvements that enhance the quality of life. The Outstanding Service to the Professional Staff Senate award recognizes an individual member of the professional staff or a group of professional staff members who have provided outstanding service to the Professional Staff Senate (PSS) as a member of the Executive Committee or as a member of a standing or ad-hoc committee or task force of PSS.  

The professional Staff Senate Awards committee encourages the identification, nomination, and recognition of candidates that represent the full breadth of diversity at UB. Special Consideration will be given to individuals who have made contributions to the betterment of the University, including those related to the University’s commitment of increasing inclusive excellence. Nominated candidates should have a record of collaboration with faculty, staff and/or students from diverse backgrounds, which includes, but is not limited to race, ethnicity, gender, LGBTQ+, disability and veteran status.

Committee Charge

To announce guidelines, solicit and screen nominations for the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service, Outstanding Service Award and the Professional Staff Senate Outstanding Service Award, and to forward recommendations to the Chair.

Committee Members

Chair: Christa Greenberg
Vice Chair: Carl Lam

Current Members: Gwen Appelbaum, Rebecca Brierley, Bin Chen, David Costello, Don Erb, Scott Hollander, Daniel Kelly, Elizabeth Lidano, Carol O’Connell, Letitia Thomas

President’s Office Ex-Officio member: Nicole Peradotto

UB student representatives: Alika Turton