Gresham/Staley Scholarship

Two CSTEP mentors holding a scholarship check bearing their names.

Mary Gresham and John Staley, CSTEP 30th Anniversary Gala, 2017.

This competitive scholarship is funded by donations of alumni, staff and supporters of the CSTEP program in honor of Dr. Mary Gresham and Dr. John Staley who collectively contributed over 50 years towards equity and access on the University of Buffalo campus. 

CSTEP is proud to offer two scholarship awards for talented undergraduate CSTEP students who exemplify a commitment to excellence in both their academics and the community. This annual scholarship is given to CSTEP students and graduating seniors who have been accepted into graduate or professional programs at UB. These recipients exemplify a dedication to academic excellence, civic engagement and involvement in CSTEP and the greater Buffalo community. 

Now Open to CSTEP Alumni: CSTEP alumni who are currently a graduate or professional student at UB can also apply for the scholarship! In 2021 we awarded 7 CSTEP alumni the Gresham/Staley Scholarship!

Scholarship applications open each March and recipients are announced each May during the Student Recognition Ceremony

To apply, visit our UBLinked page, sign in and scroll down to the bottom of the page under forms to find the CSTEP Excellence Scholarship Application

Scholarship Criteria:

  • Must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better
  • Must show a commitment towards community service
  • Must submit one (1) letter of recommendation

Must submit a one-page essay on the importance of access and opportunity programs in higher education 

2021 Recipients

  • Jennifer Ansong
  • Mirka Arevalo
  • Taylor Campbell
  • Heather Evangelista
  • Shawn Gibson
  • Sasha Joseph 
  • Tamijah Lawton-Stone
  • Neneyo Mate-Kole
  • Mohsen Mohsen
  • Shelbi Molin
  • Jenny Moya
  • Ugonna Okafor
  • Gloria Opuni
  • Eliijah Panayoty
  • Rasheen Powell II
  • Elizabeth Quaye
  • Zakiya Rhodie
  • Tasnim Tarannum 
  • Denique Tulloch

2020 Recipients

  • Abdulelah Ahmed
  • Gerardo Barrera Giron
  • Taylor Campbell
  • Temara Cross
  • Elsa Diaw
  • Heather Evangelista
  • Allea Frazier
  • Arsh Issany
  • Charles LaFargue
  • Tamijah Lawton-Stone 
  • Julius Mark
  • Maisha Rahman
  • Autumn Tonnesen
  • Aliaya Williams 

2019 Recipients

  • Winifred Adu Anane
  • Anna Kay Adamson
  • Temara Cross
  • Jessica Maxwell
  • Keiona Nance
  • William Phillips

2018 Recipients

  • Marcus Ashford
  • Terrika Pereira
  • Elizabeth Quaye
  • Ashley Solomon

2017 Recipients

  • Ali Al Garaghuli
  • Dominique Hickson
  • Jalisa Kelly
  • Aaron Nimako
  • Elizabeth Quaye
  • Diamile Tavarez
  • Deja Thompson
  • Zakiyah Rhodie
  • I’Yanna Scott