Affiliates

Affiliates of the Gender Institute are faculty and professional staff from across the university who conduct and support research and education on women and gender.  Affiliates contribute ideas and advice to help shape the institute's programs and priorities, and they also serve on many of the institute's committees.
If you would like to become an Affiliate, please contact our office at:
ub-irewg@buffalo.edu

To find collaborators for your research or course interests, please type a keyword in the search box below.

Ablow, Rachel

Rachel Ablow

Professor, Director of Humanities

Department of English

Email: rablow@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Adelman, Robert

Robert Adelman

Associate Professor, Chair

Department of Sociology

Email: adelman4@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: community-based research, ethnicity, immigration, race

Kafuli Agbemenu

Kafuli Agbemenu

Assistant Professor

School of Nursing

Email: agbemenu@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: community-based research, ethnicity, health, immigration, mixed methods research, nursing, qualitative research methods, quantitative research methods, reproductive health

Avery, Dianne

Dianne Avery

Professor Emerita

School of Law

Email: lawavery@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Ana Mariella Bacigalupo

Ana Mariella Bacigalupo

Professor

Anthropology

Email: anab@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen

Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen

Professor

Department of Geography
Executive Committee member
Co-Director, Gender Institute 2009-10

Email: geosbs@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: Economic and urban geography; Innovation and industry studies; Foreign direct investment; Biotech and bioenergy

Joan Baizer

Joan Baizer

Professor

Department of Physiology
Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
Executive Committee member

Email: baizer@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Laina Y. Bay-Cheng

Laina Y. Bay-Cheng

Professor; Associate Dean for Faculty Development

School of Social Work

Email: lb35@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Ling Bian

Ling Bian

Professor

Department of Geography

Email: lbian@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Mary Bisson

Mary Bisson

Professor, Director of MA Program

Department of Biological Sciences

Email: bisson@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: natural sciences

Barbara Bono

Barbara Bono

Associate Professor, Emerita

English
Executive Committee member
Co-Director, Gender Institute 2003-06

Email: bbono@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: activism, community-based research, humanities, qualitative research methods, sexuality

Hadar Borden

Hadar Borden

Program Director

Blackstone Launchpad

Email: hborden@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Irus Braverman

Irus Braverman

Professor

School of Law, Department of Geography

Email: irusb@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Gale R. Burstein

Gale R. Burstein, MD, MPH, FAAP

Commissioner, Erie County Department of Health, Clinical Professor of Pediatrics

Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Email: gburstein@upa.chob.edu

Research Topics:

Susan Cahn

Susan Cahn

Professor

Department of History
Executive Committee member

Email: cahn@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: 20th century United States History; Gender and Sexuality; Medicine, Disability and Science; Social and Cultural History; LGBTQ History

David R. Castillo

David R. Castillo

Professor

Department of Romance Languages and Literatures

Email: dc63@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Diane Christian

Diane Christian

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor

Department of English

Email: engdc@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Meredith Conti

Meredith Conti

Assistant Professor

Department of Theatre & Dance

Email: maconti@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:activism, art, humanities, medicine, race, theatre and performance studies

Filomena Critelli

Filomena Critelli

Associate Professor; Undergraduate Studies Coordinator

School of Social Work

Email: fmc8@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Yige Dong

Yige Dong

Assistant Professor

Sociology

Email: yigedong@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:qualitative research methods, political economy

Rosemary Dziak

Rosemary Dziak

Professor

Department of Oral Biology, School of Dental Medicine
Executive Committee member
Co-Director, Gender Institute 2005-11

Email: rdziak@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Sarah Elder

Sarah Elder

Professor

Department of Media Study

Email: selder@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Gretchen Ely

Gretchen Ely

Professor; Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

School of Social Work

Email: geely@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Christian Flaugh

Christian Flaugh

Associate Professor

Department of Romance Languages and Literatures

Email: cflaugh@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Sharonah Fredrick

Sharonah Fredrick

Clinical Assistant Professor

Department of Romance Languages and Literatures

Email: sharonah@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: art, ethnicity, humanities, mixed methods research, Women in the Colonial Spanish / Portuguese Americas

Rebecca French

Rebecca French, JD, LL.M, PhD

Professor

School of Law

Email: rrfrench@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Jo Freudenheim

Jo Freudenheim

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Professor; Chair

Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health

Email: jfreuden@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: health, quantitative research methods

Joseph Gardella

Joseph Gardella

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Department of Chemistry

Email: gardella@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: activism, community-based research, natural sciences, quantitative research methods

Laura Garofalo

Laura Garofalo

Associate Professor

Department of Architecture

Email: lbg2@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

David Luis Glisch-Sánchez

David Luis Glisch-Sánchez

Assistant Professor

Department of Global Gender & Sexuality Studies

Email: davidgli@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Judith Goldman

Judith Goldman

Associate Professor; Director of Poetics Program

Department of English

Email: judithgo@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Donald Grinde

Donald Grinde

Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

Department of Transnational Studies

Email: dgrinde@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Walter N. Hakala

Walter N. Hakala

Associate Professor; Director of Asian Studies Program

Departments of Asian Studies and English

Email: walterha@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: digital studies, ethnicity, humanities, LGBTQ, sexuality, transgender

Graham Hammill

Graham Hammill

Professor; Vice Provost for Graduate Education; Dean of the Graduate School

The Graduate School, English

Email: ghammill@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Dan Hess

Dan Hess

Professor; Chair of Urban Planning

School of Architecture and Planning

Email: dbhess@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Stacy Hubbard

Stacy Hubbard

Associate Professor

Department of English

Email: sch1@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Joyce Hwang

Joyce Hwang, AIA

Associate Professor; Associate Chair

Department of Architecture

Email: jh96@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: activism, art, humanities, mixed methods research

Julia Jamrozik

Julia Jamrozik

Assistant Professor

School of Architecture and Planning

Email: jamrozik@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Robert Keefe

Robert Keefe

Associate Professor

School of Social Work

Email: rhkeefe@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Myung Mi Kim

Professor; James H. McNulty Chair of English

Department of English

Email: mmkim@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Wooksoo Kim

Wooksoo Kim

Associate Professor

School of Social Work

Email: wkim5@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Carolyn Korsmeyer

Carolyn Korsmeyer

Professor

Department of Philosophy

Email: ckors@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Shiu-Ming Kuo

Shiu-Ming Kuo

Associate Professor Emeritus

Department of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences

Email: smkuo@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Jeehyun Lim

Jeehyun Lim

Associate Professor

Department of English

Email: jeehyunl@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: ethnicity, humanities, immigration, law, mixed methods research, race, sexuality

Melinda Lemke

Melinda Lemke

Assistant Professor, Program Advisor of Education Leadership and Policy for Equity Minor

Department of Educational Leadership and Policy

Email: malemke@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: displacement, educational policy, feminist policy analysis, gender violence/prevention, health equity, politics of education, qualitative research methods

Arabella Lyon

Arabella Lyon

Professor, Emerita

Department of English

Email: alyon@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Ruth Mack

Ruth Mack

Associate Professor

Department of English

Email: ruthmack@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Sam Magavern

Sam Magavern

Adjunct Instructor

School of Law, Co-Director, Partnership for the Public Good

Email: sam@ppgbuffalo.org

Research Topics:

Martha Malamud

Martha Malamud

Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

Department of Classics

Email: malamud@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Laura Mangan

Research Instructor

Epidemiology & Environmental Health

Email: lmangan@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Carine Mardorossian

Carine Mardorossian

Professor

Department of English

Email: cmardoro@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: activism, art, carceral state/ prisons, community-based research, disability, ethnicity, humanities, immigration, LGBTQ, medicine, qualitative research methods, race, sexual harassment/gender harrassment, sexuality, transgender

Andrea Markelz

Andrea Markelz

Professor

Department of Physics

Email: amarkelz@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Abigail Matthews

Abigail Matthews

Assistant Professor

Department of Political Science

Email: aamatthe@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Ndubueze Mbah

Ndubueze Mbah

Assistant Professor

Department of History

Email: ndubueze@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Theresa McCarthy

Theresa McCarthy

Associate Professor

Department of Transnational Studies

Email: tm59@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Martha T. McCluskey

Martha T. McCluskey

Professor, William J. Magavern Faculty Scholar

School of Law

Email: mcclusk@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Patrick McDevitt

Patrick McDevitt

Associate Professor

Department of History

Email: mcdevitt@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Cody Mejeur

Cody Mejeur

Visiting Assistant Professor of Game Studies

Department of Media Study

Email: codymeje@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: activism, community-based research, digital studies, humanities, LGBTQ, qualitative research methods, race, sexuality, transgender, game studies

Christopher Mele

Christopher Mele

Professor

Department of Sociology

Email: cmele@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Tara Melish

Tara Melish

Professor, Director of the Buffalo Human Rights Center

School of Law

Email: tmelish@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Christina Milletti

Christina Milletti

Associate Professor, Director of Creative Writing

Department of English

Email: milletti@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Nicole Morris Johnson

Nicole Morris Johnson

Assistant Professor

Department of English

Email: nmorris@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: activism, art, community-based research, ethnicity, humanities, qualitative research methods, race

Kathleen Murphy

Manager of Network Operations

Network And Classroom Services

Email: kbrown@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Nadine (Shaanta) Murshid

Nadine (Shaanta) Murshid

Assistant Professor

School of Social Work

Email: nadinemu@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Athena D. Mutua

Athena D. Mutua

Professor, Floyd H. & Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

School of Law

Email: admutua@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Yunju Nam

Yunju Nam

Associate Professor

School of Social Work

Email: yunjunam@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: community-based research, immigration, mixed methods research, policy, qualitative research methods, quantitative research methods, race

Kalliopi Nikolopoulou

Kalliopi Nikolopoulou

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

Department of Comparative Literature

Email: kn34@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

H. Lorraine Oak

H. Lorraine Oak

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Geography;

Associate Dean for Research Administration, CAS; Chair, Canadian-American Studies Committee
Executive Committee member

Email: loak@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Judith Olin

Judith Olin

Assistant Clinical Professor, Director, Family Violence and Women’s Rights Clinic

Law School

Email: judyolin@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Catherine Olsen

Professor, Emerita

Mathematics

Email: clolsen@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Elizabeth Otto

Elizabeth Otto

Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

Department of Global Gender Sexuality Studies

Email: eotto@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: art, humanities, LGBTQ, sexuality, transgender

Tia Palermo

Tia Palermo

Associate Professor

Epidemiology and Environmental Health

Email: tiapaler@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: health, mixed methods research, policy, quantitative research methods, race, sexual harassment/gender harrassment

Ewa Plonowska Ziarek

Ewa Plonowska Ziarek

Julian Park Professor of Comparative Literature, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Department of Comparative Literature

Email: epziarek@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Eric D. Pritchard

Eric D. Pritchard

Associate Professor

Department of English

Email: ericprit@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: activism, community-based research, LGBTQ, qualitative research methods, race, transgender, fashion; popular culture; literacy; rhetoric

Pavani Ram

Pavani Ram

Research Professor

Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health

Email: pkram@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Michael Rembis

Michael Rembis

Associate Professor

Department of History
Director, Center for Disability Studies
Executive Committee member

Email: marembis@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Margaret Rhee

Margaret Rhee

Assistant Professor

Department of Media Study

Email: mrhee@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Kate Rittenhouse-Olson

Kate Rittenhouse-Olson

Professor, Emeritus

Department of Biotechnical and Clinical Laboratory Sciences

Email: krolson@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Sarah A. Robert

Sarah A. Robert

Associate Professor, Director of Social Studies Education Program

Department of Learning & Instruction

Email: sarah@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Pam Rose

Pam Rose

Coordinator of Web Services and Library Promotion

University Libraries

Email: pmrose@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: community-based research, health, medicine, nursing, Consumer Health, Human animal interface, Zoonotic Disease, Environmental Studies

Margaret Sallee

Margaret Sallee

Associate Professor

Deparment of Educational Leadership and Policy
Graduate School of Education
Executive Committee member

Email: mwsallee@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Claire S. Schen

Claire S. Schen

Associate Professor

Department of History

Email: cschen@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Randy Schiff

Randy Schiff

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Placement

Department of English

Email: rpschiff@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: humanities

David Schmid

David Schmid

Associate Professor

Department of English

Email: schmid@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: carceral state / prisons, humanities, Culture, popular culture, celebrity, film, literature, genre fiction

Erik Seeman

Erik Seeman

Professor; Chair

Department of History

Email: seeman@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: History of colonial North America: religion, death, women, American Indians, African Americans

Marla Segol

Marla Segol

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Global Gender Sexuality Studies

Email: marlaseg@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: humanities, medicine, sexuality, Religion, Magic, and Mysticism

Roh-Yu Shen

Roh-Yu Shen

Professor

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Email: rshen@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:health, medicine, natural sciences

Satpal Singh

Satpal Singh

Professor

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Email: singhs@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Korydon Smith

Korydon Smith

Professor, Chair

Department of Architecture

Email: khsmith@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Kristin Stapleton

Kristin Stapleton

Professor

Department of History

Email: kstaple@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: carceral state/ prisons, ethnicity, humanities, immigration, law, qualitative research methods, race, urban studies

Despina Stratigakos

Despina Stratigakos

Professor

Department of Architecture
Vice Provost for Inclusive Excellence
Executive Committee member
Deputy Director 2011-2012

Email: despina@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Debra Street

Debra Street

Professor

Department of Sociology

Email: dastreet@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Beth Tauke

Beth Tauke 

Associate Professor

Department of Architecture

Email: tauke@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Jennifer Temple

Jennifer Temple

Associate Professor; Director of the Nutrition and Health Research Laboratory; Graduate Program Director

School of Public Health and Health Professions

Email: jltemple@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Miriam Thaggert

Associate Professor

Department of English
Executive Committee member

Email: mthagger@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Gwynn Thomas

Gwynn Thomas

Associate Professor

Deparment of Global Gender Sexuality Studies
Executive Committee member

Email: gmthomas@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:Activism;Latin America; women’s political participation and leadership; gender and politics; transnational feminism; comparative women’s movements; feminist theory; citizenship and state development

Mary Nell Trautner

Mary Nell Trautner

Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

Department of Sociology

Email: trautner@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: carceral state / prisons, law, qualitative research methods, sexual harassment/gender harrassment, sexuality

Susan Udin

Susan Udin

Professor, Emerita

Department of Physiology and Biophysics

Email: susan.udin@gmail.com

Research Topics:

Paola Ugolini

Paola Ugolini

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

Department of Romance Languages and Literatures

Email: ugolini@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:Humanities;Renaissance culture; women, gender, masculinity in early modern Italy; history of sexuality; selfhood and individuality; questions of truth and falsehood

Stephanie Vander Wel

Stephanie Vander Wel

Associate Professor

Department of Music, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Email: slv5@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Margarita Vargas

Margarita Vargas

Associate Professor

Romance Languages and Literatures; Interim Chair, Global Gender Sexuality Studies
Executive Committee member
Co-Director 2006-2009

Email: mvargas@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: gender, humanities, performance, mexican film, qualitative research methods, women, spanish american theatre

Christine Varnado

Christine Varnado

Assistant Professor

Department of Global Gender Sexuality Studies

Email: cmvarnad@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Marion Werner

Marion Werner

Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies, Co-Director, Center for Trade, Environment and Development

Department of Geography Phone: 716-645-0475

Email: wernerm@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Lillian Williams

Lillian Williams

Associate Professor

Deparment of African and African American Studies
Executive Committee member

Email: lsw4@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Gail Willsky

Gail Willsky

Associate Professor, Emerita

Department of Biochemistry

Email: gwillsky@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Kari Winter

Kari Winter

Professor

Departments of American Studies and Global Gender Sexuality Studies
Executive Committee member
Director 2011-2017

Email: kwinter2@buffalo.edu

Research Topics:

Victoria W. Wolcott

Victoria W. Wolcott

Professor

Department of History

Email: vwwolcot@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: activism, carceral state/prisons, humanities, race

Jennifer Zirnheld

Jennifer Zirnheld

Professor, Director, Energy Systems Institute

Department of Electrical Engineering

Email: zirnheld@buffalo.edu

Research Topics: