Reaching Others University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
UBIT SECURITY ALERT, 11/27/14: UB Login Phish targets UB accounts >

Using UBlearns

Find answers to frequently asked questions about UBlearns.

Why can't I see my course?

There are a few reasons why you may not see your course in UBlearns:

  • Your instructor may not have enabled the course in UBlearns yet.
  • You may not be "officially" enrolled in the course.
  • Drop/add changes to official enrollment take effect 8:30 a.m. the following morning.
  • By default students will see a course on the first day of class. An instructor may choose to change the enrollment date.

If you are a TA in a course, your instructor needs to manually enroll you.

Why can't I see my course menu or access the content of my course?

The course menu may be hidden.  To restore it, look at the left edge of your course site about half way down and click the gray arrow (Show Course Menu). 

How do I edit my notification settings?

Edit Notifications Settings in two places:

  • Individual modules in Notification Dashboard or
  • At the top of any page in My Places

Where is the Digital Drop Box?

The Digital Drop Box tool is no longer available; instructors may use the Assignment tool to manage student submissions.

My instructor put a link to an item and the link doesn’t work from off campus.

Many databases are limited to UB students and they are set up to recognize the IP address or to route the user to a proxy site for authentication. Not all databases are compatible in this way with UBlearns. If you have the citation to the article, you will still be able to access it by starting at the E-journals page or the Libraries Catalog.

If you have trouble, ASK a Librarian.

I did not submit my test successfully. How can I open the test again?

Your instructor may have set this test to be taken only once.

Contact your instructor to request they reset the test for you. In order to try again, the instructor must clear your attempt in the Grade Center.

Once the test is reset, you can take it again.

What does an icon of pencil and paper in My Grades mean?

This could be caused by one of the following:

  • You have not yet completed the test or assignment; work is in progress.
  • A test has been set up for a single attempt and you opened the test but did not make an attempt at answering any questions.
  • You hit the Save button instead of the Submit button after taking the test or assignment. Go back and Submit the test or assignment.
  • You experienced network or browser problems while taking the test or assignment.

Contact your instructor to determine the reason the icon of pencil and paper is showing. If necessary, the instructor can reset the test or assignment. 

Can I get access to my course if I have an Incomplete?

You can request access to past semester courses from your instructor. The instructions for your instructor are on Student Access to Past Semester UBlearns Courses.

How long do I see my courses?

By default, access to your course sites will remain available until the day after final grades are due for the semester. However, instructors have the ability to manipulate this date.

How long after the semester do I have access to my grades?

UBlearns grades are available until the first business day after grades are due for the semester.

  1. Log in to a course.
  2. Select Tools from course menu.
  3. Select My Grades.

This may not be the final grade for your course. Official grades are found in HUB.

Why do I receive an error message when using SafeAssign?

If you get this error and you are logged into Blackboard, it means that the security/privacy settings on your web browser are set up to not allow third party cookies. You need to change that setting to allow third party cookies.

Did This Page Answer Your Question?

(Required)
 
Email, UBITName or phone number
(Required)
Enter the text in the image below. If the image appears unclear, click 'Get a new challenge' to receive a new image.