Collaborator Permission Levels

To share files, invite others into the appropriate folder as collaborators. To protect restricted data, always make an intentional choice about the permission level of each collaborator in each folder, giving each person the lowest level necessary to accomplish his or her tasks.

  • Collaborators should be assigned the "previewer" role and only assigned greater privileges after careful consideration and confirmation that those privileges are needed.  Note that the default setting (Editor) is higher than this recommendation.
  • UBbox uses waterfall permissions, i.e., collaborators will have the same permission level in subfolders as they do in the top folder.

Roles and Actions

Collaborator Actions by Role
Action Co-owner Editor Viewer Uploader Previewer Uploader Viewer Previewer Uploader
Download Yes Yes Yes No Yes No No
Comment Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Delete Yes Yes No No No No No
Create tasks Yes Yes Yes No Yes No No
Tag Yes Yes No No No No No
Invite people Yes Yes No No No No No
Edit folder name Yes Yes No No No No No
Edit folder properties Yes No No No No No No
Preview Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Send view-only links Yes Yes Yes No Yes No No
Upload Yes Yes Yes Yes No No Yes
View items in folder Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Sync folder Yes Yes No No No No No
Set access permissions Yes Yes No No No No No
Restrict invitations Yes No No No No No No
View access stats Yes Yes No No No No No
Create/edit Box notes Yes Yes Yes No No No No
View Box notes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No