Student Preview Mode and Edit Mode

With Student Preview Mode and Edit Mode, instructors can experience a course exactly as students do.

About Student Preview Mode

While in student preview mode, instructors can take tests, submit assignments and view the student My Grades area. Use student preview to review the course content and validate the course behaviors.

Student Preview Mode and Panopto

When you log into UB Learns as an instructor and view Panopto content in Student Preview Mode, Panopto will treat you as an instructor, not a student. This means that you will see options for creating, editing and deleting videos. Students will not see these options when they view Panopto content in the course.

Enter Student Preview Mode

To enter student preview mode, click the Enter Student Preview function, at the top-right corner of your course pages, next to the Change Course Theme function.

Student preview creates a student account, called the preview user account, logs you in as that student and enrolls you in the current course. When you enter student preview mode, the student preview bar appears at the top of every page. The bar displays the text "Student Preview mode is ON" and has Settings and Exit Preview functions.

Student preview mode is active only in the courses where you enabled it. You are still an instructor in the rest of UB Learns. However, the same preview user account will be used when you enter student preview mode in more than one course.

Understand Your Preview User Account

When you enter student preview mode and are logged in to your course with the preview user account, your preview user appears in the course roster and is visible to all students enrolled in the course. Students and administrators can easily identify this as your preview user account by the way it is named: its last name is your last name appended with “_PreviewUser” and its username is your username appended with “_previewuser”.

Exit and Delete Your Preview User Account

Click Exit Preview to exit the student preview.

Important

If you leave the course without exiting from student preview, you will return to student preview when you return to the course.

It is considered best practice to remove the preview user (_PreviewUser) and its associated data. For a discussion of when to keep it, see Keep the Preview User and Data.

About Edit Mode

Edit Mode is another way for instructors to view course content as a student would see it.

Unlike Student Preview Mode, Edit Mode does not create a preview user (_PreviewUser).

The Edit Mode toggles on and off. The toggle appears in the top right corner in each Course area and any subfolders.

  • To edit content, toggle Edit Mode to On.
  • To view course content as a student would see it, toggle Edit Mode to Off.

Although Edit Mode allows an instructor to view the course as a student sees it, Student Preview Mode (described above) is the preferred solution.

Did This Page Answer Your Question?

(Required)
 
Email, UBITName or phone number
(Required)