Search Committee: Vice Provost for Inclusive Excellence

Published March 29, 2023

Dear UB Community:

We are pleased to share that UB has launched the search for the next vice provost for inclusive excellence. Dr. Robin Schulze, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, is serving as chair of the search committee. We are grateful to the members of this committee for their service. In addition to Dean Schulze, the search committee includes:

  • Keith Alford, Dean, School of Social Work
  • Mekonnen Ayano, Associate Professor, School of Law
  • Rajan Batta, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Diversity and SUNY Distinguished Professor, Industrial and Systems Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Emil Beckford, PhD Student, Counseling, School and Educational Psychology, Graduate School of Education
  • Beth Del Genio, Chief of Staff to the President and Vice President for Government and Community Relations
  • Christina Hernandez, Senior Associate Vice President, Student Life
  • Cecilia Martinez LeonAssociate Professor of Teaching, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Lee Melvin, Vice Provost for Enrollment Management
  • Raechele Pope, Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and Student Affairs, Chief Diversity Officer, and Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy, Graduate School of Education

UB is poised to recruit an outstanding group of candidates for this important leadership role. We have secured the services of WittKieffer to support this search. The principals from the firm working on this search are Shelley Arakawa and Charlene Aguilar, who both have extensive experience in recruiting higher education equity, inclusion and diversity leaders, including at numerous AAU universities.

We expect campus visits by finalists early in the fall semester. Throughout the coming months, Dean Schulze will update the university community regarding the committee’s progress. Information will also be available on the search website.


Satish K. Tripathi  

A. Scott Weber
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs