Search Committee: Dean of School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Published December 1, 2020

Dear UB Community:

We are pleased to report that the search for the next dean of the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences is now underway. Dr. Joseph J. Zambon, dean of the School of Dental Medicine, has accepted our invitation to serve as chair of the search committee. Under the leadership of Dean Zambon, and with the support of the search committee, we have every confidence that our search for the next dean of the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences will be a great success.

The search committee includes faculty from the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, as well as other UB and community members with relevant professional interests and expertise. We are grateful to the members of this committee for their willingness to assist UB in recruiting an outstanding individual for this important leadership position. In addition to Dean Zambon, the search committee includes:

  • Edward M. Bednarczyk, Clinical Associate Professor, Pharmacy Practice
  • Javier G. Blanco, Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • R. Lorraine Collins, Professor, Community Health and Health Behavior and Associate Dean for Research, School of Public Health and Health Professions
  • Carol Gloff, Boldly Buffalo Campaign Chair, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and Principal and Owner, Carol Gloff & Associates
  • William J. Jusko, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Marilyn E. Morris, SUNY Distinguished Professor and Chair, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Janet R. Morrow, UB Distinguished Professor, Larkin Professor, Chemistry
  • Pablo M. Paez, Associate Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • William A. Prescott, Clinical Professor and Chair, Pharmacy Practice
  • Kathleen M. Tornatore, Professor, Pharmacy Practice
  • Leigh T. Yates, Assistant Dean and Senior Director of Development, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Zakiya Rhodie, Doctor of Pharmacy/Master in Public Health Student

We have secured the services of Russell Reynolds Associates to assist the university in recruiting the best possible candidate. Dr. Jett Pihakis will be the principal from the firm working on this search. Dr. Pihakis has experience in recruiting leaders to UB at the cabinet, decanal and department chair levels.

The search committee will begin their work this December and we expect the search to conclude in the spring semester. Throughout the coming months, Dean Zambon will update the university community regarding the committee’s progress. Information will also be available on the search website –



A. Scott Weber
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Michael E. Cain, M.D.
Vice President for Health Sciences and Dean of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences