Search Committee: Dean of School of Nursing

Published January 28, 2022

Updated March 9, 2022

Dear UB Community:

We are pleased to share that UB has launched the search for the next dean of the School of Nursing. Dr. Jean Wactawski-Wende, dean of the School of Public Health and Health Professions, will serve as chair of the search committee. Under the leadership of Dean Wactawski-Wende, and with the support of the search committee, we are confident that our search for the next dean of the School of Nursing will be a great success.

The search committee includes faculty from the School of Nursing, as well as other UB and community members whose interests and expertise are relevant to the field of nursing. We are grateful to the members of this committee for their service and assistance in recruiting an exceptional individual for this important leadership position. In addition to Dean Wactawski-Wende, the search committee includes:

  • Eric C. Alcott, Associate Vice President for Advancement, Health Sciences
  • Cristina de Rosa, PhD Student, School of Nursing
  • Grace Dean, Professor, School of Nursing
  • Carolyn Farrell, President and Founder, Professional Genetic Interactions; Member, UB Alumni Association Board of Directors
  • Joseph E. Gambacorta, Clinical Associate Professor, Restorative Dentistry and Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, School of Dental Medicine
  • Susan Grinslade, Clinical Professor, School of Nursing
  • Amy Hequembourg, Associate Professor and Assistant Dean for Diversity & Inclusion, School of Nursing
  • Steven E. Lipshultz, A. Conger Goodyear Professor and Chair, Pediatrics, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • Gary E. Mahon, Associate Dean for Administrative Services, School of Nursing
  • Ophelia Morey, Coordinator of Community Outreach Services, Health Sciences Library
  • Patricia J. Ohtake, Assistant Vice President for Interprofessional Education; Associate Professor, Rehabilitation Science, School of Public Health and Health Professions
  • Pamela Paplham, Clinical Professor and Assistant Dean for MS/DNP Programs, School of Nursing
  • Loralee Sessanna, Clinical Professor and Interim Division Chair of Family, Community & Health Systems Sciences, School of Nursing

We have secured the services of Russell Reynolds Associates to assist UB in recruiting the best possible candidate. Joi Hayes-Scott will be the principal from the firm working on this search. Ms. Hayes-Scott specializes in leadership searches at higher education institutions, including recently supporting searches for the dean of the School of Social Work and the dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at UB.

The committee will begin their work this month and conclude by the end of the spring semester. Throughout the coming months, Dean Wactawski-Wende will update the university community regarding the committee’s progress. Information will also be available on the search website.



A. Scott Weber
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Allison Brashear, MD
Vice President for Health Sciences; Dean of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences; and Chair, Health and Safety Committee