Search Committee: Dean of School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Published October 31, 2019

Updated November 7, 2019

Dear UB Community:

We are pleased to report that the search for the next dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences is now underway. Dr. Jean Wactawski-Wende, dean of the School of Public Health and Health Professions, has accepted our invitation to serve as chair of the search committee. Under the leadership of Dean Wactawski-Wende, and with the support of the search committee, we have every confidence that our search for the next dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences will be a great success.

The search committee includes faculty from the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, as well as other UB and community members with relevant professional interests and expertise. We are grateful to the members of this committee for their willingness to assist UB in recruiting an outstanding individual for this important leadership position. In addition to Dean Wactawski-Wende, the search committee includes:

  • Diana S. Aga, Henry M. Woodburn Chair and Professor, Chemistry
  • Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen, Professor, Geography
  • Gary Dargush, Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Margarita L. Dubocovich, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology and Senior Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • Venu Govindaraju, Vice President for Research and Economic Development and SUNY Distinguished Professor, Computer Science and Engineering
  • Rodney M. Grabowski, Vice President for University Advancement
  • David A. Kofke, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Kimberly Kriz, Executive Officer, Electrical Engineering
  • Victor Paquet, Professor and Chair, Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Sanjukta Das Smith, Associate Professor and Chair, Management Science and Systems
  • Steven E. Still, Member, Dean’s Advisory Council and Professor of Practice, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and Former Managing Director, Seabury Airline Planning Group
  • Starla A. Taylor, Graduate Student, Materials Design and Innovation
  • Andrew S. Whittaker, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering
  • Leslie Ying, Clifford C. Furnas Professor, Biomedical Engineering and Electrical Engineering
  • Joseph J. Zambon, Dean, School of Dental Medicine

We have secured the services of Russell Reynolds Associates to assist the search committee. The principals from the firm who will work on this search are Dr. Jett Pihakis and Joi Hayes-Scott. Dr. Pihakis has experience in recruiting leaders to UB at the cabinet, decanal and department chair levels.

The search committee will begin their work this November and we expect the search to conclude in the spring semester. Throughout the coming months, Dean Wactawski-Wende will update the university community regarding the committee’s progress. Information will also be available on the search website [page no longer available].



Satish K. Tripathi                                                                                       President


A. Scott Weber                                                                                      Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs