Dean, School of Dental Medicine

Published March 10, 2023

Dear University Community:                                                                         

We are very pleased to announce the appointment of Marcelo W. B. Araujo, DDS, PhD as dean of UB’s School of Dental Medicine.  Dr. Araujo will begin his role as dean on May 15, 2023. 

Dr. Araujo’s appointment results from an extensive international search that yielded a pool of highly qualified candidates. Dr. Araujo, who currently serves as chief science officer of the American Dental Association (ADA) and chief executive officer of the ADA Science & Research Institute (ADASRI), brings to this role impressive leadership experience, an extensive network in scientific and clinical dental research, a deep understanding of the challenges and opportunities in the field of dental medicine, and a strong vision for expanding the impact of the school.

Dr. Araujo joined the ADA in 2015 as vice president of the ADA Science Institute and was named chief science officer and chief executive officer of the ADASRI in late 2019. Through these roles, Dr. Araujo has been at the forefront of emerging scientific issues affecting oral health, dental practice, patient care, and health programs nationally and globally. He has provided strategic leadership for the ADA’s research enterprise, developing collaborative opportunities for the ADA’s key scientific initiatives, increasing grant funding, and enhancing the ADASRI’s impact. Prior to the ADA, Dr. Araujo served in senior research and development positions at Johnson & Johnson Consumer Health Products and Pfizer Consumer Healthcare. Prior to joining the pharmaceutical industry, Dr. Araujo held academic positions in the US and in Brazil, and he practiced dentistry in Rio de Janeiro.

An active clinical researcher whose current work on developing guidelines for antibiotic prescriptions for dentists and periodontists is supported by the National Institutes of Health, Dr. Araujo has published extensively on impactful issues in dental medicine. Dr. Araujo is a member and upcoming chair of the American Association for Dental Oral and Craniofacial Research’s ethics in dental research committee, and he serves on the medical advisory board for the HPV Alliance. In recognition of the strength and impact of his work, he received the International Association for Dental Research and American Association for Dental Research William J. Gies Award for clinical research, the International Distinguished Alumnus Award from the UB Alumni Association, and he is an honorary member of the American Academy of Periodontology.

Dr. Araujo earned his PhD in Epidemiology and Community Health and master’s degree in Oral Sciences from UB, where he also completed a fellowship in periodontology research and teaching. He received his DDS and a certificate in periodontology from Universidade Gama Filho in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to Dean Gary Pollack and all of the members of the search committee for their outstanding service, which was vital to the successful outcome of this search. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank interim dean Stefan Ruhl for his leadership and stewardship of the School of Dental Medicine during the transitional period.

Please join us in welcoming Dr. Araujo to this important leadership role at UB and within our campus community. For more details on this appointment, please view the full announcement here.



A. Scott Weber
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Allison Brashear, MD
Vice President for Health Sciences; Dean of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences; and Chair, Health and Safety Committee