Dean, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Published July 2, 2013 This content is archived.

Dear University Community:

It is our great pleasure to announce the appointment of Dr. James O’Donnell, professor and vice chair for research in behavioral medicine at West Virginia University, as the next dean of the University at Buffalo’s School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.  His appointment will take effect by November 1.

Following an extensive international search, Dr. O’Donnell emerged as the leading candidate from a large and highly competitive pool.  As dean, he will lead our School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences—already ranked among the nation’s top 20 pharmacy schools—to even greater heights of excellence in research and education.  Founded in 1886, the school has a national and global reputation for pioneering pharmaceutical research in such areas as biopharmaceutics, pharmacokinetics, and pharmacodynamics.  The only pharmacy school in the SUNY system, it is renowned for preparing graduates for innovative leadership in shaping the future of healthcare, health policy, pharmacy practice, and pharmaceutical research.

A widely recognized scholar in the field of molecular psychopharmacology, Dr. O’Donnell also serves as associate vice president for research in West Virginia’s Health Sciences Center.  A fellow in the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology, he is a member of the America Association for the Advancement of Science, the Society of Neuroscience, the Behavioral Pharmacology Society, and the European Behavioral Pharmacology Society.

We extend our sincere thanks to Dean Michael Glick and all of the members of the search committee for the outstanding service, perspective, and expertise they contributed to ensure the successful outcome of this search.   For more details on this appointment, please view the full announcement here.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. O’Donnell on his appointment as dean and in welcoming him to this significant leadership role within our campus community.

Best regards,


Charles F. Zukoski
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Michael E. Cain

Vice President for Health Sciences and Dean of the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences