Search Committee: Dean of School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Published January 23, 2013 This content is archived.

Dear University Community,

We are pleased to report that the search for the next dean of the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (SPPS) is now underway. Michael Glick, dean of the School of Dental Medicine, will provide leadership to the process as chair of the search committee.

As you know, Dr. Wayne K. Anderson has decided to step down after 18 years of distinguished service as dean at the end of this academic year. During his tenure, Dean Anderson has significantly strengthened the academic reputation and rankings of the school, and we expect that this search will attract an exceptionally qualified and very competitive candidate pool.

The search committee is comprised of faculty members and a student from School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, as well as faculty from other UB schools that collaborate with SPPS and a representative from Roswell Park Cancer Institute. We are grateful to the members of the search committee for their willingness to assist UB in recruiting an outstanding individual for this important university leadership position. Members of the search committee include:

  • Edward Bednarczyk, Clinical Associate Professor and Chair, Pharmacy Practice
  • Alice Ceacareanu, Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice
  • Lorraine Collins, Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior, and Associate Dean for Research, School of Public Health and Health Professions
  • Katharina Dittmar de la Cruz, Associate Professor of Biological Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Liesl Folks, Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Pamela Hershberger, Professor of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Roswell Park Cancer Institute
  • Joseph L. Izzo, Jr., Professor of Medicine and Chief, Division of Clinical Pharmacology
  • William Jusko, SUNY Distinguished Professor and Chair, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Donald Mager, Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Davina Porock, Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Scholarship, School of Nursing
  • Nisha Vijay, PhD Student, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Chair, American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists UB Student Chapter

Under the leadership of Dean Glick, and with the support of the search committee, we have every confidence that our search for the next dean of the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences will be a great success. We have secured the services of Russell Reynolds Associates to assist the search committee. The principals from the firm who will work on this search are Dr. Ilene Nagel and Ms. Mirah Horowitz. Dr. Nagel’s relationship with UB dates back almost ten years, assisting the university in senior leadership searches at the cabinet and decanal levels. As head of the higher education practice for Russell Reynolds, Dr. Nagel offers extensive experience identifying and recruiting senior academic and administrative leaders to UB and many other AAU universities. Ms. Horowitz, who is an associate in the firm’s corporate officers and not-for-profit sectors, was an integral part of the team that worked with UB on its provost search last year.

The search committee and search firm begin their work this month, continuing throughout the spring semester. We expect to have the new dean in place by the beginning of the next academic year. Throughout the coming months, Dean Glick will communicate to the university regarding the committee’s progress in fulfilling its charge.



Charles F. Zukoski
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Michael E. Cain

Vice President for Health Sciences and Dean of the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences