Search Committee: Dean of the School of Law

Published September 12, 2016 This content is archived.

Dear UB Community:

I am pleased to report that the search for the next dean of the School of Law is now underway. Dr. Paul Tesluk, dean of the School of Management, has agreed to serve as chair of the search committee. Under Dean Tesluk’s leadership and with the support of the search committee, I have every confidence that the search for the next dean of the School of Law will be a great success.

The search committee includes faculty and a student from the School of Law, as well as other faculty, staff and community members with relevant professional interests and expertise. I am grateful to the members of this committee for their willingness to assist UB in recruiting an outstanding individual for this important leadership position. In addition to Dean Tesluk, the search committee includes:

  • Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen, Professor and Chair, Geography, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Rajan BattaSUNY Distinguished Professor, Industrial and Systems Engineering and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Lauren Breen, Clinical Professor and Director of the New York City Program in International Finance and Law, School of Law
  • S. Todd Brown, Professor and Vice Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Law
  • Anne Curtis, SUNY Distinguished Professor and Charles and Mary Bauer Professor and Chair, Medicine, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • Douglas Dimitroff, Partner, Phillips Lytle LLP and Chair, Dean’s Advisory Council, School of Law
  • Wendy Irving, Associate Vice President for Individual and Planned Giving, Philanthropy and Alumni Engagement
  • Meredith Kolsky Lewis, Professor, Vice Dean for International and Graduate Programs, and Director of the Cross-Border Legal Studies Center, School of Law
  • Isabel Marcus, Professor, School of Law
  • Farina Mendelson, JD Student, President, Buffalo Moot Court Board, School of Law
  • James Milles, Professor, School of Law
  • Sean Sullivan, Vice Provost for Academic Planning
  • James Wooten, Professor, School of Law

We have secured the services of Russell Reynolds Associates to assist the search committee. Dr. Ilene Nagel will be the principal from the firm working on this search. Dr. Nagel’s relationship with UB dates back a decade, having assisted the university in senior leadership searches at both the cabinet and decanal levels. As head of the higher education practice for Russell Reynolds, Dr. Nagel offers extensive experience identifying and recruiting senior academic and administrative leaders to UB and many other AAU institutions.

The search committee will begin their work this month and conclude early in the Spring semester. Throughout the coming months, Dean Tesluk will update the university community regarding the committee’s progress. Information will also be available on the search website (no longer available).



Charles F. Zukoski                                                                                        Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs