Some instructors, or groups of instructors, combine multiple sections of a course into one site on Brightspace. By doing so, an instructor only needs to maintain and post content in one course, not multiple courses.
Only content in the parent course will remain after the combination is complete. Content in the child courses will be deleted. Be sure any content from child courses is copied to the parent course or backed up before requesting a course combination.