NBME Organization Elects Milling as Treasurer

By Dirk Hoffman

Published February 21, 2023

David A. Milling MD; Department of Medicine; Associate Professor; Senior Dean for Student and Academic Affairs; Internal Medicine; 2015; University at Buffalo.

David A. Milling, MD

David A. Milling, MD, has been elected treasurer of the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME).


Founded in 1915, the non-profit develops and manages assessments of health care professionals. It collaborates with a number of organizations to create licensing exams and in-training testing. Together with the Federation of State Medical Boards, NBME develops and manages the United States Medical Licensing Examination.

Oversees Development of Medical Education Program

An associate professor of medicine, Milling serves as executive director of the Offices of Medical Education and senior associate dean for medical education at the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo. He previously served as an at-large member of NBME.

“I am honored to serve in this role,” Milling said. “The NBME continues to expand its commitment by leading the development of competency-based assessments. This focus on high-quality assessments refined through an equity lens is critical as the NBME remains committed to protect the health of the public.”

At the Jacobs School, Milling has responsibility for the Offices of Student and Academic Affairs, Medical Curriculum and Medical Admissions. He oversees the development, delivery and success of the medical educational program, including oversight of the school’s clinical competency and simulation centers. 

Milling earned a Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy and a medical degree from UB. He completed his residency in internal medicine at UB, serving as chief resident.

Following residency, he completed a primary care faculty development fellowship at Michigan State University. Milling joined UB’s faculty in 1993 as a clinical instructor and is a two-time recipient of the coveted Louis A. and Ruth Siegel Award for Teaching Excellence (1994 and 2000).

As program director for the Jacobs School’s Science and Technology Entry Program (STEP) and director of the Associated Medical Schools of New York’s Post-Baccalaureate Program, Milling is involved in improving the workforce numbers and the pipeline to medicine for underrepresented students in New York State.

First Woman of Color Elected Chair

The 2023 election marked a historic moment for the NBME as Reena Karani, MD, was elected as the first woman of color to serve as its chair.

Having previously served as treasurer, Karani is director of the Institute for Medical Education and professor of medicine, medical education, and geriatrics and palliative medicine at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

Marie C. Foley, PhD, professor and the dean of the College of Nursing at Seton Hall University and an adjunct professor of pediatrics at the Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine at Seton Hall University, was elected vice chair.

Seven at-large members were also elected to NBME terms — four to their first term and three to their second term.