Twenty-two outstanding high school students win full, four-year Presidential Scholarships to attend UB

Portraits of 22 high school students who have been selected as UB Presidential Scholars.

Release Date: June 4, 2014

BUFFALO, N.Y. – The University at Buffalo has awarded Presidential Scholarships to 22 students, a distinction reserved for the top 1 percent of students in each new freshman class. The scholarship covers full tuition, fees, housing, board and books for four years of undergraduate study.

A complete list of the UB Presidential Scholars, including their hometowns and high schools, is below. Photos, where available, are here.

The Presidential Scholarship is awarded through the University Honors College, a program that provides an innovative curriculum and unique opportunities outside the classroom for academically gifted students.

The University Honors College cultivates a small college setting that offers access to all the resources of a large research university. Recipients are automatically admitted to the college and must maintain good standing within the program to keep their awards.

To be considered for the Presidential Scholarship, students complete a separate application which includes three essays, three letters of recommendation and a resume.  Top applicants are invited to campus for interviews to meet with current students, faculty and staff.

More information on scholarships at UB is available on the Admissions website.

The 2014 UB Presidential Scholars are (unless otherwise indicated, all are from New York):

  • Tyler James Barrett of Batavia, Notre Dame High School
  • Harman Paul Singh Brar of Buffalo, Williamsville East High School
  • Jenna Anne Dombroski of Rochester, Irondequoit High School
  • Michael Fiorica of Niagara Falls, Canisius High School
  • Joshua David Fraass of North Tonawanda, Saint Joseph’s Collegiate Institute
  • Mattie Jan Fredsell of Whitesboro, Westmoreland High School
  • Walker Thomas Gosrich of Plattsburgh, Plattsburgh Senior High School
  • Elizabeth Ann Hart of Webster, Webster Thomas High School
  • Katherine Nicole James of Honeoye Falls, Honeoye Falls-Lima High School
  • John Cormac McCarthy of Painted Post, Corning-Painted Post West High School
  • Elyssa Corinne Mountain of Fairport, Fairport High School
  • Nse Obot of Lockport, Lockport High School
  • Erin Elizabeth O'Brien of East Amherst, Clarence High School
  • Emma Ouweleen of Fredonia, Buffalo Academy of Sacred Heart
  • Mariangela Yvonne Perrella of Schenectady, Niskayuna High School
  • Matthew Mark Poremba of Lancaster, Lancaster Central High School
  • Anna Elisabeth Porter of Manlius, Fayetteville-Manlius High School
  • Benjamin Louis Reifler of Hamden, Conn., Hamden High School
  • Devon Brady Rennoldson of Pittsford, Pittsford Mendon High School
  • Jason Ripple of Selden, Newfield High School
  • Wenxuan Shi of Miami, Fla., Miami Coral Park Senior High School
  • Andrew Frank Stewart of Schenectady, Niskayuna High School

Media Contact Information

Marcene Robinson
News Content Manager
Dental Medicine, Education, Libraries, Pharmacy

Tel: 716-645-4595