University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Official UB news and information for the media

UB’s Department of Learning and Instruction presents annual scholarships

Release Date: February 26, 2013

“We wanted to take time out to recognize some of our excellent students as well as thank those generous people who make these scholarships possible.”
Suzanne Miller, chair of the Department of Learning and Instruction

BUFFALO, N.Y. – The University at Buffalo’s Department of Learning and Instruction presented tens of thousands of dollars in scholarships to some of its most promising students at its annual scholarship luncheon from noon to 2 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 26, in 555 Baldy Hall on the university’s North Campus.

The scholarships are part of the awards presented by UB’s Graduate School of Education alumni, professor emeriti, faculty and friends to provide financial support for students enrolled in GSE programs, and the special luncheon is a way the department can honor some of its outstanding students and celebrate the common goal of becoming better educators.

“We wanted to take time out to recognize some of our excellent students as well as thank those generous people who make these scholarships possible,” said Suzanne Miller, chair of the Department Learning and Instruction.

“We all share one goal: to develop outstanding educators and researchers at all levels. The awards luncheon is a way to re-affirm that goal and reconnect to the school alums and emeritus faculty devoted to making that happen,” added Miller, who gave the welcome at the program.

Nominations for these awards were initiated by faculty members within the department. The scholarships will be presented to students by GSE professors and administrators. The scholarships and winners are:

  • The Paul A. and Margaret E. Bacon Scholarship: Ersoy Erdemir and Sung Ok Park.
  • The Leroy and Margaret H. Callahan Scholarship: Douglas Van Dine for 2011-12, and Erica Demler for 2012-13.
  • The William Eller Scholarship: Rosa D’Abate for 2011-12, and Tyler Rinker and Andrea Tochelli for 2012-13.
  • The Mary Lou and S. David Farr Scholarship: Althea Maduramente and Christopher Shively for 2011-12, and Christopher Shively for 2012-13.
  • The Anita G. and Herbert L. Foster Learning and Instruction Scholarship: David Fronczak and Chad White.
  • The Adele H. Land Memorial Scholarship: Sara Bernal.
  • The Yu Chin Liu Graduate Assistance Research/Shang-Lin Chung Student Award: Katharine Bartelo and Sung Ok Park for 2011-2012, and So Yeon Ahn and Hyonsuk Cho for 2012-13.
  • The Judith T. Melamed Memorial Scholarship: Shan Lin for 2011-12, and Wen Guo for 2012-13.
  • The Next Generation Scholarship: Benny Izquierdo for 2011-12, and Deborah Bertlesman for 2012-13.
  • The Ralph Theuer Scholarship: Kristina Gillmeister for 2012-12, and Bhawna Chowdhary and Erica Smith for 2012-13.

Media Contact Information

Charles Anzalone
News Content Manager
Education, Educational Opportunity Center, Law,
Academies, Honors College, Student Activities

Tel: 716-645-4600