UB Foundation elects trustees, directors

By Charles Anzalone

Release Date: September 20, 2010

BUFFALO, N.Y. -- The University at Buffalo Foundation has elected four new trustees and three new directors, as well as reelecting several current trustees and directors. The State University of New York Board of Trustees confirmed the appointments during its September meeting.

Gary M. Bichler, Wayne S. Blank, '66, Robert E. Denning, '00, and Terrence M. Gilbride, '88, were elected as new trustees, and Jeremy M. Jacobs Jr., Robert G. Morris, '61, and Keith M. Stolzenburg, '87, '81, were re-elected as trustees. All will serve three-year terms from July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2013.

They join UBF trustees elected last year: Gregory M. Bauer, '82; Judith B. Ittig '68, '71, Ross B. Kenzie, Gerard T. Mazurkiewicz, '69, Murray S. Rosenthal, '63, Ronald M. Schreiber, '75, and Eileen S. Silvers, '70, all of whom are serving through June 30, 2012.

The UBF board also has elected three new directors -- Donald K. Boswell, Angelo M. Fatta and Beverly Foit-Albert, '75 -- and reelected directors Sheldon M. Berlow, Ashok G. Kaveeshwar, '69, Jordan A. Levy, '77, James W. McLernon, '50, Arthur A. Russ Jr., '67, and Marjorie E. Winkler, '80, '75. All will serve three-year terms from July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2013.

Gary Bichler has more than 30 years experience in the construction industry and joined R&P Oak Hill Development, LLC, a Buffalo-based company, as owner/partner in 2006. Bichler has served on the board of the Western New York division of the New York Chapter of the March of Dimes, and as treasurer for the Buffalo State College Foundation board of directors.

Wayne S. Blank is president of Bergamot Station, Southern California's largest art gallery complex and cultural center, as well as president of Shoshana Wayne Gallery in Palisades, Calif. He serves on the UB College of Arts and Sciences Dean's Advisory Council.

Greg Bauer is president of Employer Services Corporation, which provides firms with outsourcing solutions in human resources, benefits and insurance, and payroll. He earned a bachelor of science degree in 1982 from the UB School of Management.

Robert Denning is president and chief executive officer of Perry's Ice Cream Company, Inc. A graduate of the UB School of Management Executive MBA Program in 2000, he has served as a board member and treasurer of the UB Foundation.

Terrence Gilbride is a partner with Hodgson Russ LLP, where he leads the firm's Higher Education Capital Project Practice Group. A 1988 graduate of UB Law School, he is a board member of the Law School Alumni Association.

Donald Boswell is president and chief executive officer of the Western New York Public Broadcasting Association and also has served on the UB Foundation board since 2004.

Angelo M. Fatta, PhD, is president of Fatta Enterprises and vice president of the Fatta Foundation Inc. He has served on the UB Foundation board since 2004.

Beverly Foit-Albert is president of Foit-Albert Associates, PC. She earned a master's degree in architecture from the UB School of Architecture and Planning in 1975.

The UB Foundation, Inc., supports and promotes the activities and programs of the university. Foundation board members are selected for their distinguished achievements in professions and for their commitment to the advancement of the university.

The University at Buffalo is a premier research-intensive public university, a flagship institution in the State University of New York system and its largest and most comprehensive campus. UB's more than 28,000 students pursue their academic interests through more than 300 undergraduate, graduate and professional degree programs. Founded in 1846, the University at Buffalo is a member of the Association of American Universities.