Graduate School of Education Alumni Association Elects Officers

By Mary Cochrane

Release Date: April 13, 2005

BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Christopher G. Barrick, Ph.D. '99, of Amherst, has been elected president of the alumni association of the University at Buffalo's Graduate School of Education.

Also elected for 2005-07 are: vice president, Warren S. Marcus, Ph.D. '02, of Williamsville; secretary, Celia Spacone, Ph.D. '85, of Amherst, and treasurer, Patrick J. Zengierski, Ph.D. '01, of North Tonawanda.

Barrick, who earned a doctorate in counseling psychology, works as project staff associate for the UB Research Institute on Addiction.

Marcus, a community outreach educator for the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory managed by the California Institute of Technology, earned a doctorate in social foundations.

Director of operations for the Buffalo Psychiatric Center, Spacone received a doctorate in counseling psychology, while Zengierski, director of campus ministry for the Diocese of Buffalo, earned a doctorate in higher education.

Other members of the Graduate School of Education Alumni Association's board of directors are Mary Ann Campo, Ed.D. '81, of Amherst; Dave Crissey, Ph.D. '72, of North Tonawanda; Leon Henderson, Sr., Ed.D. '88, of Williamsville; Karen Karmazin, Ed.D. '96, of East Amherst; Bunny Neenos, Ed.B. '72, of Williamsville; JoAnn Smith, Ph.D. '87, of East Amherst; Letitia Thomas, Ed.M. '93, of Amherst, and Simpson Turley, Jr., Ed.M. '81, of Buffalo.