NeMLA Creative Writing Awards

On this page:

Creative Writing Award

The award will be given for a presentation given at the previous Convention on a Creative Session. Please email submissions to with “NeMLA Creative Award Submission” as the subject line. The deadline is December 15.

Book Award

Our Annual Book Award includes an award for the best unpublished book of fiction in English. Manuscripts cannot be under review at a press. The deadline is October 15.

Previous Winners

Creative Writing Award

  • 2022: Lena Retamoso Urbano, Bennington College, "y el cuerpo se eleva"
  • 2022 Honorable Mention: Moisés Park, Baylor University, "Gain in Translation"

Annual Book Award in Fiction

  • 2023: Catey Christiansen, North Carolina State University, Dead Name Anthology
  • 2023 Honorable Mention: Annika Nerf, SUNY University at Albany, Ships in the Night
  • 2022: Patrick Thomas Henry, University of North Dakota, Practice for Becoming a Ghost: Stories
  • 2022 Runner-Up: Allison Brooks, Kent State University, Great Grandma’s Grimoire