NeMLA-UB Special Collections Fellowship

The University at Buffalo Libraries and the Northeast Modern Language Association support a joint short-term visiting fellowship for research at the University at Buffalo Poetry Collection, or the University at Buffalo Rare and Special Books Collection.

On this page:

About UB Special Collections


Founded in 1937 by Charles Abbott, the Poetry Collection now holds one of the world’s largest collections of poetry first editions and other titles, little literary magazines, broadsides and anthologies, and more than 150 archives and manuscript collections from a wide range of poets, presses, magazines, and organizations. The Poetry Collection holds the archives of the Jargon Society as well as large manuscript collections by authors like James Joyce, William Carlos Williams, Dylan Thomas, Wyndham Lewis, Robert Duncan, Theodore Enslin, Helen Adam, Robert Kelley, and many more.  

Founded on the Collection of Thomas B. Lockwood, the Rare and Special Books Collection features literary first editions and finely printed books from 1600 to the present. 

Detailed descriptions of the University at Buffalo holdings in the Poetry Collection and the Rare and Special Book Collection can be found here.

Application Information

Fellows will receive a stipend of up to $1,200 for a one-month visiting term.

Please submit in a single PDF file:

  • Cover letter
  • Brief two- to three-page, single-spaced research proposal that identifies collections and materials to be used and includes length and approximate timing of proposed visit
  • Current two- to three-page CV that indicates in detail previous and upcoming research support (grants, fellowships, leaves, etc.)
  • Budget for use of fellowship funds
  • Letter of support from department chair (this can be sent separately)

Email submissions to by the award deadline of April 15.


  • Degree candidates are not eligible.
  • NeMLA membership is required of applicants.
  • NeMLA Fellows are selected on the basis of the applicant’s scholarly qualifications, the scholarly significance or importance of the project, and the appropriateness of the proposed study to the UB Library’s collections.

Past Winners

  • 2023: Orchid Tierney, Kenyon College
  • 2022: Luke Jarzyna, University of Rochester
  • 2019: Taraneh Matloob Haghanikar, University of Northern Iowa
  • 2018: Elisabeth Joyce, Edinboro University