Board of Directors

NeMLA is governed by a Board of Directors elected by NeMLA members. The Board is responsible for enforcing NeMLA’s bylaws, for attending the bi-annual board meetings, and for making the board meeting minutes available to the whole membership. 

Elections for board positions are held yearly.

Executive Board

President 2017-2021

Carole Salmon.

Carole Salmon
<Carole_Salmon@uml.edu>
French Studies and Cultures,
University of Massachusetts Lowell

First Vice President 2018-2022

Brandi So.

Brandi So
<brandi.so@stonybrook.edu>
English, SUNY Stony Brook

 

 

 

Second Vice President 2019-2023

Bernadette Wegenstein.

Photographer: Will Kirk

Bernadette Wegenstein
<berna@jhu.edu>
Media Studies, Johns Hopkins University

Past President 2016-2020

Simona Wright.

Simona Wright
<simona@tcnj.edu>
Italian, College of New Jersey

Officers

Executive Director 2017-2020

Carine Mardorossian.

Carine Mardorossian
<cmardoro@buffalo.edu>
English, University at Buffalo

Board of Directors

Anglophone/American Studies Director 2018-2021

Benjamin Railton
<brailton@fitchburgstate.edu>
English, Fitchburg State University

Anglophone/British Literature Director 2017-2020

Elaine Savory
<savorye@newschool.edu>
Literary Studies, The New School

CAITY Caucus President and Representative 2019-2020

Francisco Delgado
<fdelgado@bmcc.cuny.edu>
English, Borough of Manhattan Community College, CUNY

Comparative Literature Director 2018-2021

Katherine Sugg
<suggkae@ccsu.edu>
English, Central Connecticut State University

Creative Writing, Publishing, and Editing Director 2019-2022

Abby Bardi
<abbybardi@gmail.com>
English, Prince George's Community College

Cultural Studies and Media Studies Director 2018-2021

Maria Matz
<Maria_Matz@uml.edu>
World Languages and Cultures, University of Massachusetts Lowell

French and Francophone Language and Literature Director 2019-2022

Olivier Le Blond 
<olivier.leblond@ung.edu>
Modern and Classical Languages, University of North Georgia

German Studies Director 2017-2020

Alexander Pichugin
<pichugin@rutgers.edu>
German Language and Literature Program, Rutgers, State University of New Jersey

Graduate Student Caucus Representative 2017-2020

Nicole Lowman
<nllowman@buffalo.edu>
English, University at Buffalo

Italian Language and Literature Director 2017-2020

Emanuela Pecchioli
<epecchio@buffalo.edu>
Romance Languages and Literatures, University at Buffalo

Member-At-Large: Diversity 2017-2020

Susmita Roye
<sroye@desu.edu>
English and Foreign Languages, Delaware State University

Pedagogy and Professionalism Director 2018-2021

Maria Plochocki
<bastet801@att.net>
English, City University of New York

Spanish and Portuguese Language and Literature Director 2019-2022

Victoria L. Ketz 
<ketz@lasalle.edu>
Global Languages, Literatures, and Perspectives, La Salle University

Women’s and Gender Studies Caucus Representative 2018-2021

Michelle M. Tokarczyk
<mmtokarczyk@gmail.com>
English Program, Goucher College

Editor of Modern Language Studies

Laurence Roth
<roth@susqu.edu>
English, Susquehanna University