SPHHP 2021 Student Awards Honor Accomplished Scholars

By Julia Alonzo '22

Published June 22, 2021

The School of Public Health and Health Professions recently held its Sixth Annual Student Awards Reception. The reception celebrates and recognizes the admirable accomplishments of hardworking students across all five departments.

“These students have shown astonishing success in their education along with improving the health of others,” said Dean Jean Wactawski-Wende, PhD. The continuous support and dedication of donors who have contributed to award funds have allowed The School of Public Health and Health Professions to provide the scholarships and awards to recipients. The full list of award recipients follows:

Delta Omega, Honorary Society for Public Health

Gamma Lambda chapter inductees

Membership reflects the dedication of an individual to quality in the field of public health and to the protection and advancement of the health of all people.

Lorin Miller, Nan Nan, Jingtao Zhu

Community Health and Health Behavior
Steven Gabriel, Alexa Schenk, Alyssa Tzetzo

Epidemiology and Environmental Health
Zhongzheng Nui, Alora Rumfola, Mikayla Thompson

Public Health
Mya Agard, Nicholas Blatto, Lindsay Chmieleski, Ashley Jelfo, Erin Kenney, Naomi Lazurus, Minyoung Lee

Dean's Office Awards

J. Warren Perry Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to graduate students or upperclassmen pursuing an SPHHP degree who show potential for superior scholarship and will be prepared for the future.

Exercise and Nutrition Sciences
Rachel Barich, Hannah Latour, Abby Ottman, Courtney Wheelock

Rehabilitation Science
Amy An, Hayley Chizuk, Katherine Jansen, Mardi Mangus, Kristen Saskowski

Art Goshin Global Health Field Work Awards

This award provides support for students wanting to implement public health initiatives or to conduct research in a resource-poor setting.

Kexin Zhu

Arthur A. Schomburg Fellowship Program

This program offers support to doctorate and master’s students who demonstrate that they would contribute to the diversity of the student body.

Schuyler Lawson, Mehreen Arif

Diversity Award

This award provides support for students from diverse backgrounds.

Andy Canizares

Hamilton Wilson Award

This award is given to a master’s student who is a member of a traditionally underrepresented population.

Jessica Bonds

The UB Presidential Fellowship Program

This award is aimed at enhancing UB’s competitiveness in recruiting outstanding graduate students.

Jon Elliot Havor, Angelica Dayana Tutsis Lozada

Undergraduate Public Health Program Awards

BSPH Outstanding Junior Award

This award assists a junior bachelor of science in public health major who exemplifies the qualities of leadership, service and academic excellence.

Naomi Lazurus

BSPH Outstanding Senior Award

This award assists a senior bachelor of science in public health major who exemplifies the qualities of leadership, service, and academic excellence.

Nicholas Blatto

Department of Biostatistics Awards

Richard N. Schmidt Outstanding PhD Award

This award honors a PhD student who has demonstrated academic excellence in statistical research.

Nan Nan

Sidney Addelman Master’s Award

This award honors a student who demonstrates academic excellence, as reflected by Master’s Comprehensive Exam scores and classroom performance.

Jingtao Zhu

Department of Community Health and Health Behavior Awards

CHHB Outstanding Doctoral Achievement Award

This award is given to a PhD student who shows excellent potential for future research and/or practices contributions to the field of public health.

Amanda Crandall

Francis V. Hanavan Memorial Award

Steven Gabriel

Paul T. Wietig Community Service Award

This award is presented to MPH, MS, or PhD students who exemplify accomplishment and commitment to the profession of public health and service to the community.

Cassandre Dauphin

Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health Awards

The Robert O’Shea Student Travel Award

This award helps support students’ travel to meetings to present their research findings.

Seth Frndak, Zhongzheng Nui, Kexin Zhu

Saxon Graham Research Award

This award provides support for student education.

Seth Frndak

Saxon Graham Dissertation Award

This award is for excellence as a doctoral student in epidemiology and the prevention of disease.

Zeinab Farhat

Department of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences Awards

Annette Rachman Award

This award provides a scholarship for students studying nutrition. 

Rachel Barich, Divya Choudhary, Emily Galbraith, Maggie Hallahan, Lori Hatzinger, Brandy Ireland, Caitlin Knisley, Kelly Lindner, Matthew Metz, Summer Neu, Hanalyn Podgurski, Nicole Presti, John Przybysz, Tyler Re

Carlton R. Meyers Award

This award recognizes an outstanding graduate student.

Morgan Worley

Exercise Science Outstanding Senior Award

This award assists a senior exercise science student who exemplifies the qualities of leadership, service, and academic excellence.

Hannah Latour, Abby Ottman

Glenda R. Reardon Student Assistance Fund

This student assistance fund is given to deserving and hardworking UB dietetic interns.

Lydia Champagne, Brandy Ireland

Cathy Davius Memorial Award

The honoree models Cathy’s desire for academic and professional excellence, and passion for expanding their knowledge of nutrition.

Brooke Roys

Matthew J. Morris Memorial Award

This award is given to a graduate student who possessed academic persistence and determination, as well as a willingness to help others.

Emily Galbraith

Paul DeMartinis Student Support Fund

Future athletic trainers are funded to help complete their education where they will care for athletes in a variety of sports organizations, from grade-school teams to the pros.

Rylee Haffey, Victoria Parr

Department of Rehabilitation Science Awards

Achievement Award

This award recognizes an OT student who has demonstrated consistent dedication and perseverance in the attainment of academic excellence.

Batool Naas

Alfred T. Caffiero Award

This award honors Doctor of Physical Therapy students during their second year of study.

Christine Biegert, Camille Clawson. Michael Mammoser, Alex Tischler

Kathleen M. Shaffer Award

This award is given to fifth-year academic students who have demonstrated high academic achievement and excellent clinical promise.

Jennifer Behlmaier, Richard Engel, Katharine Grosche

Linda Walters Award

This award recognizes a non-traditional OT student who successfully completes the OT program while managing many other roles and responsibilities.

Katharine Grosche

Nancie Greenman Founder’s Award

This award recognizes an OT student who has demonstrated outstanding performance and professional promise.

Vivian Vaisman

Stonegraber Scholarship

This scholarship supports advanced standing students in OT and PT.

Amanda Augesen, Dana Cowley, Faith Hodges, Elizabeth Kalappura, Jessica Lam, Kristen Saskowski, Natalie Stockschlaeder, Angelene Dimaano, Erica Fischer, Tessa James, Navid Siddiqui, Christina Victor

Pi Theta Epsilon (PTE)

This society recognizes and encourages superior scholarship among students in professional entry-level programs.

Christina Berge, Ashley Brocklebank, Emily Brown, Shelby Doyle, Katherine Janson, Emily Kim, Kellie Kostek, Abbigail Kubiak, Erin Lawton, Oscar Martinez, Andrea Rieth, Kathryn Ronn, Kelly Schilfke, Adam Sing, Olivia Torres