SPHHP Faculty Recognized by Professional Organizations

Published April 27, 2021

Several faculty in UB’s School of Public Health and Health Professions recently received recognition of their expertise through appointments to and honors from professional organizations.

Ryan Krzyzanowicz.

Ryan Krzyzanowicz, DAT, LAT, ATC, director of the Athletic Training program, was named to the National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) Public Health Taskforce. NATA is the professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession, representing, engaging and fostering the growth and development of the profession and athletic trainers as unique health care providers. The organization’s Public Health Taskforce is made up of 10 people who hold three-year appointments. Among other goals, the taskforce aims to embed public health concepts and terminology throughout athletic training curricula and establish formal strategic public health partnerships and deepen those that exist.

Katarzyna Kordas.

Katarzyna Kordas, PhD, associate professor of epidemiology and environmental health, was selected to the Research Committee of the Consortium of Universities for Global Health (CUGH), a role she will hold for two years. CUGH is a Washington, DC-based organization of more than 170 academic institutions and other organizations from around the world engaged in addressing global health challenges. CUGH supports academic institutions and partners to improve the wellbeing of people and the planet through education, research, service and advocacy. The Research Committee’s goal is to carve out avenues for expanding collaborative global health research and research training. It is dedicated to sharing, evaluating and advancing strategies that promote global health research.

Ekaterina I. Noyes.

Ekaterina I. Noyes, PhD, MPH, professor and director, Division of Health Services Policy and Practice, was selected to as a member of the New York State Cancer Consortium Steering Committee. The New York State Cancer Consortium is a voluntary network of more than 200 people and organizations that collaborate to address the cancer burden in New York State. Members are from the public and private sectors and have missions aligned with reducing cancer incidence and mortality. The organization’s Steering Committee meets throughout the year to review consortium updates and plan upcoming meetings and events.

Sue Ann Sisto.

Sue Ann Sisto, PhD, chair of the Department of Rehabilitation Science, was selected as the recipient of the 2021 American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine (ACRM) Distinguished Member Award. With more than 3,000 members in some 65 countries, ACRM works to improve the lives of disabled people, collaborating with hospitals, universities, professional and advocacy organizations, and rehabilitation professionals worldwide. Fastest-growing professional association in physical medicine and rehabilitation, The Distinguished Member Award was established in 1988 to honor those who have significantly contributed to the development and functioning of ACRM, demonstrated evidence of leadership skills, organizational abilities, and public service.