The Integrity Blog

The Integrity Blog explores timely issues regarding honesty, responsibility, and fairness in academic settings. Every day institutions of higher education face ethical and moral challenges. This blog both acknowledges the current environment and offers students an opportunity to discuss these dilemmas in an effort to promote integrity here at the University at Buffalo.

Written by Maria Disorbo, Graduate Assistant

Welcome back Bulls! As we all are making our way back onto campus for the start of another great semester, the daunting feeling of another full semester can be looming. The start of semester can always feel overwhelming with learning a new schedule, meeting new professors, forming new study groups, and just getting back into a routine. The Office of Academic Integrity has some events coming up to help guide you in the right direction to a successful semester.

  1. Syllabus Reading Night: Feeling overwhelmed by the 10 to 14 page syllabi you have been getting for every class? Stop by Greiner 116B on Thursday, February 2, 2023 @ 6-8 p.m. for our Syllabus Reading Night. The Student Integrity Ambassadors and Graduate Assistants from the Office of Academic Integrity will be available to work with you one-on-one or in small groups to read through your syllabi. We will help you understand all policies as well as identify key assignments for the semester. Struggling to set a good schedule for yourself for the semester? We can help with that too! We hope to see you there. Find more information and RSVP on UB Linked.
  2. Is it Really Cheating? Misconceptions About Academic Integrity: Many students tend to start the semester without the full understanding of the expectations of academic integrity at UB. It is important to know the rules before it is too late. Stop by The Blake Center on Friday, February 10, 2023 @ 1-3 p.m. for an academic integrity workshop. We will be discussing why academic integrity is important, what can be considered a violation of academic integrity, and free resources on campus available to you to help you avoid these infractions. Come prepared for a lively discussion to help you understand our policy. Find more information on UB Linked.

More events to come including:

  • Interi-TEA: How to Avoid Academic Integrity Violations
  • Time Management Workshop
  • Academic Integrity to Professional Integrity Workshop.

Keep an eye on UBLinked for details as they get closer.

Other academic integrity information:

  1. Interested in becoming a student integrity ambassador? The Office of Academic Integrity has volunteer student integrity ambassadors that help promote academic integrity and educate the student body on the importance of academic integrity. Feel free to stop by one of our tabling events (Friday, March 3, 2023 @ 11 a.m.-2 p.m. in Davis Hall or Thursday, March 9, 2023 @ 11 a.m.-2 p.m. in Knox) or come to our information session (Wednesday, March 15, 2023 @ 2:30-3 p.m. in Baldy 111) for more information on this position. Applications go live Monday, February 27, 2023 @ 8 a.m. and will be due Friday, March 31, 2023.
  2. Academic Integrity Awards: We are asking students to nominate fellow students, faculty or staff for an academic integrity award. Nominate someone you have seen modeling academic integrity, acting with courage while confronting academic dishonesty, or demonstrating commitment to integrity. Nominations are due Wednesday. March 15, 2023.

*For Faculty: Feeling like your class may need a refresher on the academic integrity policy? Feel free to reach out to to schedule a time for representatives from our office to come present to your class.