Certified Quality Auditor (CQA) Preparation

This course prepares individuals for the American Society of Quality (ASQ) Certified Quality Auditor (CQA) exam through a detailed examination of the CQA Body of Knowledge, as well as a tour through the internal audits required for a quality management system based on the ISO 9001 Standard. Participants receive exposure to foundational auditing concepts, and principles and practices of effective internal audits in accordance with ISO 19011. 

TCIE’s business-centric approach prepares participants to not only assist their companies in becoming ISO compliant, but in driving efficiencies, error reduction and increased profitability through proper use and management of the ISO system.

Training features classroom tutorials, practical role-playing, group workshops, and open forum discussions.

Hours: 30

Learning Outcomes

  • Conduct all phases of an internal audit
  • Prepare effective reports

Intended Audience

Individuals interested in pursuing ASQ CQA certification


You should possess the background necessary to qualify for the CQA exam.

Eight years of on-the-job experience in one or more areas of the CQA Body of Knowledge is required. A minimum of three years of this experience must be in a decision-making position (the authority to define, execute or control projects/processes and to be responsible for the outcome), which may or may not include management or supervisory positions.

If you were certified by ASQ as a Quality Engineer, Reliability Engineer, Software Quality Engineer or Quality Manager, experience used to qualify for certification in these fields applies to certification as a Quality Auditor.

If you have completed a degree* from a college, university or technical school with accreditation accepted by ASQ, part of the eight-year experience requirement will be waived as follows (only one of these waivers may be claimed):

  • Diploma from a technical or trade school – one year waived
  • Associate degree – two years waived
  • Bachelor’s degree – four years waived
  • Master’s or doctorate – five years waived

*Degrees/diplomas from educational institutions outside the United States must be equivalent to degrees from U.S. educational institutions.