Inclusive Space Subcommittee

Committee Charge

The President’s Advisory Council on Race was established to help guide the university's progress in realizing the ideals of equity, diversity, inclusion and social justice in its educational, research, and engagement missions. The Advisory Council made several recommendations that related to creating a welcoming and equitable campus environment for all members of the university community.

The subcommittee on inclusive spaces will address the spatial and visual dimensions of the university’s mission to be a more welcoming place for all. Specifically, the subcommittee will

  • Assess how the spatial and visual characteristics of spaces on UB’s campuses foster a sense of belonging or exclusion.
  • Survey spaces at UB that are specifically dedicated to social justice, diversity and inclusion initiatives and programs and assess the shortcomings/strengths of these spaces as well as existing gaps and opportunities for growth.
  • Assess how to create inclusive “canopies” – spaces that promote and support inclusive and anti-racist practices and interactions.
  • Review the current naming of buildings/spaces on campus to assess whether further name changes are necessary.
  • Develop specific recommendations that would have widespread support across the university and could begin to be implemented immediately.
  • Frame recommendations within requirements stemming from applicable curriculum, state, SUNY, accreditation, and similar policies and guidelines.
  • Recommend roles and responsibilities for each recommendation.

Committee Membership

  • Tonga Pham, Co-Chair, Associate Vice President for University Facilities
  • Korydon Smith, Co-Chair, Professor and Chair of Architecture, School of Architecture and Planning
  • Darryl Barnes, Senior Counselor, Educational Opportunity Center
  • Sambandamurthy Ganapathy, Professor and Chair of Physics, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Brian Haggerty, Senior Associate Director of Residential Life, Student Life
  • Kelly Hayes-McAlonie, Director of Campus Planning
  • Damien Keane, Associate Professor and Associate Chair of English, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Theresa McCarthy, Associate Dean for Inclusive Excellence, Associate Professor of Africana and American Studies, College of Arts and Sciences
  • William McDonnell, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Planning & Resource Management
  • Ryan McPherson, Chief Sustainability Officer, Office of Sustainability
  • James Ponzo, Clinical Assistant Professor of Africana and American Studies, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Sujata Rawal, Assistant Dean and Director of Facilities Planning and Management, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Sharon Sanford, Associate Athletic Director for Recreation and Sport Management
  • Brian Swartz, Facilities Planning and Management Officer, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Victoria Udonian, Visiting AssociateProfessor of Art, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Evviva Weinraub Lajoie, Vice Provost for University Libraries
  • Faren Gault Wilson, EEO specialist, Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
  • John Wood, Senior Associate Vice Provost, International Education