Faculty Recruitment, Mentoring & Retention Subcommittee

Committee Charge

The President’s Advisory Council on Race was established to help guide the university's progress in realizing the ideals of equity, diversity, inclusion and social justice in its educational, research, and engagement missions.  A central component of this effort is the urgent need to increase the number of underrepresented minority (URM) faculty at UB, with an institutional goal that meets or exceeds the levels of top AAU peers. The President’s Advisory Council on Race has recommended a number of possible strategies for reaching this ambitious goal including cluster hiring, enhanced support to recruit and retain junior faculty, and additional university services to support diversity. The Council drew particular attention to the need to create a system of accountability in ensuring diversity in the hiring process and to empower decanal units and departments to develop specific action plans for anti-racist research, teaching, hiring, and retention.

The Faculty Recruitment, Mentoring, and Retention Subcommittee will be guided by the recommendations advanced by the President’s Advisory Council on Race and will investigate and make recommendations on the most effective methods for accomplishing these goals. The subcommittee will:

  • Review the hiring processes for faculty to create a system of accountability for ensuring diversity and following best practices for searches, including considering:
    • Requiring anti-bias education and establishing clear expectations for search committees
    • Creating a transparent recruitment process
    • Implementing review points along the search timeline
    • Building institutional hiring networks to advanced URM PhD students and postdoctoral scholars
    • Workable action-based strategies (e.g., cluster hires) for increasing the hiring and retention of URM faculty
  • Review mentoring practices for faculty, assess their efficacy and consider how they can be re-designed to support and promote diversity.
  • Review faculty retention strategies currently in place throughout UB and assess their efficacy.
  • Explore what additional supports and resources are needed to further promote diversity, equity and inclusion within UB’s faculty recruitment, mentoring and retention efforts.
  • Develop specific recommendations that would have widespread support across the university and could begin to be implemented immediately.
  • Frame recommendations within requirements stemming from applicable curriculum, state, SUNY, accreditation, and similar policies and guidelines.
  • Recommend roles and responsibilities for each recommendation.

Committee Membership

  • R. Lorraine Collins, Co-Chair, Associate Dean for Research, Professor of Community Health and Health Behavior, School of Public Health and Health Professions
  • Luis A. Colón, Co-Chair, Associate Dean for Inclusive Excellence, A. Conger Goodyear Professor of Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Craig Abbey, Vice Provost for Institutional Analysis and Planning
  • Robert Adelman, Chair and Professor of Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Tilman Baumstark, Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
  • Sharon Beckford, Associate Professor of Africana and American Studies, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Javier Blanco, Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Carrie Bramen, Professor of English, College of Arts and Sciences; Director, UB Gender Institute
  • Margarita Dubocovich, Senior Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion; SUNY Distinguished Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • Amy Graves Monroe, Chair and Associate Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Nojin Kwak, Vice Provost for International Education
  • Ellen McGrath, Continuing Resources Cataloger, University Libraries
  • Marilyn Morris, SUNY Distinguished Professor and Chair of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Nadine Shaanta Murshid, Associate Professor, School of Social Work