MAC Academic Leadership Development Program (ALDP) Fellows


In 2017, The University at Buffalo joined with other colleges and universities in the Mid- American Conference (MAC) to participate in the Academic Leadership Program (ALDP). The mission of the MAC ALDP is to identify, develop, prepare and advance faculty as academic leaders in the Mid-American Conference universities.  The program provides an opportunity for University at Buffalo faculty to gain valuable knowledge and experience in academic leadership by working closely with select administrators from other colleges and universities in the MAC.

Key outcomes of the program include:

  • Articulate the complexity of the structure and operations within an institution and  across institutions;
  • Describe the impact of the external influences on the role of leaders in a higher institution.  This should include, but is not limited to, federal/state regulations and mandates, accreditation, and community influence;
  • Identify best practices in academic leadership;
  • Assess one’s own leadership potential, including strengths and weaknesses, and identify leadership pathways; and
  • Communicate the importance of inclusive excellence.

ALDP Fellows

Up to four (4) outstanding individuals are selected each year to serve as University at Buffalo ALDP Fellows under the mentorship of the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs.  The program has two components: (i) a university-level development program led by the Vice Provost for the selected University at Buffalo fellows, and (ii) participation in a series of monthly digital workshops held throughout the year.   These workshops address topics such as conflict resolution, budgeting, accreditation and accountability.  

2020-2021 MAC ALDP Faculty Fellows

James Maynard, PhD

Curator, The Poetry Collection

University Libraries

Ekaterina (Katia Noyes, PhD, MPH

Professor and Director

Division of Health Services Policy and Practice

Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health

School of Public Health and Health Professions

Elizabeth M. Stellrecht

Interim Head, Health Sciences Library Services

Department Liaison, Dental Medicine

Professor and Chair

Department of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences

School of Public Health and Health Professions

Albert H. Titus, PhD

Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering

Department of Biomedical Engineering

Jacobs School of Medicine & Biomedical Sciences

Professor and Chair

Department of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences

School of Public Health and Health Professions



Carrie Tirado Bramen, Professor of English, Director, UB Gender Institute

Dr. Peter F. Biehl, Professor/Associate Dean for International Ed. & Enrollment, Depoartment of Anthorpology

Christine T. Kroll, PhD, Assistant Vice Provost, Director, Center for Educational Innovation

Note: Class of 2017-18 and 2018-19 was limited to three fellows from each MAC institution. In 2019-20 MAC increased the number of fellows from each institution to four per MAC institution



Francine Battaglia, Ph.D.,  Professor, Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering and Director, Computational Research for Energy Systems and Transport (CREST) Laboratory, School of Engineering

Anne Burnidge, Associate Professor, Department of Theater and Dance, Department Chair, Founding Director of MFA Dance Program

David Hostler, Ph.D., FACSM, CSCS, Professor and Chair, Department of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences, School of Public Health and Health Professions

William A. Prescott, Jr.,  Dept. Chair, Clinical Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice, School of Pharmacy


Check back soon for more information about the workshop schedule