New Honors for SPHHP Faculty

Published November 17, 2021

Amy Millen.

Amy Millen, PhD, associate professor of epidemiology and environmental health, has been appointed to the PhD Council of the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH). ASPPH councils are professional networks for senior faculty and staff with primary administrative responsibilities for a degree-specific program. Millen is the director of graduate studies for her department’s master of science and doctoral programs. The PhD Council specifically is a professional network for ASPPH members who have administrative responsibility for PhD degree programs. It convenes on issues relevant to PhD degrees to enhance the quality of PhD programs, information sharing and networking.

Patricia Ohtake.

Patricia Ohtake, PhD, PT, associate professor of rehabilitation science, received the 2021 American Council of Academic Physical Therapy (ACAPT) Innovation Award. This prestigious national award honors a physical therapist who has shown innovation in the delivery of educational content that has made a significant impact on learning opportunities for students. Ohtake’s honor recognized her “well-rounded way of thinking outside the box when developing course resources and learning activities for students” throughout her career. She accepted the award during ACAPT’s Educational Leadership Conference in October.

Ryan Krzyzanowicz.

Ryan Krzyzanowicz DAT, LAT, ATC, program director for Athletic Training, was selected as a recipient of the 2021 President’s Award from the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE). Krzyzanowicz was selected along with his fellow members of CAATE’s inaugural Peer Review Committee. The award recognizes and honors someone who demonstrates exemplary service and leadership to CAATE and the athletic training profession nationally and internationally. As a new group constituted in May 2020, the Peer Review Committee recruits develop and support the peer-review volunteer corps of the commission to perform programmatic reviews for quality assurance and quality improvement purposes, which the committee took on in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic.