CRIA Faculty

CRIA faculty come from numerous schools and departments throughout UB. They are united in their interest in seeking answers to address the many causes, consequences, effects and prevention methods for addiction. 

Faculty by School

Graduate School of Education

School of Nursing

School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

School of Public Health and Health Professions

School of Social Work

Faculty by Last Name

 Sarah Abdelsayed, MD.

Sarah Abdelsayed, MD

Clinical Instructor

Jacobs School of Medicine & Biomedical Sciences

462 Grider Street

Phone: (716) 831-8612

Email: sabdelsa@buffalo.edu

Laura Anderson, PhD.

Laura Anderson, PhD

Assistant Professor

School of Nursing

205 Wende Hall

Phone: (716) 829-3461

Email: lauraand@buffalo.edu

Christopher Barrick, PhD.

Christopher Barrick, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Department of Family Medicine

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2538

Email: barrick@ria.buffalo.edu

Caroline Bass, PhD.

Caroline Bass, PhD

Assistant Professor

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

955 Main Street

Phone: (716) 829-3790

Email: cebass@buffalo.edu

 Laurene M. Tumiel Berhalter, PhD.

Laurene M. Tumiel Berhalter, PhD

Director of Community Translational Research

Department of Family Medicine

77 Goodell Street, Suite 220N

Phone: (716) 816-7278; Fax: (716) 845-6899

Email: tumiel@buffalo.edu

Arin Bhattacharjee, PhD.

Arin Bhattacharjee, PhD

Associate Professor

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

955 Main St.

Phone: (716) 829-2800

Email: ab68@buffalo.edu

Elizabeth Bowen, PhD.

Elizabeth Bowen, PhD

Assistant Professor

School of Social Work

647 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1258

Email: eabowen@buffalo.edu

Clara Bradizza, PhD.

Clara Bradizza, PhD

Professor

School of Social Work

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2532

Email: bradizza@buffalo.edu

Gale Burstein, MD, MPH, FAAP.

Gale Burstein, MD, MPH, FAAP

Clinical Professor

Department of Pediatrics

95 Franklin Street, Erie County Department of Health

Phone: (716) 858-6976

Email: grb4@buffalo.edu

Yu-Ping Chang PhD, RN, FGSA, FAAN.

Yu-Ping Chang, PhD, RN, FGSA, FAAN

Patricia H. and Richard E. Garman Endowed Professor; Associate Dean for Research & Scholarship; Associate Professor

School of Nursing

101 C Wende Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2015

Email: yc73@buffalo.edu

Elsa C. Daurignac, PhD.

Stewart Clark, PhD

Assistant Professor

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

349 Biomedical Research Building

Phone: (716) 829-3810

Email: stewartc@buffalo.edu

Craig Colder, PhD.

Craig Colder, PhD

Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

Department of Psychology

227 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0190

Email: ccolder@buffalo.edu

R. Lorraine Collins, PhD.

R. Lorraine Collins, PhD

Associate Dean for Research; Professor

Department of Community Health and Health Behavior

327 Kimball Tower

Phone: (716) 829-6040

Email: lcollins@buffalo.edu

Gerard Connors, PhD.

Gerard Connors, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Psychology

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2563

Email: connors@ria.buffalo.edu

Elsa C. Daurignac, PhD.

Elsa C. Daurignac, PhD

Research Assistant Professor

Department of Psychiatry

462 Grider Street, Erie County Medical Center

Phone: (716) 898-4540

Email: ecd3@buffalo.edu

Lauren Derhodge, PhD.

Lauren Derhodge, DO

Clinical Assistant Professor

Department of Psychiatry

1285 Main St.

Phone: (716) 898-1675

Email: laderhod@buffalo.edu

Kurt H. Dermen, PhD.

Kurt H. Dermen, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Department of Psychiatry

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2492

Email: dermen@ria.buffalo.edu

David Dietz, PhD.

David Dietz, PhD

Chair; Associate Professor

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

955 Main Street

Phone: (716) 829-2071

Email: ddietz@buffalo.edu

Rina Das Eiden, PhD.

Rina Das Eiden, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Department of Psychology

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-3350

Email: eiden@ria.buffalo.edu

Peter L. Elkin, MD, MACP, FACMI, FNYAM.

Peter L. Elkin, MD, MACP, FACMI, FNYAM

Professor and Chair

Department of Biomedical Informatics

77 Goodell

Phone: (716) 888-4854

Email: elkinp@buffalo.edu

Jo Freudenheim, PhD.

Jo Freudenheim, PhD

Chair; UB Distinguished Professor; Professor

Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health

270D Farber Hall

Phone: (716) 829-5375

Email: jfreuden@buffalo.edu

Michael R. Frone, PhD.

Michael R. Frone, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Department of Psychology

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2519

Email: frone@ria.buffalo.edu

Gary A. Giovino, PhD.

Gary A. Giovino, PhD

Professor

Department of Community Health and Health Behavior

310 Kimball Tower

Phone: (716) 829-6952

Email: ggiovino@buffalo.edu

Robert Granfield, PhD.

Robert Granfield, PhD

Professor; Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

Department of Sociology

552 Capen Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2996

Email: rgranfie@buffalo.edu

Kimberly Griswold, MD, MPH.

Kimberly Griswold, MD, MPH

Associate Professor

Department of Family Medicine

Primary Care Research Institute, 77 Goodell Street

Phone: (716) 816-7247

Email: griswol@buffalo.edu

Hanna Grol-Prokopczyk, PhD.

Hanna Grol-Prokopczyk, PhD

Assistant Professor

Department of Sociology

467 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-8480

Email: hgrol@buffalo.edu

Samir Haj-Dahmane, PhD.

Samir Haj-Dahmane, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2231

Email: sh38@buffalo.edu

Larry Hawk, PhD.

Larry Hawk, PhD

Professor

Department of Psychology

230 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0192

Email: lhawk@buffalo.edu

Amy Hequembourg, PhD.

Amy Hequembourg, PhD

Associate Professor

School of Nursing

209 Wende Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2608

Email: ahequemb@buffalo.edu

David Herzberg, PhD.

David Herzberg, PhD

Associate Professor

History

565 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-8416

Email: herzberg@buffalo.edu

Gregory G. Homish, PhD.

Gregory G. Homish, PhD

Director, MPH Concentration; Interim Chair; Associate Professor

Department of Community Health and Health Behavior

325 Kimball Tower

Phone: (716) 829-6959

Email: ghomish@buffalo.edu

Tracey A. Ignatowski, PhD.

Tracey A. Ignatowski, PhD

Assistant Professor

Department of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences

955 Main St.

Phone: (716) 829-3102

Email: tai1@buffalo.edu

David M. Jacobs PharmD, PhD.

David M. Jacobs, PharmD, PhD

Assistant Professor

Department of Pharmacy Practice

316 Pharmacy Building Buffalo, NY

Phone: (716) 829-2134

Email: dmjacobs@buffalo.edu

 Linda S. Kahn, PhD.

Linda S. Kahn, PhD

Professor

Primary Care Research Institute, Department of Family Medicine

77 Goodell Street, Suite 220D, Buffalo, NY 14203

Phone: (716) 816-7254; Fax: (716) 845-6899

Email: lskahn@buffalo.edu

Lynn Kozlowski, PhD.

Lynn Kozlowski, PhD

Former Dean; Professor

Department of Community Health and Health Behavior

323 Kimball Tower

Phone: (716) 829-6770

Email: lk22@buffalo.edu

Mark B. Kristal, PhD.

Mark B. Kristal, PhD

Professor Emeritus

Department of Psychology

Park Hall

Phone: (716) 316-5090

Email: kristal@buffalo.edu

Kenneth E. Leonard, PhD.

Kenneth E. Leonard, PhD

CRIA Director; Professor

Department of Psychology

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2566

Email: kleonard@buffalo.edu

Jun-Xu Li, PhD.

Jun-Xu Li, MD, PhD

Associate Professor

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicoloy

955 Main St.

Phone: (716) 829-2482

Email: junxuli@buffalo.edu

Jennifer Livingston, PhD.

Jennifer Livingston, PhD

Associate Professor

School of Nursing

301B Wende Hall

Phone: (716) 829-2486

Email: jal7@buffalo.edu

Joseph F. Lucke, PhD.

Joseph F. Lucke, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Clinical and Research Institute on Addictions

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-6807

Email: jlucke@ria.buffalo.edu

Joshua Lynch, DO, EMT-P, FACEP.

Joshua Lynch, DO, EMT-P, FACEP

Clinical Assistant Professor

Department of Emergency Medicine

Buffalo General Hospital

Phone: (716) 677-2575

Email: jjlynch2@gmail.com

Supriya Mahajan, PhD.

Supriya Mahajan, PhD

Research Associate Professor

Department of Medicine

875 Ellicott St.

Phone: (716) 888-4776

Email: smahajan@buffalo.edu

Paul Meyer, PhD.

Paul Meyer, PhD

Associate Professor

Department of Psychology

B71 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0263

Email: pmeyer@buffalo.edu

Marilyn E. Morris, PhD.

Marilyn E. Morris, PhD

SUNY Distinguished Professor and Chair

Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

352 Kapoor Hall

Phone: (716)829-6569

Email: memorris@buffalo.edu

Amanda B. Nickerson, PhD, NCSP.

Amanda B. Nickerson, PhD, NCSP

Director

Alberti Center for Bullying Abuse Prevention

428 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3448

Email: nickersa@buffalo.edu

Nancy H. Nielsen, MD, PhD.

Nancy H. Nielsen, MD, PhD

Senior Associate Dean for Health Policy

Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

955 Main Street

Phone: (716) 207-6866

Email: nielse@buffalo.edu

Thomas J. Nochajski, PhD.

Thomas J. Nochajski, PhD

Research Professor

School of Social Work

660 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1245

Email: thn@buffalo.edu

Richard J. O'Connor, PhD.

Richard J. O'Connor, PhD

Professor

Department of Health Behavior

Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center

Phone: (716) 845-4517

Email: richard.oconnor@roswellpark.org

Jinwoo Park, PhD.

Jinwoo Park, PhD

Assistant Professor

Department of Biotechnical and Clinical Laboratory Sciences

314 Farber

Phone: (716) 829-5186

Email: jinwoopa@buffalo.edu

Sarahmona Przybyla, PhD, MPH.

Sarahmona Przybyla, PhD, MPH

Assistant Professor

Department of Community Health and Health Behavior

305 Kimball Tower

Phone: (716) 829-6750

Email: mona@buffalo.edu

Brian Quigley, PhD.

Brian Quigley, PhD

Research Assistant Professor

Department of Medicine

Behavioral Medicine Clinic, Erie County Medical Center

Phone: (716) 898-5205

Email: bquigley@buffalo.edu

Richard A. Rabin, PhD.

Richard A. Rabin, PhD

Professor

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

955 Main St.

Phone: (716) 829-3286

Email: rarabin@buffalo.edu

Jennifer Read, PhD.

Jennifer Read, PhD

Professor; Clinical Area Head; Director of Clinical Training

Department of Psychology

231 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0193

Email: jpread@buffalo.edu

Jerry B. Richards, PhD.

Jerry B. Richards, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2211

Email: jrichard@ria.buffalo.edu

Robert G. Rychtarik, PhD.

Robert G. Rychtarik, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Department of Psychiatry

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2591

Email: rychtari@ria.buffalo.edu

Todd Sage, PhD.

Todd Sage, PhD

Clinical Assistant Professor

School of Social Work

623 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1264

Roh-Yu Shen, PhD.

Roh-Yu Shen, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2593

Email: shen@ria.buffalo.edu

Nancy J. Smyth, PhD.

Nancy J. Smyth, PhD

Dean; Professor

School of Social Work

680 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1266

Email: sw-dean@buffalo.edu

Paul Stasiewicz, PhD.

Paul Stasiewicz, PhD

Professor

School of Social Work

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2596

Email: stasiewi@buffalo.edu

Scott H. Stewart MD, MS.

Scott H. Stewart MD, MS

Associate Professor

Department of Medicine

462 Grider Street

Phone: (716) 898-3152

Email: ss243@buffalo.edu

Christopher St. Vil, PhD.

Christopher St. Vil, PhD

Assistant Professor

School of Social Work

625 Baldy Hall

Phone: (716) 645-9091

Email: cstvil@buffalo.edu

Maria Testa, PhD.

Maria Testa, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Department of Psychology

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-2560

Email: testa@ria.buffalo.edu

Panayotis (Peter) K. Thanos, PhD.

Panayotis (Peter) K. Thanos, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

1021 Main Street

Phone: (716) 887-3366

Email: pthanos@ria.buffalo.edu

Stephen T. Tiffany, PhD.

Stephen T. Tiffany, PhD

Empire Innovation Professor

Department of Psychology

342 Park Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0244

Email: stiffany@buffalo.edu

Alexis C. Thompson, PhD.

Alexis C. Thompson, PhD

Senior Research Scientist

Department of Psychology

1021 Main St

Phone: (716) 887-2243

Email: athompso@ria.buffalo.edu

Alison M. Vargovich, PhD.

Alison M. Vargovich, PhD

Clinical Assistant Professor

Department of Medicine

Erie County Medical Center

Phone: (716) 898-5671

Email: alisonva@buffalo.edu

Bonnie M. Vest, PhD.

Bonnie M. Vest, PhD

Research Assistant Professor

Department of Family Medicine

77 Goodell St.

Phone: (716) 816-7287

Email: bvest@buffalo.edu

Weijun Wang, PhD.

Weijun Wang, PhD

Research Scientist

Clinical and Research Institute on Addictions

1021 Main St

Phone: (716) 887-2219

Email: wwang@ria.buffalo.edu

Gregory Wilding, PhD.

Gregory Wilding, PhD

Gregory Wilding, PhD

Biostatistics

705 Kimball Tower

Phone: (7160 829-2594; Fax: (7160 829-2200

Email: gwilding@buffalo.edu