Reaching Others University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Faculty Directory

Chair and Associate Chairs

David B. Hershenov

Professor, Department Chair

Department of Philosophy

136B Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0150

Email: dh25@buffalo.edu

Neil E. Williams

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

Department of Philosophy

136C Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0161

Email: new@buffalo.edu

James M. Lawler

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies

Department of Philosophy

131 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0141

Email: jlawler@buffalo.edu

Alphabetical Listing

James R. Beebe

Associate Professor

Department of Philosophy

106 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0153

Email: jbeebe2@buffalo.edu

Thomas E. Bittner

Associate Professor

Department of Philosophy

109 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0143

Email: bittner3@buffalo.edu

Nicolas Bommarito

Assistant Professor; On Leave 2014-15

Department of Philosophy

135 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-2444

Email: npbommar@buffalo.edu

David Braun

Professor and Patrick & Edna J. Romanell Chair

Department of Philosophy

115 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0162

Email: dbraun2@buffalo.edu

Kah Kyung Cho

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor

Department of Philosophy

125 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0159

Email: kcho@buffalo.edu

Richard A. Cohen

Professor and Director of the Institute of Jewish Thought and Heritage

Department of Philosophy

112A Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-8491

Email: racohen@buffalo.edu

Randall R. Dipert

C.S. Peirce Professor of American Philosophy

Department of Philosophy

105 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0139

Email: rdipert@buffalo.edu

Maureen B. Donnelly

Associate Professor

Department of Philosophy

127 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0143

Email: md63@buffalo.edu

Jorge J. E. Gracia

SUNY Distinguished Professor and Samuel P. Capen Chair (On Sabbatical-Fall 2014)

Department of Philosophy

123 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0158

Email: jgracia@rocketmail.com

John T. Kearns

Professor

Department of Philosophy

119 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-8481

Email: kearns@buffalo.edu

Alexandra King

Assistant Professor

Department of Philosophy

118 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0164

Email: alexk@buffalo.edu

Carolyn Korsmeyer

Professor

Department of Philosophy

110 Park Hall, University at Buffalo Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0144

Email: ckors@buffalo.edu

Ryan Muldoon

New Faculty, Fall 2015

Department of Philosophy

135 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-2444

Email: muldoon@buffalo.edu

Lewis M. Powell

Assistant Professor

Department of Philosophy

113 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0148

Email: lewispow@buffalo.edu

Kenneth Shockley

Associate Professor

Department of Philosophy

111 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0145

Email: kes25@buffalo.edu

Barry Smith

SUNY Distinguished Professor and Julian Park Chair

Department of Philosophy

126 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 650-0075

Email: phismith@buffalo.edu

Jiyuan Yu

Professor and Director of the Confucius Institute

Department of Philosophy

122 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150

Phone: (716) 645-0157

Email: jyyu@buffalo.edu