Reaching Others University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Faculty Directory

Associate Professor of English Rachel Ablow

Rachel Ablow

Associate Professor

Victorian literature and culture, the novel, gender and sexuality studies

431 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0690

Email: rablow@buffalo.edu

Assistant Professor of English David Alff

David Alff

Assistant Professor;

Eighteenth-century British literature

441 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0695

Email: dalff@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Dimitri Anastasopoulos

Dimitri Anastasopoulos

Associate Professor

Fiction writing, avant-garde fiction, postmodern metafiction, contemporary American fiction

429 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0689

Email: danastas@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Barbara Bono

Barbara Bono

Associate Professor

Renaissance, Shakespeare and his cultural surroundings

545 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0713

Email: bbono@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Carrie Tirado Bramen

Carrie Tirado Bramen

Associate Professor; Executive Director of the Humanities Institute; Director of the M.A. Program

American literature, Latino/a literature

537 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0707

Email: bramen@buffalo.edu

Diane Christian

Diane Christian

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor

Blake, the Bible, mythology, documentary film

615 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3626

Email: engdc@buffalo.edu

Professor of English Joseph Conte

Joseph Conte

Professor

Twentieth-century poetry and poetics, postmodern fiction, postmodernism

501 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0696

Email: jconte@buffalo.edu

Professor of English Robert Daly

Robert Daly

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor

American literature, criticism and theory, green theory

511 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0701

Email: rdaly@buffalo.edu

No Picture

Kenneth Dauber

Professor

Nineteenth-century American literature

633 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0717

Email: dauber@buffalo.edu

Professor of English Tim Dean

Tim Dean

Professor; Director of the Center for the Study of Psychoanalysis and Culture

Psychoanalysis, queer theory, poetry

411 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0685

Email: tjdean@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Susan Eilenberg

Susan Eilenberg

Associate Professor

Romanticism, Milton

531 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0704

Email: sre@buffalo.edu

Jerold Frakes

Jerold Frakes

SUNY Distinguished Professor

medieval literature

535 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0706

Email: jcfrakes@buffalo.edu

Assistant Professor of English Judith Goldman

Judith Goldman

Assistant Professor

Contemporary North American and British poetry and poetics

543 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0695

Email: judithgo@buffalo.edu

Walter Hakala

Walter Hakala

Assistant Professor

Urdu and Indo-Persian literature, lexicography, and language history

727 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3419

Email: walterha@buffalo.edu

Graham Hammill

Graham Hammill

Professor; Chair

Early modern British literature, critical theory

320 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2577

Email: ghammill@buffalo.edu

Professor of English James Holstun

James Holstun

Professor

World literature, Marxism, early modern literature

319 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0672

Email: jamesholstun@hotmail.com

Associate Professor of English Stacy Hubbard

Stacy Hubbard

Associate Professor

American literature, modernism, feminism, poetry

507 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0699

Email: sch1@buffalo.edu

Jang Wook Huh

Jang Wook Huh

Visiting Assistant Professor

African American literature

515 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0703

Email: jwhuh@buffalo.edu

Professor of English Bruce Jackson

Bruce Jackson

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor; James Agee Professor of American Culture

Narrative theory and performance, film, folklore, Faulkner, documentary photography

610 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0714

Email: bjackson@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Damien Keane

Damien Keane

Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Placement

Irish writing, modernism, sound

405 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0681

Email: dkeane@buffalo.edu

Myung Mi Kim

Myung Mi Kim

Professor

Twentieth-century American poetry and poetics

505 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0698

Email: mmkim@buffalo.edu

No Picture

Jody Kleinberg Biehl

Clinical Assistant Professor

ethics of journalism, student media, international reporting, science journalism, literary journalism and news literacy.

311 Clemens

Phone: (716) 645-0669

Email: jkbiehl@buffalo.edu

Arabella Lyon

Arabella Lyon

Professor; Interim Director of the Center for Excellence in Writing

Rhetorical theory, comparative rhetoric, human rights representation

323 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0677

Email: alyon@buffao.edu

No Picture

Ming-Qian Ma

Associate Professor

American literature, poetry and poetics

503 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0697

Email: mma3@acsu.buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Ruth Mack

Ruth Mack

Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

Eighteenth-century British literature

403 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0680

Email: ruthmack@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Carine Mardorossian

Carine M. Mardorossian

Associate Professor

Postcolonial studies, Caribbean literature, feminist criticism

541 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0711

Email: cmardoro@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Carla Mazzio

Carla Mazzio

Associate Professor

Late sixteenth and seventeenth-century literature with an emphasis on drama and prose

302B Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3784

Email: cjmazzio@buffalo.edu

Professor of English Steve McCaffery

Steve McCaffery

Professor; David Gray Chair of Poetry and Letters; Director of the Poetics Program

Contemporary poetry, poetics, and critical theory

438 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3810

Email: stevemcc@buffalo.edu

Professor of English Cristanne Miller

Cristanne Miller

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Edward H. Butler Chair in English

Poetry, American literature, American Civil War

439 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0694

Email: ccmiller@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Steven Miller

Steven Miller

Associate Professor

Psychoanalysis, critical theory, drama

415 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0687

Email: slm26@buffalo.edu

Christina Milletti

Christina Milletti

Associate Professor

Fiction writing, twentieth-century novel, experimental fiction, gender studies

533 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0705

Email: milletti@buffalo.edu

Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedi Okorafor

Associate Professor

Creative Writing

409 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0684

Email: nnedioko@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Alex Reid

Alexander Reid

Associate Professor; Director of Composition and Teaching Fellows

Digital media studies, rhetoric and composition, professional writing, game studies

325 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0691

Email: areid@buffalo.edu

No Picture

Roy Roussel

Professor

Media study, film studies

241 Center for the Arts

Phone: (716) 645-0946

Email: roussel@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English Randy Schiff

Randy Schiff

Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Medieval British literature, literary history, nationalism, ecocriticism

427 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0688

Email: rpschiff@buffalo.edu

Associate Professor of English David Schmid

David Schmid

Associate Professor

Twentieth-century British and American fiction, popular culture, cultural studies

401 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0679

Email: schmid@buffalo.edu

No Picture

William Solomon

Associate Professor

Twentieth-century American literature

407 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0682

Email: wsolomon@buffalo.edu

No Picture

Alan Spiegel

Professor

Modern literature, film, popular culture

413 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0686

Email: spiegel@buffalo.edu

Professor of English Andrew Stott

Andrew Stott

Professor; Dean of Undergraduate Education; Director of the University Honors College

Early modern British literature, comedy

435 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0692

Email: amstott@buffalo.edu

Dennis Tedlock

Dennis Tedlock

SUNY Distinguished Professor; James H. McNulty Chair of English

Native American literature, ethnopoetics, hermeneutics

540 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3422

Email: dtedlock@buffalo.edu

Professor of English Joe Valente

Joseph Valente

UB Distinguished Professor; Director of Graduate Admissions

Modernism, Irish studies, literary & cultural theory, autism studies

437 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0693

Email: jvalente@buffalo.edu

Hershini Young

Hershini Young

Associate Professor

Black performance studies, contemporary African diasporic literature, queer studies

509 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0700

Email: hbhana@buffalo.edu