Faculty Directory

Rachel Ablow

Professor, Chair

Victorian literature and culture, the novel, gender and sexuality studies

320 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2577

Email: rablow@buffalo.edu

David Alff

Assistant Professor, Director of Graduate Placement;

Eighteenth-century British literature

441 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0695

Email: dalff@buffalo.edu

Dimitri Anastasopoulos

Associate Professor, Director of Creative Writing

Fiction writing, avant-garde fiction, postmodern metafiction, contemporary American fiction

429 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0689

Email: danastas@buffalo.edu

Barbara Bono

Associate Professor

Renaissance, Shakespeare and his cultural surroundings

545 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0713

Email: bbono@buffalo.edu

Carrie Tirado Bramen

Associate Professor; Director of the Gender Institute

American literature, Latino/a literature

537 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0707

Email: bramen@buffalo.edu

Diane Christian

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor

Blake, the Bible, mythology, documentary film

615 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3626

Email: engdc@buffalo.edu

Joseph Conte

Professor

Twentieth-century poetry and poetics, postmodern fiction, postmodernism

501 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0696

Email: jconte@buffalo.edu

Robert Daly

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor

American literature, criticism and theory, green theory

511 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0701

Email: rdaly@buffalo.edu

Kenneth Dauber

Professor

Nineteenth-century American literature

633 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0717

Email: dauber@buffalo.edu

Susan Eilenberg

Associate Professor

Romanticism, Milton

531 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0704

Email: sre@buffalo.edu

Jerold Frakes

SUNY Distinguished Professor

medieval literature

535 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0706

Email: jcfrakes@buffalo.edu

Judith Goldman

Assistant Professor

Contemporary North American and British poetry and poetics

406 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0695

Email: judithgo@buffalo.edu

Walter Hakala

Associate Professor

Urdu and Indo-Persian literature, lexicography, and language history

315 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3419

Email: walterha@buffalo.edu

Graham Hammill

Professor; Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Dean of the Graduate School

Early modern British literature, critical theory

Nicholas Hoffman

Clinical Assistant Professor

325 Clemens

Phone: (716) 645-2558

Email: ndh4@buffalo.edu

James Holstun

Professor

World literature, Marxism, early modern literature

319 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0672

Email: jamesholstun@hotmail.com

Stacy Hubbard

Associate Professor

American literature, modernism, feminism, poetry

507 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0699

Email: sch1@buffalo.edu

Bruce Jackson

SUNY Distinguished Professor; James Agee Professor of American Culture

Narrative theory and performance, film, folklore, Faulkner, documentary photography

610 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0714

Email: bjackson@buffalo.edu

Damien Keane

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

Irish writing, modernism, sound

405 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0681

Email: dkeane@buffalo.edu

Myung Mi Kim

Professor, James H. McNulty Chair of English

Twentieth-century American poetry and poetics

404 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0698

Email: mmkim@buffalo.edu

Jody Kleinberg Biehl

Clinical Associate Professor

ethics of journalism, student media, international reporting, science journalism, literary journalism and news literacy.

311 Clemens

Phone: (716) 645-0669

Email: jkbiehl@buffalo.edu

Chad Lavin

Associate Professor, Associate Chair

Political Theory

411 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0685

Email: clavin@buffalo.edu

Jeehyun Lim

Assistant Professor

439 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0703

Email: jeehyunl@buffalo.edu

Arabella Lyon

Professor

Rhetorical theory, comparative rhetoric, human rights representation

323 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0677

Email: alyon@buffalo.edu

Ming-Qian Ma

Associate Professor

American literature, poetry and poetics

503 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0697

Email: mma3@acsu.buffalo.edu

Ruth Mack

Associate Professor

Eighteenth-century British literature

403 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0680

Email: ruthmack@buffalo.edu

Carine M. Mardorossian

Professor

Postcolonial studies, Caribbean literature, feminist criticism

541 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0711

Email: cmardoro@buffalo.edu

Jason Maxwell

Clinical Assistant Professor

Carla Mazzio

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Admissions

Late sixteenth and seventeenth-century literature with an emphasis on drama and prose

302B Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3784

Email: cjmazzio@buffalo.edu

Elizabeth Mazzolini

Associate Professor, Director of Composition and Teaching Fellows; Science Studies, Environmental Humanities

515 Clemens

Phone: (716) 645-0691

Email: mazz@buffalo.edu

Steve McCaffery

Professor; David Gray Chair of Poetry and Letters

Contemporary poetry, poetics, and critical theory

432 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-3810

Email: stevemcc@buffalo.edu

Cristanne Miller

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Edward H. Butler Chair in English

Poetry, American literature, American Civil War

402 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0694

Email: ccmiller@buffalo.edu

Steven Miller

Associate Professor, Director of the Center for the Study of Psychoanalysis & Culture

Psychoanalysis, critical theory, drama

415 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0687

Email: slm26@buffalo.edu

Christina Milletti

Associate Professor

Fiction writing, twentieth-century novel, experimental fiction, gender studies

533 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0705

Email: milletti@buffalo.edu

Nnedi Okorafor

Professor

Creative Writing

543 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0684

Email: nnedioko@buffalo.edu

Alexander Reid

Associate Professor;

Digital media studies, rhetoric and composition, professional writing, game studies

325 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0691

Email: areid@buffalo.edu

Randy Schiff

Associate Professor

Medieval British literature, literary history, nationalism, ecocriticism

427 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0688

Email: rpschiff@buffalo.edu

David Schmid

Associate Professor

Twentieth-century British and American fiction, popular culture, cultural studies

401 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0679

Email: schmid@buffalo.edu

Tanya Shilina-Conte

Assistant Professor; Global/transnational cinema, film-philosophy, Deleuze Studies, remix culture, media archaeology, sensory film and media.

409 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0938

Email: tshilina@buffalo.edu

William Solomon

Professor, Director of the MA Program

Twentieth-century American literature

407 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0682

Email: wsolomon@buffalo.edu

Joseph Valente

UB Distinguished Professor

Modernism, Irish studies, literary & cultural theory, autism studies

437 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0693

Email: jvalente@buffalo.edu

Nikolaus Wasmoen

Visiting Assistant Professor

Spec. Digital Humanities, Modernism, Media Studies

402 Clemens Hall

Email: nlwasmoe@buffalo.edu

Hershini Young

Professor

Black performance studies, contemporary African diasporic literature, queer studies

509 Clemens Hall

Phone: (716) 645-0700

Email: hbhana@buffalo.edu