Graduate Student Directory

1st Year

Madison Archard

Dana Fang

Sebastian Galbo

Prounouns: He/Him

Postcolonial literature, literature of the Caribbean, medical humanities, exile, illness, visual studies/photography

Email: scgalbo@buffalo.edu

Isaac Kolding

Prounouns: He/Him

Nineteenth-century American literature, literary realism

Email: isaackol@buffalo.edu

Bianca Messinger

Prounouns: She/Her/Hers

Poetics, comparative literature, gender and sexuality studies, transgender studies, psychoanalysis, marxism, feminism.

Email: biancam@buffalo.edu

Claire Tranchino

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Twentieth and Twenty-first Century Poetry and Poetics; Serial Poetry; Objectivist Poetry; Bay Area Poetry; Archives; Gender, Race, and Class; Marxisms

Email: clairetr@buffalo.edu

2nd Year

Shantam Goyal

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Joyce Studies, Sound Studies, Poetics

Clemens 514

Email: shantamg@buffalo.edu

Michael Green

Twentieth and Twenty-first Century Poetry and Poetics, Biopolitics, Concretism and Visual Poetries, Marxisms, the Long Poem/Life Poem

Clemens 512

Email: mmgreen5@buffalo.edu

Alice Hall

Pronouns: she/her/hers or they/them/theirs

20th and 21st century American literature, poetics, embodiment, marxism, critical race studies, labor studies, cinema and visual art, sociolinguistic change, sound, history of consciousness, dreams

Clemens 505

Email: alicehal@buffalo.edu

Samuel Helgeson

Pronouns: he/him

psychoanalysis, queer theory, writing technologies

Clemens 534

Email: sdhelges@buffalo.edu

Heather Martin

Pronouns: she/her/hers

poetry and poetics, 20th and 21st-century poetics, ecocriticism, modernism

Clemens 444

Email: hmartin3@buffalo.edu

Sharmeen Mehri

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Clemens 502

Email: smehri@buffalo.edu

Lawrence Mullen

Pronouns: they/them/theirs

Nineteenth-century American literature, Queer studies, Transgender studies, Gothic studies, Marxism

Clemens 548

Email: llmullen@buffalo.edu

Julianne Neely

Clemens 548

Email: jneely2@buffalo.edu

Natalie Pope

Pronouns: she/hers

Victorian literature, affect theory, poetry by women, death and material culture, gender and sexuality studies

Clemens 536

Email: nlpope@buffalo.edu

Joseph Sechrist

Pronouns: he/him

Marxism, feminism, transnational literature, political theory

Clemens 512

Email: jsechris@buffalo.edu

Paul Vogel

20th and 21st century poetry, online poetry discourse networks

Clemens 536

Email: paulvoge@buffalo.edu

3rd Year

Brooke Bastie

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Spatial Studies, Ecocriticism, Ecopoetics, Late 20th and Early 21st Century Latinx Literature, Urban Studies

Clemens 440

Email: blbastie@buffalo.edu

Ryan Bell

Clemens 534

Email: rbell3@buffalo.edu

Katie Henry

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Early Modern Literature, Rhetoric, Mediation, Science Communication, Writing Pedagogy, Digital Humanities

Clemens 504

Email: kjhenry@buffalo.edu

Blair Johnson

Pronouns: she/her/hers

poetics, new media, materiality

Clemens 516

Email: baj7@buffalo.edu

Sarah Sgro

Clemens 532

Email: sarahsgr@buffalo.edu

Carter Wenger

Clemens 548

Email: carterwe@buffalo.edu

ABD

Tiffany Bassett

Clemens 440

Email: bassett3@buffalo.edu

Brandon Boudreault

Zachary Brown

Clemens 516

Email: zbrown@buffalo.edu

Allison Cardon

Clemens 434

Email: alcardon@buffalo.edu

Abhipsa Chakraborty

Clemens 514

Matthew Connolly

Clemens 512

Email: mdc46@buffalo.edu

Brent Cox

Pronouns: he/him

Poetics, The Contemporary, Philosophy, Media Studies, Visual Studies, Technology, Anti-Racism, Gender, Alternative Institutions, Geopolitics

Clemens 502

Email: brentcox@buffalo.edu

Zia Dickson

Clemens 305

Adam Drury

Simon Eales

Pronouns: he/him/his

Poetics, Experimental Writing, Continental Philosophy, Critical Theory, Decolonialism, Global Literature, Early Modern Literature.

Clemens 505

Email: simonpet@buffalo.edu

Josh Flaccavento

Alex French

Sarah Goldbort

Clemens 536

Email: sjgoldbo@buffalo.edu

Amy Greer

Ha Hyoseol

Clemens 505

Email: hyoseolh@buffalo.edu

Luke Heister

Pronouns: He/Him

Postwar/post-45 American literature, Philip Roth, psychoanalysis, comedy

Clemens 514

Email: ivenheis@buffalo.edu

Laura Hensch

Shao-wei Huang

Callie Ingram

Pronouns: she/her/hers

postmodern & contemporary US fiction, narrative ethics, phenomenology & theories of reading

Clemens 502

Email: calliein@buffalo.edu

Daae Jung

George Life

Pronouns: He/Him/His

poetry and poetics, translation, performance, documentary aesthetics, twentieth and twenty-first century US literature, colonialism studies and theories of decoloniality, hemispheric American studies

Clemens 444

Email: georgeli@buffalo.edu

Andrew Lindquist

Clemens 546

Email: alindquis@buffalo.edu

Nicole Lowman

Pronouns: she/they

Cultural Studies, 20th-Century American Literature, African-American Literature, Hip-Hop Studies, Race Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Performance Studies

Dipanjan Maitra

Pronouns: He/Him/His

James Joyce, Modernism, Print Culture, Genetic Criticism, History of Reading, Lacanian Psychoanalysis

Clemens 518

Email: dmaitra@buffalo.edu

Willis McCumber

He/Him/His

marxism and class struggle, slavery and nineteenth-century US literature, literary realism, feminism and social reproduction theory, Wittgenstein

Clemens 536

Email: willismc@buffalo.edu

Macy McDonald

Allegory, 20th and 21st century literature, biopolitics

Clemens 516

Email: macymcdo@buffalo.edu

Adam Mitts

AIDS writing, poetics, disability studies, queer theory

Jocelyn E. Marshall

20th & 21st century U.S. literature & art, 1970s-90s U.S. womxn writers/artists, gender & sexuality studies, queer of color critique, transnational feminisms, performance studies, critical ethnic studies

Clemens 504

Email: jm225@buffalo.edu

Caitlin Mcintyre

Clemens 518

Email: camcinty@buffalo.edu

Ariana Nash

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Poetry & poetics, literary realism, nineteenth- and twentieth-century American and British poetry, nineteenth-century African-American literature, Marxism

Clemens 434

Email: annash@buffalo.edu

Katie Naughton

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Poetics, twentieth and twenty-first century poetry, lyric and experimentalism, women experimentalists, aesthetics

Clemens 434

Email: kenaught@buffalo.edu

Jiwon Ohm

Pronouns: she/her/they/them

Fantasy Literature, Popular Culture, Cultural Theory, Neo-medievalism & J.R.R. Tolkien

Clemens 518

Email: jiwonohm@buffalo.edu

Yuji Otani

Morgan Pulver

Joseph Randolph

Clemens 542

Email: jrandolp@buffalo.edu

Jake Sanders

Clemens 536

Email: jakesand@buffalo.edu

Cassandra Scherr

Clemens 544

Email: cscherr@buffalo.edu

Travis Sharp

Pronouns: he/him/his

Ecocriticism, ecopoetics, biopoetics, materialisms, aesthetics, biopolitics, political poetry, eco-Marxism, Modernism, the avant-garde, 20th and 21st century North American literature, phenomenology, gender and sexuality studies

Clemens 546

Email: tsharp@buffalo.edu

Jacob Sloan

Pronouns: he/him

marxism and class struggle, literary realism, the global proletarian novel, feminism and social reproduction theory, the literature of Reconstruction, nineteenth- and twentieth-century African-American literature

Clemens 546

Email: jacobslo@buffalo.edu

Ryan Smith

medieval literature, romance, Latinate philosophy, theological rhetoric, Scholastic logic, narrative theory, translation

Clemens 434

Email: rtsmith5@buffalo.edu

Eric Vanlieshout

Clemens 542

Email: ericvanl@buffalo.edu

Dana Venerable

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Black performance studies, dance, gender, notation systems, poetics, sound

Clemens 518

Email: danavene@buffalo.edu

Kezia Whiting

Clemens 514

Email: keziaann@buffalo.edu

Meagan Wilson

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Poetry & poetics, environmental humanities, western-American history and literature, Medieval English literature, romanticism, aesthetics, pedagogy & teaching, agriculture & food, popular culture

Clemens 434

Email: meaganwi@buffalo.edu

Kinga Winnicki

late 20th-century and contemporary american literature and film, speculative fiction, urban studies, ecocriticism, architecture, environmental studies, postmodernism

Clemens 440

Email: kingawin@buffalo.edu

Sojung Yang

Clemens 518

Email: sojungya@buffalo.edu

Corey Zielinski

Clemens 544

Email: coreyzie@buffalo.edu