Graduate Student Directory

1st Year

Shantam Goyal

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Joyce Studies, Sound Studies, Poetics

Clemens 514

Email: shantamg@buffalo.edu

Michael Green

Twentieth and Twenty-first Century Poetry and Poetics, Biopolitics, Concretism and Visual Poetries, Marxisms, the Long Poem/Life Poem

Clemens 512

Email: mmgreen5@buffalo.edu

Alice Hall

Pronouns: she/her/hers or they/them/theirs

20th and 21st century American literature, poetics, embodiment, marxism, critical race studies, labor studies, cinema and visual art, sociolinguistic change, sound, history of consciousness, dreams

Clemens 505

Email: alicehal@buffalo.edu

Samuel Helgeson

Pronouns: he/him

psychoanalysis, queer theory, writing technologies

Clemens 534

Email: sdhelges@buffalo.edu

Heather Martin

Pronouns: she/her/hers

poetry and poetics, 20th and 21st-century poetics, ecocriticism, modernism

Clemens 444

Email: hmartin3@buffalo.edu

Sharmeen Mehri

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Clemens 502

Email: smehri@buffalo.edu

Lawrence Mullen

Pronouns: they/them/theirs

Nineteenth-century American literature, queer studies, transgender studies, gothic studies

Clemens 548

Email: llmullen@buffalo.edu

Julianne Neely

Clemens 548

Email: jneely2@buffalo.edu

Natalie Pope

Pronouns: she/hers

Victorian literature, affect theory, poetry by women, death and material culture, gender and sexuality studies

Clemens 536

Email: nlpope@buffalo.edu

Joseph Sechrist

Pronouns: he/him

Marxism, feminism, transnational literature, political theory

Clemens 512

Email: jsechris@buffalo.edu

Paul Vogel

20th and 21st century poetry, online poetry discourse networks

Clemens 536

Email: paulvoge@buffalo.edu

2nd Year

Brooke Bastie

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Spatial Studies, Ecocriticism, Ecopoetics, Late 20th and Early 21st Century Latinx Literature, Urban Studies

Clemens 440

Email: blbastie@buffalo.edu

Ryan Bell

Clemens 534

Email: rbell3@buffalo.edu

Katie Henry

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Early Modern Literature, Rhetoric, Mediation, Science Communication, Writing Pedagogy, Digital Humanities

Clemens 504

Email: kjhenry@buffalo.edu

Blair Johnson

Pronouns: she/her/hers

poetics, new media, materiality

Clemens 516

Email: baj7@buffalo.edu

Sarah Sgro

Clemens 532

Email: sarahsgr@buffalo.edu

Carter Wenger

Clemens 548

Email: carterwe@buffalo.edu

3rd Year

Tiffany Bassett

Clemens 440

Email: bassett3@buffalo.edu

Abhipsa Chakraborty

Clemens 514

Brent Cox

Pronouns: he/him

Poetics, The Contemporary, Philosophy, Media Studies, Visual Studies, Technology, Anti-Racism, Gender, Alternative Institutions, Geopolitics

Clemens 502

Email: brentcox@buffalo.edu

Andrew Lindquist

Clemens 546

Email: alindquis@buffalo.edu

Macy McDonald

Clemens 516

Ariana Nash

Clemens 434

Email: annash@buffalo.edu

Katie Naughton

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Poetics, twentieth and twenty-first century poetry, lyric and experimentalism, women experimentalists, aesthetics

Clemens 434

Email: kenaught@buffalo.edu

ABD

Adam Drury

Adam Katz

Adam Mitts

AIDS writing, poetics, disability studies, queer theory

Ajitpaul Mangat

Alex French

Allison Cardon

Clemens 434

Email: alcardon@buffalo.edu

Amanda McLaughlin

Amy Greer

Andrew Dorkin

Pronouns: he/him/his

Humor, American poetry, modernism, media theory, contemporary art/aesthetics

Brandon Boudreault

Caitlin Mcintyre

Clemens 518

Email: camcinty@buffalo.edu

Callie Ingram

Pronouns: she/her/hers

postmodern & contemporary US fiction, narrative ethics, phenomenology & theories of reading

Clemens 502

Email: calliein@buffalo.edu

Cassandra Scherr

Clemens 544

Email: cscherr@buffalo.edu

Christina Martin

Clemens 532

Email: cmm88@buffalo.edu

Claire Nashar

Clemens 505

Email: claireel@buffalo.edu

Corey Zielinski

Clemens 544

Email: coreyzie@buffalo.edu

Daae Jung

Dana Venerable

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Black performance studies, dance, gender, notation systems, poetics, sound

Clemens 518

Email: danavene@buffalo.edu

Dipanjan Maitra

Clemens 518

Email: dmaitra@buffalo.edu

Emerson Wright

Clemens 536

Email: emersonw@buffalo.edu

Eric Vanlieshout

Clemens 542

Email: ericvanl@buffalo.edu

George Life

Clemens 444

Email: georgeli@buffalo.edu

Ha Hyoseol

Clemens 505

Email: hyoseolh@buffalo.edu

Hannah Fogarty

Clemens 504

Email: hrfogart@buffalo.edu

Jacob Sloan

Pronouns: he/him

marxism and class struggle, literary realism, the global proletarian novel, feminism and social reproduction theory, the literature of Reconstruction, nineteenth- and twentieth-century African-American literature

Clemens 546

Email: jacobslo@buffalo.edu

Jake Reber

Clemens 514

Email: jacobreb@buffalo.edu

Jake Sanders

Clemens 536

Email: jakesand@buffalo.edu

Jiwon Ohm

Pronouns: she/her/they/them

Fantasy Literature, Popular Culture, Cultural Theory, Neo-medievalism & J.R.R. Tolkien

Clemens 518

Email: jiwonohm@buffalo.edu

Jocelyn E. Marshall

20th & 21st century U.S. literature & art, 1970s-90s U.S. womxn writers/artists, gender & sexuality studies, queer of color critique, transnational feminisms, performance studies, critical ethnic studies

Clemens 504

Email: jm225@buffalo.edu

Joseph Randolph

Clemens 542

Email: jrandolp@buffalo.edu

Josh Flaccavento

Kezia Whiting

Clemens 514

Email: keziaann@buffalo.edu

Kiniga Winnicki

Clemens 440

Email: kingawin@buffalo.edu

Laura Hensch

Leslie Nickerson

Luke Heister

Clemens 514

Email: ivenheis@buffalo.edu

Martin Goffeney

Matthew Connolly

Clemens 512

Email: mdc46@buffalo.edu

Meagan Wilson

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Poetry & poetics, environmental humanities, western-American history and literature, Medieval English literature, romanticism, aesthetics, pedagogy & teaching, agriculture & food, popular culture

Clemens 434

Email: meaganwi@buffalo.edu

Charles Michael Pawluk

eighteenth-century British literature, post-WWII American literature, violence, laughter, humor, comedy, the grotesque, the carnivalesque

Clemens 532

Email: cmpawluk@buffalo.edu

Morgan Pulver

Zia Dickson

Clemens 305

Nicole Lowman

Pronouns: she/they

Cultural Studies, 20th-Century American Literature, African-American Literature, Hip-Hop Studies, Race Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Performance Studies

Ryan Sheldon

Ryan Smith

Clemens 434

Email: rtsmith5@buffalo.edu

Sarah Goldbort

Clemens 536

Email: sjgoldbo@buffalo.edu

Sean Pears

Shao-wei Huang

Simon Eales

Pronouns: he/him/his

Poetics, Experimental Writing, Continental Philosophy, Critical Theory, Decolonialism, Global Literature, Early Modern Literature.

Clemens 505

Email: simonpet@buffalo.edu

Sojung Yang

Clemens 518

Email: sojungya@buffalo.edu

Travis Sharp

Pronouns: he/him/his

Ecocriticism, ecopoetics, biopoetics, materialisms, aesthetics, biopolitics, political poetry, eco-Marxism, Modernism, the avant-garde, 20th and 21st century North American literature, phenomenology, gender and sexuality studies

Clemens 546

Email: tsharp@buffalo.edu

Veronica Wong

Willis McCumber

Clemens 536

Email: willismc@buffalo.edu

Woody Brown

Nineteenth-century American literature, Freudian and Lacanian psychoanalysis, disability studies, histories of science and medicine, gender and sexuality studies, race and representation

Clemens 408

Email: woodrowb@buffalo.edu

Yuji Otani

Zachary Brown

Clemens 516

Email: zbrown@buffalo.edu