University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content
Research and Education in eNergy, Environment and Water

Faculty

RENEW brings together UB faculty in science, engineering, technology, public health, human behavior, public policy, architecture, planning, medicine, law and management to further cutting-edge interdisciplinary work in the area of energy, environment and water sustainability.  Please refer to the RENEW focus areas for further details on how various faculty are engaged with the RENEW institute.

Diana Aga

Professor, Chemistry

Arts and Sciences

611 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: 716-645-4220

Email: dianaaga@buffalo.edu

Nirupam Aich

Assistant Professor

Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

232 Jarvis Hall

Phone: 716-645-0977

Email: nirupama@buffalo.edu

Alexey Akimov

Assistant Professor

Chemistry

716 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: 716-645-6800

Email: alexeyak@buffalo.edu

Paschalis Alexandridis

UB Distinguished Professor, Chemical & Biological Engineering, and Director of Graduate Studies

Engineering and Applied Sciences

508 Furnas Hall

Phone: 716-645-3822

Email: palexand@buffalo.edu

Richelle Allen-King

Professor, Geology

Arts and Sciences

761 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: 716-645-4287

Email: richelle@buffalo.edu

Alex Anas

Frank H. and Josephine L. Goodyear Professor (1991-1999)

Arts and Sciences

415 Fronczak Hall

Phone: (716) 645-8663

Email: alexanas@buffalo.edu

Kamelia Atefi Monfared

Assistant Professor

Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

220 Ketter Hall

Phone: 716-645-3455

Email: kameliam@buffalo.edu

John D. Atkinson

Assistant Professor, Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

233 Jarvis Hall

Phone: 716-645-4001

Email: atkjdw@buffalo.edu

Joseph Atkinson

Professor, Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

Phone: 716-645-2220

Email: atkinson@buffalo.edu

So Ra Baek

Assistant Professor, Urban and Regional Planning

Architecture and Planning

114 Diefendorf Hall

Phone: 716-829-3671

Email: sorabaek@buffalo.edu

Baier, Robert

Executive Director, Sdm Oral Diagnostic Services

110 Parker Hall

Phone: (716) 829-3560

Email: baier@acsu.buffalo.edu

Sara Behdad

Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

243 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-5914

Email: sarabehd@buffalo.edu

Sean Bennett

Professor, Geography

Arts and Sciences

112 Wilkeson

Phone: 716-645-0490

Email: seanb@buffalo.edu

James Berry

Professor, Biological Sciences

Arts and Sciences

355 Cooke Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4997

Email: camjob@buffalo.edu

Marc Böhlen

Professor

Media Study

231 Center for the Arts

Phone: 716-645-0940

Email: marcbohlen@acm.org

Martha Bohm

Assistant Professor, Architecture

Architecture and Planning

109 Hayes Hall

Phone: 716-829-5214

Email: marthabo@buffalo.edu

Matthew R Bonner

Associate Professor, Epidemiology and Environmental Health

Public Health and Health Professions

277 Farber Hall

Phone: 716-829-5385

Email: mrbonner@buffalo.edu

Iman Borazjani

Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

337 Furnas Hall

Phone: 716-645-1468

Email: iman@buffalo.edu

Jason Briner

Associate Professor, Geology

Arts and Sciences

410 Hochstetter

Phone: 716-645-4326

Email: jbriner@buffalo.edu

Marcus Bursik

Professor, Geology

Arts and Sciences

413 Hochstetter Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4265

Email: mib@buffalo.edu

Jessica Castner

Research Assistant Professor

Nursing; Biomedical Informatics Medicine

212 Wende Hall

Phone: 716-829-2060

Email: jcastner@buffalo.edu

Estelle Chaussard

Assistant Professor

Geology

417 Hochstetter

Phone: 716-645-4291

Email: estellec@buffalo.edu

Chong Cheng

Associate Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

312 Furnas Hall

Phone: 716-645-3822

Email: ccheng8@buffalo.edu

Deborah Chung

Niagara Mohawk Chair Professor of Materials Research, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

Furnas 608

Phone: (716) 645-3977

Email: ddlchung@buffalo.edu

Mary Alice Coffroth

Professor, Geology

Arts and Sciences

447 Hochstetter

Phone: 716-645-4871; Lab: 645-4874

Email: coffroth@buffalo.edu

Kim Connolly

Professor and Director of Clinical Legal Education

Law School

519 O'Brian Hall

Phone: 716/645-2092

Email: kimconno@buffalo.edu

Beata Csatho

Associate Professor, Geology

Arts and Sciences

411 Cooke Hall

Phone: 716-645-4325

Email: bcsatho@buffalo.edu

Ning Dai

Assistant Professor, Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

232 Jarvis Hall

Phone: 716-645-4015

Email: ningdai@buffalo.edu

Michel Dupuis

Research Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

614 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-9062 or 645-1194

Email: mdupuis2@buffalo.edu

Kathryn Friedman

Director of Law and Policy Research; Research Associate Professor

Architecture and Planning; UB Regional Institute & Urban Design Project

77 Goodell Street

Phone: (716) 878-2431

Email: kbf@buffalo.edu

Ed Furlani

Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

CBE: 614 Furnas Hall, EE 113B Davis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1194

Email: efurlani@buffalo.edu

Qiaoqiang Gan

Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

117 Bonner Hall

Phone: 716-645-1152

Email: qqgan@buffalo.edu

Joseph Gardella

John and Frances Larkin Professor of Chemistry

Arts and Sciences

r 470 NSM Complex

Phone: 716-645-1499

Email: gardella@acsu.buffalo.edu

Amit Goyal

Director, UB Renew

Research and Economic Development

112 Cooke Hall

Phone: (716) 645-5920

Email: agoyal@buffalo.edu

Johannes Hachmann

Assistant Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

612 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1524

Email: hachmann@buffalo.edu

John Hall

Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

241 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-5946

Email: johnhall@buffalo.edu

Daniel Hess

Associate Professor, Urban and Regional Planning

Architecture and Planning

291 Hayes Hall

Phone: 716-829-5326

Email: dbhess@buffalo.edu

Igor Jankovic

Associate Professor, Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

207 Jarvis Hall

Phone: 716-645-4013

Email: ijankovi@buffalo.edu

James Jensen

Professor and Faculty Director, Research Exploration Undergraduate Academy, Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

232 Jarvis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4007

Email: jjensen@buffalo.edu

M. Amin Karami

Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

1012 Furnas Hall

Phone: 716-645-5878

Email: karami@buffalo.edu

Mark Karwan

Praxair Professor in Operations Research , SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor, Industrial & Systems Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

305 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-2422

Email: mkarwan@buffalo.edu

David Kofke

SUNY Distinguished Professor and Chair, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

306 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1173

Email: kofke@buffalo.edu

Katarzyna Kordas

Associate Professor

Epidemiology and Environmental Health

270 Farber Hall

Phone: 716-829-2975

Email: kkordas@buffalo.edu

Gerald Koudelka

Professor & Chair, Biological Sciences

Arts and Sciences

607 and 109 Cooke Hall

Phone: 716-645-4940 or 716-645-4904

Email: koudelka@buffalo.edu

Howard Lasker

Director, Graduate Program in Evolution, Ecology & Behavior

Arts and Sciences

443 Hochstetter Hall

Phone: 716-645-4870

Email: hlasker@buffalo.edu

Kemper Lewis

Professor and Chair, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

207 Bell Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2682

Email: kelewis@buffalo.edu

Huamin Li

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

230N Davis Hall

Phone: 716-645-1026

Email: huaminli@buffalo.edu

Haiqing Lin

Assistant Professor, Chemical & Biological Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

311 Furnas Hall

Phone: 716-645-1856

Email: haiqingl@buffalo.edu

Peter Qiang Liu

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

230J Davis Hall

Phone: 716-645-1037

Email: pqliu@buffalo.edu

Christopher Lowry

Assistant Professor, Geology

Arts and Sciences

717 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: 716-645-4266

Email: cslowry@buffalo.edu

Carl R Lund

SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor, Chemical & Biological Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

505 Furnas Hall

Phone: 716-645-1180

Email: lund@buffalo.edu

D. Scott Mackay

Professor, CAS Associate Dean for Graduate Education; Editor of Water Resources Research

Geography

105 Wilkeson Quad

Phone: (716) 645-0477

Email: dsmackay@buffalo.edu

L. Shawn Matott

Center for Computational Research

701 Ellicott St.

Phone: 716-881-7566

Email: lsmatott@buffalo.edu

Errol E Meidinger

Margaret W. Wong Professor; Director, Baldy Center for Law and Social Policy

Law School

719 O'Brian Hall

Phone: 716-645-6692

Email: eemeid@buffalo.edu

Vladimir Mitin

Distinguished Professor, Electrical Engineering; Physics-Personnel & Financial

Engineering and Applied Sciences

312c Bonner Hall; 239 Fronczak Hall

Phone: 716-645-1036; 716-645-2017

Email: vmitin@buffalo.edu

Lina Mu

Associate Professor, Epidemiology and Environmental Health

Public Health and Health Professions

273A Farber Hall

Phone: 716-829-5381

Email: linamu@buffalo.edu

Prathima Nalam

Assistant Professor

Materials Design and Innovation

128 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-9193

Email: prathima@buffalo.edu

Hyungseon Oh

Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

210 Davis Hall

Phone: 716-645-1022

Email: hso1@buffalo.edu

James R Olson

UB Distinguished Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology and Epidemiology and Environmental Health; Dir., Division of Environmental Health Sciences

Public Health and Health Professions

13 Cary

Phone: 716-829-2319

Email: jolson@buffalo.edu

Jessica Owley Lippmann

Associate Professor

Law School

722 O'Brian Hall

Phone: 716-645-8182

Email: jol@buffalo.edu

Abani Patra

Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

605 Furnas Hall; 411 Cooke Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2734; 645-3489

Email: abani@buffalo.edu

Athos Petrou

UB Distinguished Professor, Physics

Arts and Sciences

239 Fronczak Hall

Phone: (716) 645-6183

Email: petrou@buffalo.edu

Blaine Pfeifer

Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

904 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1198

Email: blainepf@buffalol.edu

Alan J. Rabideau

Professor, Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

202 Jarvis Hall

Phone: 716-645-4003

Email: rabideau@buffalo.edu

Nicholas Rajkovich

Assistant Professor, Architecture

Architecture and Planning

114 Diefendorf Hall

Phone: (716) 829-5900

Email: rajkovic@buffalo.edu

Pavani K Ram

Associate Professor, Epidemiology and Environmental Health

Public Health and Health Professions

270 Farber Hall

Phone: 716-829-5380

Email: pkram@buffalo.edu

Xuefeng Ren

Assistant Professor; Adjunct Assistant Professor, Epidemiology and Environmental Health

Public Health and Health Professions

270 Farber Hall; 102 Farber Hall

Phone: 716-829-5384

Email: xuefengr@buffalo.edu

Christopher Romano

Research Assistant Professor

Department of Architecture

50 Parker Hall

Phone: 716-829-5929

Email: ctromano@buffalo.edu

Adam Rome

Professor

Department of History

558 Park Hall

Phone: 716-645-8409

Email: adamrome@buffalo.edu

Adel Sadek

Professor, Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

233 Ketter Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4367

Email: asadek@buffalo.edu

Zachary Schlader

Assistant Professor

Exercise and Nutrition Sciences

204A Kimball

Phone: 716-829-6794

Email: zjschlad@buffalo.edu

Kallol Sett

Assistant Professor

Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

221 Ketter Hall

Phone: 716-645-4358

Email: kallolse@buffalo.edu

Kenneth Shockley

Associate Professor, Philosophy and Academic Director of the Sustainability Academy

Arts and Sciences

111 Park Hall

Phone: 716-645-0145

Tarun Singh

Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

1009 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-1428

Email: tsingh@buffalo.edu

Uttam Singisetti

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

230H Davis Hall

Phone: 716-645-1536

Email: uttamsin@buffalo.edu

Mettupalayam Sivaselvan

Associate Professor, Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

238 Ketter Hall

Phone: (716) 645-2114 x2437

Email: mvs@buffalo.edu

Ernest Sternberg

Professor & Chair,Urban and Regional Planning

Architecture and Planning

124 Diefendorf Hall

Phone: (716) 829-3671

Email: ezs@buffalo.edu

Mark T. Swihart

UB Distinguished Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

506 Furnas Hall

Phone: 716-645-1181

Email: swihart@buffalo.edu

Debabrata Talukdar

Professor, Marketing

Management

Phone: 716-645-3243

Email: dtalukda@buffalo.edu

Elizabeth Thomas

Assistant Professor

Department of Geology

126 Cooke Hall

Phone: 716-645-4329

Email: ekthomas@buffalo.edu

Gregory Valentine

Professor, Geology

Arts and Sciences

421 Hochstetter Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4295

Email: gav4@buffalo.edu

Aditya Vedantam

Assistant Professor

School of Management

326G Jacobs Management Center

Phone: 716-645-5234

Email: adityave@buffalo.edu

Youfa Wang

Professor; Clinical Professor, Epidemiology and Environmental Health

Public Health and Health Professions

270 Farber Hall

Phone: 716-829-2975; 716-829-5383

Email: youfawan@buffalo.edu

David Watson

Associate Professor, Chemistry

Arts and Sciences

North Campus

Phone: 716-645-4189

Email: dwatson3@buffalo.edu

Andrew Whittaker

Professor; Chair; Director, MCEER; Deputy Director, SEESL; Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

212 Ketter Hall

Phone: (716) 645-4364

Email: awhittak@buffalo.edu

Gang Wu

Assistant Professor, Chemical & Biological Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

309 Furnas Hall

Phone: (716) 645-8618

Email: gangwu@buffalo.edu

Wenayo Xu

Assistant Professor

Computer Science and Engineering

330 Davis Hall

Phone: 716-645-4748

Email: wenyaoxu@buffalo.edu

Janet Zheng Yang

Assistant Professor, Communication

Arts and Sciences

329 Baldy Hall

Phone: 716-645-1169

Email: zyang5@buffalo.edu

Fei Yao

Research Assistant Professor

Materials Design and Innovation

132 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-5403

Email: feiyao@buffalo.edu

Xiu Yao

Assistant Professor

Electrical Engineering

210 Davis Hall

Phone: 716-645-1027

Email: xiuyao@buffalo.edu

Eun-Hye Enki Yoo

Associate Professor

Department of Geography

121 Wilkeson Quad

Phone: 716-645-0476

Email: eunhye@buffalo.edu

Jihyung Yoo

Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Engineering and Applied Sciences

323 Jarvis Hall

Phone: (716) 645-5989

Email: jihyungy@buffalo.edu

Peihong Zhang

Associate Professor, Physics

Arts and Sciences

239 Fronczak Hall

Phone: (716) 645-6077

Email: pzhang3@buffalo.edu

Xian Zhang

Assistant Professor

Materials, Design and Innovation

133 Bell Hall

Phone: 716-645-5162

Email: xazhang@buffalo.edu

Zhenduo Zhu

Assistant Professor

Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering

207 Jarvis Hall

Phone: 716-645-4012

Email: zhenduoz@buffalo.edu

Eva Zurek

Associate Professor

Department of Chemistry

331 Natural Sciences Complex

Phone: 716-645-4332

Email: ezurek@buffalo.edu