Feltri Research Overview

Sciatic nerve fibers were teased and immunostained of Cajal Bands and cytoskeleton.

Sciatic nerve fibers that were teased and immunostained for various components of Cajal Bands and of the cytoskeleton.

Our research focuses on adhesion between myelinating cells, axons and the extracellular matrix and the signals that promote myelination. One of our major efforts has been the study of laminin receptors on Schwann cells, the myelinating peripheral glia. By generating and comparing animal models of demyelinating neuropathies to patient's biopsies, we and others have determined that laminins are required for 'radial sorting' of axons in early development. Radial axonal sorting is a pre-requisite for myelination and is arrested in human laminins and dystroglycan-glycosyltransferases deficiencies. Using conditional mutagenesis we have determined that integrins, dystroglycan and RhoGTPAses are required for radial sorting because they induce cytoskeletal rearrangements that allow the generation of glial extensions that contact and wrap axons.

More recently, we have adapted innovative sub-fractionation and proteomic techniques to profile the extensions contacting axons and the RhoGTPAse interactome in Schwann cells. By these techniques we have identified novel molecules important for myelination and for the support of axons by glial cells. We have recently discovered that mechanical forces generated by the extracellular matrix and other cells are also essential for correct myelination, and we are actively pursuing the molecular mechanisms by which mechanical signals are transduced in myelin-forming glia.  

Laminin receptors are also important for myelin and nodes of Ranvier to achieve the correct length, thickness, architecture and stability. Patients lacking laminins have abnormally thick and instable myelin, short internodes and immature nodes of Ranvier. We first determined that laminin 211, dystroglycan and certain integrins are required to form myelin of normal cytoarchitecture, and now we are seeking to understand why perturbing laminin function leads to myelin instability and demyelination.

Using genetic, cell biology and biochemistry we are testing the hypothesis that laminin receptors influence growth factors and signaling molecules to prevent demyelination. These studies also lead us to discover that some of the signaling molecules under scrutiny are more important in the central nervous system, where they inhibit oligodendrocyte myelination. Thus, they represent potential molecular targets to promote remyelination in demyelinating disease such as Multiple Sclerosis of Leukodystrophies.

Since our arrival at the Institute for Myelin and Glia Exploration, we are applying our experience on conditional mutagenesis to ask if there is cell autonomy in the pathogenesis of Krabbe disease.

Faculty and Staff

Dr. M. Laura Feltri


SUNY DISTINGUISHED Professor of Biochemistry & Neurology

Dr. Feltri is currently Professor of Biochemistry and Neurology at the Institute for Myelin and Glia Exploration in the State University of New York at Buffalo and Director of the institute.  Before 2011 she was the Head of the Unit of NeuroGlia in the San Raffaele Scientific Institute of Milano, and adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Neurology at the University of Pennsylvania.

Leandro Marziali

Postdoctoral Research Scientist, Feltri Lab

  • 2016 - present: Postdoctoral Research Scientist in the Feltri laboratory at the Institute for Myelin and Glia Exploration for studying the role of p38gamma on myelination and oligodendrocyte maturation.
  • 2016: received PhD in neuroscience.
  • 2010 - 2016: Laboratory of Dra. Juana Pasquini at the School of Pharmacy and Biochemistry of the University of Buenos Aires (IQUIFIB-CONICET). PhD project involving the study of the combined effects of Transferrin and Thyroid Hormone on CNS myelination and oligodendrocyte maturation.
  • 2009: University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina. Biochemistry major.
photo of Leandro Marziali.

Narayan Dhimal

PhD student, Feltri Lab

  • Summer 2019 - present: Feltri laboratory, Institute for Myelin and Glia Exploration, currently studying Krabbe disease pathogenesis in the peripheral nervous system. 
  • Fall 2018 - present: Graduate student in Neuroscience at the University at Buffalo.
  • 2016 - 2018: Volunteered and later was hired as a lab technician in an ophthalmology lab working on diabetic retinopathy, at the University at Buffalo.
  • 2012 - 2016: Undergraduate at the University at Buffalo; Major - Biomedical sciences.
Seth Moore.

Seth Moore

PhD student, Feltri Lab

  • 2018 - Present: MD/PhD student at the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at SUNY Buffalo, PhD student in the laboratory of Dr. M. Laura Feltri in the Institute for Myelin and Glia Exploration. 
  • 2015 - 2018: Laboratory Technician/Assistant in the laboratory of Dr. Jessica MacDonald at Syracuse University.
  • 2011 - 2015: B.S. in Biological Sciences from Cornell University.
Jiajun Zhang.

Jiajun Zhang

Research Technician I, Feltri Lab

  • Jiajun Zhang obtained his Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry from the University at Buffalo in 2021. He was an undergraduate student in the Beirowski laboratory, where he would later be hired as a laboratory technician after graduating.
  • In late 2022, Jiajun joined the Feltri laboratory, continuing his laboratory technician position.

Alberto Gonzalez

Alberto Gonzalez.

Research Technician I, Feltri Lab

  • 2022 - Present: Joined Feltri Laboratory as a Research Technician at the Institute for Myelin and Glia Exploration while finishing his Master’s in Biology at Fredonia.
  • 2019 - 2023: Master’s in Biology from SUNY Fredonia
  • 2015 - 2019: B.S. in Biology and Psychology from SUNY Fredonia

Past Members

  • Kansho Abiko, Undergraduate
  • Dominique Ameroso, Master's Student & Research Technician
  • Kathleen Catignas, PhD Student
  • Kevin Espino, Undergraduate
  • Iman Faraj Musbah Fergani, Master's Student, Neuroscience
  • Scott Ferguson, Undergraduate
  • Monica Ghidinelli, PhD Student
  • Arsalan Haghdel, Undergraduate
  • Yoochan Hwang, Undergraduate Student & Research Technician
  • Kenneth Minorczyk, Undergraduate
  • Clementine Namba, CLIMB UP student & NIH Diversity Supplement awardee
  • Gustavo Della Flora Nunes, Undergraduate
  • Marilena Palmisano, PhD Student
  • Marta Pellegatta, PhD Student
  • Yannick Poitelon, Postdoctoral Research Scientist
  • Thomas Rush, Undergraduate 
  • Oliver Simpson, Undergraduate
  • Sri Laxmi Veerapaneni, Master's Student, Neuroscience
  • Jordan VerPlank, Postdoctoral Research Scientist 
  • Michael Weaver, MD-PhD Student
  • Nadav Weinstock, MD-PhD Student
  • Emma R. Wilson, Postdoctoral Research Scientist
  • Irene Yu, Medical Student